We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to get pulled BBQ on this side of town”

Hillbilly's Barbeque & Steaks
Ranked #23 of 234 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Cramerton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place to get pulled BBQ on this side of town”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is the only place I will go to eat pulled BBQ they have beef, chicken and pork all slow cooked over the huge fire in the middle of the restaurant. If you want brisket I suggest driving to Charlotte's River Gate area to eat at Jim n Nick's.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank amberpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good BBQ with good prices”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wednesday is senior discount day but it was not crowded by 7:30. BBQ was good with great smoked chicken. I loved the selection of sides, especially sweet potatoes. Dinner for two with a beer, and tip was only $22.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelSueLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place is just plain nasty all the way around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodster117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“I hate it when this happens”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

On a Thursday evening in mid July we found ourselves at Hillbilly's, based on our local NC cousins' recommendation. They picked us up at our hotel and drove us over for dinner. We are a couple from Ohio who were visiting relatives in Gastonia. We love foreign travel and sometimes a little gastronomic adventure, but this place was the pits. Dirty and filthy, decrepit, it reminded me of a bus station snack bar. In South America.
I ordered a 4 ribs dinner for 12 bucks, which included french fries ( I could have had sweet potato fries) and slaw. Dried out, little meat. Good fries, slaw OK. Good sauce, I must say. Our cousins got the pulled pork for seniors; 6 dollars (no bread).
Halfway thru the meal I got upset, inside, and had to leave table. Go. There are no words to describe facilities there. I will leave it at that.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Ribeye sandwich is awesome. I really like the bbq, but sometimes it is dry.”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Ribeye sandwich is awesome. I really like the bbq, but sometimes it is dry.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillbilly's Barbeque & Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hillbilly's Barbeque & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing