We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Anniversary Get-Away”
Review of Burke Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burke Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Burke Manor Inn for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful and very helpful, offering suggestions on area attractions to visit. We stayed in Room 201 and it was wonderful. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for dinner, but breakfast was delicious. When we travel, we prefer to stay at B-and-B's and this is one we will would love to stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for one nite. Room was small but very comfortable. The food is to die for. Breakfast and evening dinner were first class with excellent service. Best french onion soup ever tasted. we will return but cost makes it a special occasion place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geneopapeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were returning from a family wedding in Pennsylvania when we decided to visit the Burke Manor Inn on our way home since we were, also, on vacation. In addition, we were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary. We must say, that we could not have picked a better place to stay! This B&B is both enchanting and charming! The staff at the Burke are excellent; we received the best of customer service. They warmly welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The Burke is a gorgeous inn; our room was beautiful! The entire inn is so inviting and elegant. . . from the spacious front porch, the lovely gathering room, and the breakfast area. . . .everything far surpassed our expectations. Our breakfast was prepared and served by our most gracious hostess, Emily. The breakfast was great. . . we were served fresh fruit with a special seasoning (will have to visit to enjoy and appreciate the fruit yourself!!), scrambled eggs with fresh vegetables from their garden, grits, toast, coffee, orange juice, and water. We were, also, delighted with the town of Gibsonville, NC and its antique shops and other small shops of interest. . . .it, too, is a delightful town that added to the trip! We loved the Burke Manor Inn and its courteous, helpful staff. We hope to return soon for a longer stay! It was a surprise "jewel" and a great way to end out our vacation. Roanoke Rapids, NC

Room Tip: Our room was a corner, back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvs2BB4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a terrific get-a-way for a night or a weekend, for a special occasion or when visiting your child at one of the local universities. There's a terrific winery close by, and a local chocolate shop and antiques store just down the street from the inn. The rooms are comfortable and take you back to elegant days gone by. The staff, particularly Emily Boone, go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Although the restaurant wasn't open on the night we were there, we had the pleasure of taking one of the cooking classes they offer periodically. The mushroom soup and the chocolate mousse made in class were superb. They gave us the recipes and I tried them when I returned home. The chefs didn't leave out a single ingredient because the soup and mousse made later at home turned out great, too. In the evening, we sat on the front porch and enjoyed the scenery while having a glass of wine. The train came by occasionally but really added to the experience of being there. My husband and I highly recommend a trip to Gibsonville and the Burke Manor Inn.

Room Tip: Because we stayed during a weekday, Emily was kind enough to let us see the unoccupied rooms. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We made a reservation at the Burke Manor Inn based on our experiences at the owner's restaurant in Raleigh, St. Jacques. We were not disappointed. The meals - both dinner and breakfast - were excellent. The dinner entre selection is limited, but we would have been satisfied with any of the items availalbe. The meal was complimented with a very nice bottle of Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Breakfast was customized to our diet and taste preferences. We stayed in the Paris cottage, a small building in the back of the main house. It was comfortable, nicely appointed with a Parisian theme, and offered some additional privacy. The grounds, especially the ancient pecan and magnolia trees, add a feeling of tranquility. The staff, especially servers Emma (dinner) and Wendy (breakfast), personify customer service, each in their own unique way.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy, king size bed, mini-fridge, and jacuzzi tub available in the Paris cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandK_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unless you are parents of an Elon University student, you would probably not pick Gibsonville, NC as a vacation / weekend get-a-way destination. The Burke Manor Inn is a gem! The staff is wonderful. Our room was comfortable and the food, was outstanding. We ate dinner on the night of our arrival, lunch a few days later and breakfast every morning. Each was meal was great!

Room Tip: Elon Parents' book way head as this is a very popular spot only 3 miles from campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a charming B&B on our drive to Charlotte - normally we drive straight through but decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Burke Manor Inn. I peeked at Tripadvisor but immediately went to the Burke Manor Inn website. Please note - the current owners are re-doing the website which is a little dark and has outdated photos, etc. The website doesn't do the Burke Manor Inn justice!!! The inn is absolutely gorgeous! It is nestled in a lovely setting - green garden, an abundance of trees, azaleas, and much more. So peaceful and relaxing. The receptionist was so friendly and helpful. Our room was 202 and while on the small size (as one would expect in an older home) it was well-appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom featured high end tolietries and both the bathroom and room were exceptionally clean. After our arrival we toured the grounds and facilities and they were setting up for a wedding on the weekend. The young lady inside the large tented area was very friendly and told us about the venue (by the way - a lovely spot for a wedding!!!). Before dining at the Saint Jacques @ The Burke Manor Inn we enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch in the late afternoon sun. Just delightful. You'll read other reviews that mention the trains. Yes, there is a train track on the street in front of the inn. There were two SHORT Amtrak passenger trains (about 5 cars or less) in the late afternoon. There was a longer freight train before 9 pm. The hotel offers ear plugs if needed. The next train I noticed was at 6 a.m. These brief encounters certainly did not detract from our visit. I would highly recommend the Burke Manor Inn!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snovak52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burke Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burke Manor Inn

Address: 303 Burke St, Gibsonville, NC 27249-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Gibsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsonville
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored 1906 home which offers the amenities and privacy desired by today's traveler. Sits on 3.5 acres and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks, a great nights rest and a full gourmet breakfast, all included in the rate. 'It's not how far away you go but how far away you feel.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing