We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ole Carolina BBQ is the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole Carolina BBQ

Ole Carolina BBQ
Ranked #77 of 229 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ole Carolina BBQ is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We are lucky to enjoy so many good BBQ restaurants in our area! If you want the best BBQ, ribs or chicken & Brunswick Stew, then Ole Carolina BBQ is the best in my opinion! These folks know how to make good BBQ & it is always consistently good as is their Brunswick stew! You can drive all over the area but you wont find BBQ any better elsewhere than Ole Carolina!



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jslowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wouldn't go out of my way.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for something local, when passing through town. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again, but it did the job.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amydame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The place was packed during our lunch visit. The BBQ was very good. They have the "Lexington or Eastern style" sauce along with the thicker style. They offer pork, chicken, ribs, and various kinds of sandwiches. Our server was very attentive and kept coming by to refill our sweet tea. We will definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarheel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very busy all the time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Its the rebirth of a BBQ restaurant which was sold, closed and now reopened I believe with the original family running the restaurant. Clearly a local favorite both during the lunch and and at night. The lot is always filled! If your a big fan of barbeques - you'll probably be happy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AEN524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I Dream About This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I make special trips to this place, because I live 500 miles away. Whenever I'm driving north from my home in Florida, I try to incorporate a visit here, even when it means driving out of the way. The barbecue is chopped, served with a sweet sauce. OK, a very sweet sauce. The hush puppies are to die for, or, as many as I eat, perhaps to die from. Available side items include standards like fries, onion rings, and cole slaw, all of which are satisfactory.

This is not fine dining. Jeans and a t-shirt, and you're dressed for dinner. Service is what it is, but it usually ranges from acceptable to excellent. The dining room appears clean and adequate. The charm of this place is on your plate. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CalebRochling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Carolina BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Ole Carolina BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing