We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit. We already have a third marked on the calendar.”
Review of River Landing Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Graham B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wiped after a stressful day, stalked by aggressive and probably high semi-homeless people in downtown Chapel Hill. On the way to the inn, the car's wiper arm snapped clean off. We were near tears. We pulled into the Inn and got nuzzled by two loving dogs who know souls in need. Just what we needed. M and Mrs M once again were kind and thoughtful people and it felt a little like coming home. We bundled up after dark, sat on the porch sipping wine, and counted owl hoots. Too cloudy to see anything as faint as the space station that night, but the heavens blessed us with a brilliant shooting star. Again, breakfast was smashing and sustained us through a pretty tough hike at the state park in Hillsborough.

This inn is just over an hour's drive from home but its location feels like a million miles from our daily stress and troubles. Wifi and cellphone was again spotty, for ME, but my laptop and phone were made in the previous century. A swell excuse to disconnect and read a book and relish the silence. And not have to make breakfast! Or set up the coffee! Or walk the dogs!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JN1901A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Refurbished large horse barn divided into 4 clean and fresh rooms opening into a common area. Perfect for a small group of friends or honeys who want separate rooms and can agree on being considerate about noise in the common area TV and stereo. Gorgeous woodwork and art everywhere. Superb coffee and generous yummy breakfast. Outdoor seating clustered in assorted spots all over the extensive grounds. Mosey down to the Haw River in 5 minutes. Optional friendly outdoor dog available on request. Minimal street lighting 1/4 mile away so skies are super dark for being this close to Greensboro light pollution. Bring a flashlight to get out to the deck chairs around the firepit, which are good chairs for resting your neck and looking UP.

Innkeepers care very much about their guests' needs and are flexible and considerate. They both have dayjobs, so dear future guest, please be kind and considerate to them too.

Having gotten bedbugs once, we are mildly OCD about inspecting rooms before bringing in our bags... Hickory Room, with washable floor mats and no carpet, was definitely pristine. (Turns out, innkeepers worry about guests bringing in bedbugs from the last place they stayed.)

A serene and silent night for the two of us. We will definitely be back in a couple months, especially some weekday offseason when we can skip negotiating with other guests and keep to our nutty 9pm to 4am sleep schedule.

Wifi was spotty, TMobile cell signal yucky but who cares. Log off the grid and go stare at Venus, blow kisses at the space station passing over, be mesmerized aside the chuckling Haw, count rooster crows at dawn, bellyrub a grateful dog or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JN1901A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a trip with my mom, we found the River Landing Inn to be wonderfully placed to allow us to visit a Saxapahaw antiques show, check out the Mill music events, and get a nice dinner as well. Our room was spotlessly clean, with many brand new features, and great bedding. Our room opened onto a wonderful large deck with tables and seating, perfect for a late afternoon quiet retreat. A deer ran across the meadow behind the house as we watched. The owners have done a caring job converting this secluded attractive barn into a inn whose high ceilings, quality details and contemporary art create a great place to relax. Its a good fit for you if you're interested in the river walk, in natural surroundings, or in a peaceful quiet setting close to town. Matt and Meredith were kind, attentive and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

A lovely little B&B! It was the perfect retreat for a quiet, peaceful NYE weekend in Saxapahaw. The owner Matt and his family were incredibly hospitable, and the inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Our room was rustic, yet very cozy, with a superior-quality bed. We loved rocking on the front porch and walking down by the Haw River. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, frittata, potatoes, and sausage. And the inn is located only 1 mile from the Haw River Ballroom, Eddy Pub and Saxapahaw General Store, all of which I highly recommend visiting. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more and hope to revisit. A very special find!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Having landed at River Landing Inn not entirely by choice, I was more than pleasantly surprised to find a rustic, quiet place with an emphasis on hospitality that is unequaled in this day and age. Great people, simple efiicient accomodations and a beautiful setting make this a "must do" whenever you are in the area. Breakfast is gourmet quality and other meals are available for the asking. Take the river walk, watch the hummingbirds, chat with the Stickman and just enjoy a memorable weekend...or longer. If you are looking for cleanliness, exceptional service and freedom from the usual trials of travel, put this at the top of your list. Dog friendly too!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bizcrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Beautiful grounds from expansive views, meadows, river walks, beautiful forests. The interior was equally inspiring with local artwork everywhere, pretty yet comfy furniture, one of the best beds I've ever slept in! Great coffee brewing upon waking, delicious breakfast-fresh fruit, waffles, bacon, served with flowers. The only sounds you hear are the wind, birds, and the river. No noise pollution! The owner is extremely kind and considerate. The whole experience was even better than expected.Whether it be reading, walking, sitting under the stars you will leave feeling renewed. What a treat to not have to drive for hours to feel like I've been gone for weeks! You cannot go wrong here. Treat yourself. Life is too short not to.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank msghere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This four-room B&B in the country (but 20 minutes from Chapel Hill!) is a real find. It just opened in August 2007, but the innkeeper (Matt) and his business partner Dave are doing a great job to provide a quiet, country retreat. We stayed in room #1, which has a private patio off the room (separated with a lattice wall from the other patios). The bed was comfy, bathroom was spacious. Matt and Dave fed us breakfast of course, but also lunch and dinner at our request. They showed us where to go on a Riverwalk on the Haw River, and directed us to a winery down the road where we had a picnic lunch with a decent local wine. The inn/property is still a little bit of a work in progress, but we thoroughly enjoyed a weekend with nothing to do. Be warned that the Inn is out in the country and there are no nearby attractions/restaurants (save the winery, only open Thurs - Sun). Just know what you are getting into.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germantchr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graham
3.8 mi away
The Inn at Bingham School
9.4 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#1 of 2 in Graham
79 reviews
9.7 mi away
Affordable Suites Graham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Landing Inn

Address: 5942 Whitney Rd, Graham, NC 27253-8103
Location: United States > North Carolina > Graham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Graham
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing