We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what it is”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendale Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Lodge and Cabins
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I wish I owned a cabin like the one I stayed at. There's plenty of room, with an upstairs bedroom plus the master bedroom on the ground floor. Immediately off the Blue Ridge - look for the pig on the mailbox - but feels as if you're miles from anywhere.

The best way to enjoy this cabin is to bring your own food and use the kitchen or outdoor grill, as there are no restaurants close by. I arrived by bike and had to go back to the Glendale Springs bakery for lunch, and then on to Freebourne's the next day for breakfast, 8 miles north.

I hope to return here again with a ice chest full of food to cook out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

We really enjoyed the clean cabins, everything you need is provided and we had a very good sleep at the Cabine Carolina. The outdoor tables and chairs need an update. The kids loved to play on the meadow.

Room Tip: If we would have known befor we would have chosen one of the cabins on top of the hill. They have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family really enjoyed a quick getaway in the "Blue Ridge Cabin" of the Mountain View Lodge and Cabins. A nice hidden spot, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Cabin was very clean and nice. The weather was very cold, but the gas fireplace and floor heaters were plenty to keep us warm. The kitchen had the basic supplies, but if you need anything special, be sure to bring it. You are a long drive from town. Only complaints were that we found a few decent size spiders crawling around near one of the beds and there was a neighborhood / stray dog that invaded our trash can on the porch and drug our trash all over the lawn both nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrlinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently stayed in the Pine Cabin. Cute cabin perfect for a family of 2-4. Cleaning could be improved somewhat. There were a few dust bunnies around. Shower stall was very small and as such we got water all over the floor when taking a shower. Very convenient to Blue Ridge Parkway. Very quiet. Love that you accept pets. We drove to West Jefferson twice to eat. Its about a 20-25 minute ride through beautiful countryside. Made a fire one night. Would be more comfortable if you had addtional seating in living room besides the futon. There are laundry facilities available which was not stated on the website. King size bed was very comfortable. My dgt complained about queen mattress in the loft not being very comfie. Would be lovely to add an additonal tv in the bedroom area and maybe put more comfortable seating on the back deck. I spent alot of time back there! Overall a good value.

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 people in your family choose the larger cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivorypearlcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in the Birch Cabin for our 13th Anniversary. What a great trip!!! Cabin was clean and had just enough enemities for the 2 of us. Cooked breakfast one morning, grilled out one night, and had a campfire. Even cooked biscuits in the toaster oven using aluminum foil on the rack! Just a peaceful place! Also visited West Jefferson, Mt. Jefferson, and rode on the BlueRidge Parkway. Beautiful Scenery~Great Trip!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

These cabins are in a beautiful location and even though there are several units pretty close to each other, we were never disturbed or very aware of our neighbours. It was hot when we were staying and although there is air conditioning downstairs there is none up in the loft and with no fan which cooled the bedroom it was pretty hot sleeping upstairs! However, this was a minor gripe in an otherwise great stay. Our teenage travelling companions loved the place and missed it when we left. It was clean and well equipped and gave us easy access to the mountain sights and activities. Thanks, Mountain View, we would love to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeevesofnorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

we enjoyed our stay very much. we hope to be back again. the cabin was very clean and well kept. we did miss having a toaster for the kids pop tarts and toast. liked the idea of putting all our dirty towels inthe hanging hamper.the loaf could have used a fan for sleeping. but all in all very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katKing98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge and Cabins

Address: Milepost 256 on Blue Ridge Pkwy., Glendale Springs, NC 28629
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Glendale Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glendale Springs
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing