We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendale Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New River Inn and Cottages
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Avoid this motel, I killed at least 15 earwigs on the bed, spiders on the walls and a few crickets, nothing that would do you harm but who wants bugs crawling on them at night. The smoke alarm's battery was missing and their wasn't any coffee or cups in the room, just a dirty coffee maker. The next morning at 8:00am the office/Lee House was locked making the continental breakfast with coffee impossible to obtain. The note on the door with a number to call is another hurdle since T-Mobile doesn't have coverage there. The room was clean with clean sheets and the TV worked so I opted to stay since I was extremely tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
L town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have been staying here weekend after weekend since Oct. 2013. WE LOVE IT!!! It is our home away from home. Bobby and Faye have been so kind and generous to us, we consider them friends. You will not be disappointed. The Inn is wonderful, the ppl in Glendale Springs are so very kind, and you are right on the Blue Ridge Parkway. <If you are traveling to Boone/Blowing Rock you are only 30 min away by the Parkway, you can be close but not in all the traffic.>

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I,along with our dog, spent 3 nights at this motel last weekend. Our king size room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and had everything we needed. The guy who checked us in and looked after our needs was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking the grounds and sitting on the nice deck at the Lee House. The cottages looked very nice also and we hope there will be a pet friendly cottage offered in the near future. Thank you for a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonesFamily323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I were traveling the blue ridge parkway on our way back home from our vacation. We were looking for a place to stay and did not to stay someplace we could back home. In other words chain hotels were out of the question. We came across the website for the new river inn. It is exactly what you would think. Beautiful area, very secluded and quiet. It was extremely cheap from my experience. The guy who helped us was more than kind. I cannot comment on the service as we did not request any. I can say that there is not someone at the desk 24 hours. As long as you do not expect or need to to reach someone at all times of the night then you are golden. My main complaint would be that the hot tub didn't even fill up a quarter of the way before the hot water ran out. That was kind of dissapointing being that I am a hot tub kind of guy. Bathroom floor was a little dirty but I may be being picky. Either way I have stayed at plenty of hotels and if you want something cheap quiet and beautiful then do not pass this up.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed there on 10/18 in the Diamond cabin. It doesn't look like much from the outside (clean and well-maintained), but is much nicer on the inside. Everything was clean, fresh linens, etc. A couple little things needed repair like a lamp shade that wouldn't stay on and a wobbly ceiling fan in the main room of the cabin, other than that everything was great. Nice view from the deck, very peaceful and relaxing. Was surprised to find a vacancy for a nice cabin during the leaf season, but I guess not many people know they are open again. On the downside, it's a little hard to catch someone in the office, but leave a voicemail or call back, it's worth it.

Room Tip: Loved the Diamond cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debjayne728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Springs
6.6 mi away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
18.1 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Vista Inn
Park Vista Inn
#3 of 5 in West Jefferson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New River Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Inn and Cottages

Property: New River Inn and Cottages
Address: 264 Trading Post Rd, Glendale Springs, NC 28629-9108
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Glendale Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glendale Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North Carolina mountains, off the Blue Ridge Parkway, you will find the New River Inn and Cottages. The New River Inn features 20 rooms total, 16 doubles and 4 king bed units. Rates from $49/night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing