We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenville B&B and Inns
New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a B&B in the Highlands, NC area, and we found this one. After looking at many other B&B, we decided on this this one. It is set on a hillside and surrounded by wooded area overlooking Glenville Lake. The house has several rooms and there is a separate building that contains additional suites. We booked one of the suites, which had everything we wanted -- a mini bar, fridge, garden tub, separate shower, fireplace, private balcony, and a breakfast nook to name a few. The Inn serves breakfast in-room for guests staying in suites.

In innkeepers -- Henry and Clare -- are jovial, outgoing people. We talked to them quite a bit while we were there, and they were very helpful about making reservations for dinners among other things. Clare is a dance instructor, so we took dancing lessons from her, which was a lot of fun.

The inn is also located near many natural wonders for those that like to hike, bike, or observe nature. I went mountain biking in Panthertown Valley -- about 20 minutes away. We hiked to several waterfalls and spend some time in downtown Highlands too browsing shops.

The only unfortunate thing is that we didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to do!

Room Tip: The "Emily Barret" room is nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a truly delightful two-night stay - we wished that we could have stayed longer. Clare and Henry have managed to create an Inn that is elegant and refined whilst at the same time still being cosy and welcoming. The suites and bedrooms are charming and individually furnished with obvious care and attention to detail - they've even thought about the magazines and books they've placed in the rooms! Having breakfast brought to your room - silver cutlery, cut glasses and white napkins - with the choice of eating it in the room or on the balcony with the stunning view of the trees and mountains, was a real bonus (the food was very good too!). The grounds have also been planned to take full advantage of the views and to create areas to walk through or sit and relax.

Henry and Clare are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they truly go out of their way to ensure that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. They are charming and fascinating people and it is worth staying at the inn just to chat to them!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Instead of our usual winter vacation to the tropics, we decided to stay closer to home and visit the NC and TN mts this year. One thing we quickly discovered in looking for B&Bs was that deals are to be had in February. Duh - not hard to figure out why but we really lucked out - the weather was fabulous! At any rate, we had to decide which of the great deals was the best. We ended up with Innisfree in Cashiers and another B&B in Asheville, plus a night near Hot Springs. (We also spend some time with my cousin on her farm in TN but I don't think she wants to be reviewed.) ;-)
Of all the places we stayed, Innisfree was my favorite - and we stayed in some great places. We stayed in the separate building a few hundred feet from the Inn. We were the only ones in the building and were given the suite on the far left "because it is the warmest", one of the many nice gestures made by hosts Henry and Claire.

The room was decadent -loved the gas two-sided fireplace, huge bathtub (and bathroom), and the table to work on my laptop. The porch / deck was nice too but a bit too chilly. The breakfasts were vegetarian as requested and absolutely excellent. They were delivered to our room each morning at 9am. Wine and cheese was delivered at 6pm. All so cozy. It rained one day so we nested and it was soooo warm and cozy. Fortunately, by 3pm, it had warmed up to 50 and the sun came out. We took a nice long walk down a nearby country road to a Christmas tree farm. No traffic, few homes, just delightful.

The location is great in terms of nearby hiking - the Cashiers/Highlands area is renowned for waterfall hikes. We enjoyed a day of hikes (in 65 degree sunshine!)

All in all an excellent three days ("3 for the price of 2"). Henry was working on the grounds and we hope to get back in the spring or summer because my guess is they will be lovely.
They are well kept even in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I were recommended to the Innisfree Inn by a friend who stayed there 10 years ago! It was so memorable for them and it is now a wonderful memory for us as well!
Clare & Henry are delightful Hosts and make you feel so welcome with their inviting smiles and their sheer enjoyment in making your stay the best it can be. We stayed in the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden House which is one of the largest suites and well worth it! The furnishings are tasteful and every detail in it meant to keep the guest pleased---and we were! The romantic fireplace that can be viewed in the bedroom area as well as the bathroom made the romance divine! Fabulous tub for 2 overlooking the mountains at sundown or the little porch balcony had us mesmerized with the Fall leaves and mountain views. A lovely breakfast served in your room left us wanting to spend one more day!!!!
One of the best B&B's we've stayed in!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden house although other guests we spoke to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I decided to "get out of the Atlanta heat" at the last minute and came across Innisfree on the internet. We arrived on Friday at the time of the hosted Happy Hour with the other guests at the Inn. The hosts, Henry and Claire, were a delight! They made dinner reservations for us, gave us interesting walking directions and entertained us one morning with a boat ride on the lake. The weather was perfect, the grounds were beautiful and I read a book while sitting in front of a beautiful pond one afternoon. A full, hot breakfast was served each morning.......the food was delicious! The guest room was not decorated in my taste, but it was clean and used towels were replaced each time we left the room.
I am very picky about lodging and have traveled extensively on business for over 20 years. Innisfree Victorian Inn was a pleasant surprise and relief from everyday corporate travel.

Room Tip: Garden House has larger rooms which were all taken when we reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbcwilliams2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN SAINT MARY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

While the Inn and surrounding property were gorgeous, the Rose Cottage was not satisfactory. The water would shut off unexpectedly and Henry would have to come down and "flip a switch". There was no a/c or heat but we were only uncomfortable one evening. The Cottage was nicely furnished and included a hairdryer and iron but no microwave or toaster. We would not return again as the water situation was very irritating and we were not told to expect this.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbesslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Our suite, Lord Tennyson, in the Garden House was especially well appointed with beautiful furnishings and a touch of class including classic books. Our host and hostess, Henry and Clare, were warm and gracious and were very attentive to detail. The breakfasts were just great and were brought to the suite each day. You can't go wrong in planning a stay at The Innisfree Inn By The Lake!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NavigatorOcoee_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenville
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.7 mi away
The Chandler Inn
The Chandler Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake

Property: Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Address: 108 Innisfree Dr, Glenville, NC 28736-8859 (Formerly Innisfree Victorian Inn & Garden House)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Glenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing