We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B--and definitely French”
Review of Burke Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burke Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B--and definitely French”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enjoyed a special package of room with dinner. I had an aged filet with classic bearnaise sauce. The wine was great and the service was outstanding. FYI--weekends in June require definite advance booking; they are a preferred wedding venue, having large pavilion with dance floor, photographers, and great French food and wine.
The decor is decidedly continental--one would think they are in a B&B in France.
The hosts, Lil and Lori, are most welcoming. Lil is originally from Grasse, France. Together they also operate St. Jacques, an award winning restaurant in Raleigh.
Burke Manor is almost as good as a short trip to France, but no need for air ticket.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logisticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
68
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Why would you stop over in Gibsonville, when your onboard computer shows you so many options much closer to the Freeway. Because you are looking for a pleasant surprise? We were two couples on our way to Virginia and were getting tired and had not made any advance booking. Burke's Manor was a most pleasant surprise with all the small town B&B charm you would want including a train which goes right past the property.It didn't bother us in the least. Welcoming,quaint, nicely appointed and friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast and once again Mia's smile and we were off to a new day of adventure. The only drawback, we were not there when their dining room was open, so we were taking our chances in Elon. What a lovely campus and clean town. We'll spend a day there next time. As seasoned travellers, we highly recommend BM.

Room Tip: there are not too many choices, but all of the rooms we saw were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

On first impression the Burke Manor Inn is a very quaint place to stay. I was with a group and had rented the ajoining cottage in the rear as I needed 3 sleeping areas. The room was well furnished and clean, the toiletries were lovely and the snack basket an added bonus. The rooms were substantially smaller then I expected from the pictures but were more then reasonable for our needs. I was traveling with my Mother-in-law, husband and two children and the exterior cottage was perfect for us. The only thing that they didn't mention was their proximity to the train line (which does run all night....), but they were happy to provide ear plugs for my MIL and hubby. I apparently do not mind the sound of trains :). Breakfast was nice, not over the top but very good, so no issues there. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but when we were looking for a place to eat nearby, all of their suggestions were closed. I was a little disappointed that I thought I had negotiated a flat rate for both cottages, as we stayed a couple of nights, of $300 per night, but when I went to check in I discovered that was for only 3 or more evenings, so I ended up paying more for two nights then I would have for 3 with the extra charges for the children. So I would just encourage you to clarify your rates in advance so there are no unpleasant surprises. Overall a solid choice for accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

great inn, awesome service, excellent food. Would have liked more than one option for breakfast, but everything was delicious and the rooms were fabulous!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Burke Manor Inn for Elon orientation. I cannot praise this "hidden gem" enough!!! From the impeccable service and hospitality, to the charm, cleanliness and atmosphere, it was close to perfect!! The owners are wonderful. They go out of their way to make you feel at home.
We also had the privelige of dining in their restaurant, Saint Jacques, one evening. The food, service and ambience was fantastic. The menu was varied and so delicious.
I almost hate to review, because now so many people will want to stay and I may not get a room:) Seriously, I will definetely plan to stay here every time I come to Elon, since I have two daughters attending this great university.
If I had one complaint, it would be the noise of the train that is across the street. However, it is infrequent and it certainly is not the fault of the Burke Manor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ct03traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn for college orientation weekend. The Inn was recommended by another B&B in the area so I booked a room on-line. Knowing that we would arrive in the evening, I also booked a dinner reservation at their French restaurant - Saint Jacques. We could not have been more surprised at the quality, service and ambiance. The dinner was excellent and the service was elegant. In the morning we were served a full breakfast. If the Inn's rooms are booked, still try to get a reservation for dinner - it compares to top restaurants in NYC. Next time.....I will make a reservation for my husband and I!

Room Tip: Book in advance as there are only a small number of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZ621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was our second stay at the Burke Manor. It was our anniversary and our weekend was already so full we barely had time to celebrate. Luckily, the perfect spot is right up the street - a getaway not so far away. Our room was luxurious and relaxing, dinner at the St. Jacques was lovely - they even whipped up a pretty pastry swan to help us celebrate the occasion. The multi-jet shower was entertaining and breakfast was just right.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Have stayed in 201 and 204. Both were lovely, but 204 gets the edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisstecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsonville
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington
Best Western Plus Burlington
#5 of 15 in Burlington
424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramada Burlington Hotel & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burke Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burke Manor Inn

Property: Burke Manor Inn
Address: 303 Burke St, Gibsonville, NC 27249-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Gibsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored 1906 home which offers the amenities and privacy desired by today's traveler. Sits on 3.5 acres and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks, a great nights rest and a full gourmet breakfast, all included in the rate. 'It's not how far away you go but how far away you feel.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing