We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassy Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River House Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Grassy Creek B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very peaceful weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I stumbled across this little gem due to a Groupon deal. We stayed for Friday and Saturday night in the Carriage House room. We knew we were in a good spot when we walked in -- the place in general has what I would call a "rustic elegance."

We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights and it was excellent. Food preparation was beyond my expectations -- more along the lines of fine dining than a country inn.

Lastly but certainly not least, there is a general air of relaxed/casualness. This is a place where guests can get first class service but in a very easy-going atmosphere.

We will return.

Room Tip: The Carriage House room is spacious and private -- with large tub in center of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimjim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    19
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
95
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We found the hosts to be very gracious and helpful. The food was AMAZING, if a bit limited. Dinner was expensive but WORTH IT. It was very secluded which is exactly what we wanted, but be warned if you don't! We would definitely love to return.

Room Tip: Get the room where you see the free standing tub! It was very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdgarst11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The River House is quite scenic , but not as pictured in ads. It is rather worn and the room we selected was clean, but in great need of updating. We pre-purchased two nights, but did not stay when we arrived. Owner was understanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rphrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

For some 7 years now my wife and I have been “frequenting” this Country Inn in Ashe County, North Carolina. Reviews of this restored farm have been overwhelming positive. For sure, to spend a night or two in a quiet country setting, far from the maddening crowd, with a staff that goes out of its way to accommodate guests, is, in itself, worth the visit.

But the River House is more that a place to stay, it is an unusual place to dine. Think about eating gourmet food, having a superb, friendly service staff, where the owner frequents the dining room to assure utmost hospitality and where you will meet lots of interesting, friendly people from everywhere. Dining here is not only dinner; it is an event, which, many times, ends with a mini-concert on the dining room piano by a talented diner. Frequently my wife will come home with names and addresses of people she met and hoped to meet again.

But there are also special events worth mentioning, such as the Sunday salons involving a variety of entertainers. Of course, this is mountain-music country, and a number of these musicians are regularly invited, but we have attended performances from classical guitar, to concert pop-pianist, Emile Pandolfi and master guitarist, Wayne Henderson. The entertainment, which many times is held on the front porch, is from 4 to 6 pm with dinner following. Nearly always the entertainment continues after dinner.

Finally, a Saturday wine-tasting event is held in July on the spacious River House lawn along the north fork of the New River. Nine Carolina wineries offer tasting of four or five wines in large reception-size tents. The Inn serves a great buffet luncheon and the all-afternoon affair has continuous entertainment with top mountain-music musicians and groups.

This place is a class act.

Room Tip: We love the renovated Chicken House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Our room was somewhat poorly maintained. It was extremely hot in there as the window air conditioner groaned to try and keep up with the afternoon heat. It seemed that our room hadn't been inspected for quite some time (other than the cleaning staff) as basic items like the clock, some lights, and oil candles were dead. Our day started on the first morning with hot tea, but the tray was then left there for 48 hours and we didn't receive any the next day. No one came to make or turn down our bed or replace towels on day 2. The scene is quite beautiful and the food is wonderful at the Riverhouse. However, I didn't feel as if it was a good value for how much money we spent. There's a lot of wildlife there, and floating down the river is a must. This sort of place might be for an older generation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Every single element of our stay was perfect, from the moment they greeted us, to the bedside coffee in the morning, to the exquisite dinner, to the comfortable rooms. The River House defines hospitality. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed in the Chicken House on one night of our Carolina honeymoon roadtrip. Pauline could not have treated us better had we been members of her family. Very good fun room, amazing dinner and all set in a wonderful location. A real gem of an Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassy Creek
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
221 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
15.7 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cabins at Healing Springs
10.5 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Country Inn

Property: River House Country Inn
Address: 1896 Old Field Creek Rd, Grassy Creek, NC 28631-9252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Grassy Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grassy Creek
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service inn on the north fork of the New River, near West Jefferson and not far from Boone in the northwest corner of North Carolina. Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are far from the bustle of everyday life. There's a mile of riverfront for strolling, wading, tubing, canoeing and fishing. Brown trout and rainbows abound. Walking trails wind through 170 acres. Our uniquely decorated guestrooms are converted farm buildings and feature king-size beds, private bathrooms, jacuzzis, art, books and country antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing