We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Honeymoon Experience...Booooo!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenville B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Horrible Honeymoon Experience...Booooo!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Psycho manager who almost blew us up with the gas logs (who left after trying to get them started, told us not to touch them, then had the gall to accuse us of turning them on), dirty room, we ended up leaving after the first night and only got a partial refund. Honeymooner beware!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyLikesIt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights last month. There are two options. You can stay in the main Victorian house, or the second building they built which houses 6 separate suites, which are named after famous authors. We were in The Rudyard Kipling suite, which was nice.queen bed with fake jungle animals and nice bathroom. The problem is that the furniture was very uncomfortable.a wooden love seat covered with fake fur was hard to sit on. In addition, no wireless Internet and cell phone reception is nil, so you are cut off from civilization, at least if AT and T is your carrier. Another issue is that Henry, the very nice man who owns the place, has very stric check in times. We were supposed to check in between 3-3:30 and breakfast isn't served until 9 am. If these things don't bother you, then I will say breakfast was very good and grounds and setting of the inn beautiful. One thing we did notice, was that Henry's wife did not appear to be an enthusiastic innkeeper, like he was. My husband went up to the main house to see why breakfast was a littltle late, and when he rang the doorbell, she wouldn't answer. He had to wait for Henry to come up the hill from the out building.

Room Tip: I would choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanca34747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I rarely give an establishment an excellent rating, but felt this one is as perfect as it gets. My husband and I stayed in the Dickens Suite. It was beautifully appointed and very well maintained. The door opened into a large bedroom with a table (for dining), a queen bed with luxurious sheets, a fireplace that opened not only into the bedroom, but the bathroom as well. The room included a wetbar, refrigerator, and coffee maker (Starbucks coffee on-hand and half & half which is always a plus to me.) The large bathroom contained a whirlpool tub for two which overlooked the scenic property and a separate shower. We also had a private porch off the bathroom. Anything we requested was handled very promptly, ie. kayaks were requested at @ 11:30 and we were on beautiful Glenville Lake in less than 30 minutes. Champagne cruise at 5:00 P.M. everyday. The property is absolutely gorgeous! All kinds of wildflowers abound, there's a pretty pond with goldfish, chairs and a double-swing for reading or just taking it easy. Henry and Claire are an excellent host and hostess. (There when you need them and they disappear when you don't.) They know the area and can recommend anything from dining to hiking and everything in between. You must visit one of the many waterfalls while in the area. I just can't say enough good about this B&B. It is exceptional and we've stayed in many. Extraordinary stay!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a B&B in the Highlands, NC area, and we found this one. After looking at many other B&B, we decided on this this one. It is set on a hillside and surrounded by wooded area overlooking Glenville Lake. The house has several rooms and there is a separate building that contains additional suites. We booked one of the suites, which had everything we wanted -- a mini bar, fridge, garden tub, separate shower, fireplace, private balcony, and a breakfast nook to name a few. The Inn serves breakfast in-room for guests staying in suites.

In innkeepers -- Henry and Clare -- are jovial, outgoing people. We talked to them quite a bit while we were there, and they were very helpful about making reservations for dinners among other things. Clare is a dance instructor, so we took dancing lessons from her, which was a lot of fun.

The inn is also located near many natural wonders for those that like to hike, bike, or observe nature. I went mountain biking in Panthertown Valley -- about 20 minutes away. We hiked to several waterfalls and spend some time in downtown Highlands too browsing shops.

The only unfortunate thing is that we didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to do!

Room Tip: The "Emily Barret" room is nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a truly delightful two-night stay - we wished that we could have stayed longer. Clare and Henry have managed to create an Inn that is elegant and refined whilst at the same time still being cosy and welcoming. The suites and bedrooms are charming and individually furnished with obvious care and attention to detail - they've even thought about the magazines and books they've placed in the rooms! Having breakfast brought to your room - silver cutlery, cut glasses and white napkins - with the choice of eating it in the room or on the balcony with the stunning view of the trees and mountains, was a real bonus (the food was very good too!). The grounds have also been planned to take full advantage of the views and to create areas to walk through or sit and relax.

Henry and Clare are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they truly go out of their way to ensure that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. They are charming and fascinating people and it is worth staying at the inn just to chat to them!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Instead of our usual winter vacation to the tropics, we decided to stay closer to home and visit the NC and TN mts this year. One thing we quickly discovered in looking for B&Bs was that deals are to be had in February. Duh - not hard to figure out why but we really lucked out - the weather was fabulous! At any rate, we had to decide which of the great deals was the best. We ended up with Innisfree in Cashiers and another B&B in Asheville, plus a night near Hot Springs. (We also spend some time with my cousin on her farm in TN but I don't think she wants to be reviewed.) ;-)
Of all the places we stayed, Innisfree was my favorite - and we stayed in some great places. We stayed in the separate building a few hundred feet from the Inn. We were the only ones in the building and were given the suite on the far left "because it is the warmest", one of the many nice gestures made by hosts Henry and Claire.

The room was decadent -loved the gas two-sided fireplace, huge bathtub (and bathroom), and the table to work on my laptop. The porch / deck was nice too but a bit too chilly. The breakfasts were vegetarian as requested and absolutely excellent. They were delivered to our room each morning at 9am. Wine and cheese was delivered at 6pm. All so cozy. It rained one day so we nested and it was soooo warm and cozy. Fortunately, by 3pm, it had warmed up to 50 and the sun came out. We took a nice long walk down a nearby country road to a Christmas tree farm. No traffic, few homes, just delightful.

The location is great in terms of nearby hiking - the Cashiers/Highlands area is renowned for waterfall hikes. We enjoyed a day of hikes (in 65 degree sunshine!)

All in all an excellent three days ("3 for the price of 2"). Henry was working on the grounds and we hope to get back in the spring or summer because my guess is they will be lovely.
They are well kept even in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I were recommended to the Innisfree Inn by a friend who stayed there 10 years ago! It was so memorable for them and it is now a wonderful memory for us as well!
Clare & Henry are delightful Hosts and make you feel so welcome with their inviting smiles and their sheer enjoyment in making your stay the best it can be. We stayed in the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden House which is one of the largest suites and well worth it! The furnishings are tasteful and every detail in it meant to keep the guest pleased---and we were! The romantic fireplace that can be viewed in the bedroom area as well as the bathroom made the romance divine! Fabulous tub for 2 overlooking the mountains at sundown or the little porch balcony had us mesmerized with the Fall leaves and mountain views. A lovely breakfast served in your room left us wanting to spend one more day!!!!
One of the best B&B's we've stayed in!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden house although other guests we spoke to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenville
8.1 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.7 mi away
The Chandler Inn
The Chandler Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
115 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake

Property: Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Address: 108 Innisfree Dr, Glenville, NC 28736-8859 (Formerly Innisfree Victorian Inn & Garden House)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Glenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing