We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gastonia
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time staying at a Marriott Courtyard and we were very impressed. Really nice room with 2 queen beds plus sitting area. Loved the shower - 2 showerheads for power shower effect. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLTCGGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We're excited at how impressed you are with our hotel and team. I am fortunate to work with a great team that cares for one another and guests such as yourself. The showerheads provide a great shower experience all while using the same amount of water as just one! We respect this great difference from our competitors and we hope your experience at our hotel solidifies your choice of accommodation each trip you make to Gastonia, NC Thank you so much for staying and sharing! Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
73
34
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised! I haven't stayed here in a few years and I was most impressed with the staff. Very professional, but friendly too. Our original room had an A/C problem, so the desk clerk immediately moved us to a new room. I have stayed at all of the name brand hotels in Gastonia and this is the best! Updated lobby and rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zonebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLTCGGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Your comments about our team are celebrated and confirms that we have been successful in producing a comfortable hotel for your visit to Gastonia, NC. I'm most excited about your loyalty to our property and willingness to share your experience. We'll be right here waiting on your return with all smiles! :) Thank you again for continuing to stay with us.....HURRY BACK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

When possible, we stay at Marriott Courtyard, and once again, Marriott Courtyard was a great place to stay the night while traveling. The only negative, is that after staying at the Marriott Courtyard in Vicksburg MS, and receiving a Thank You give for being a Marriott Rewards Silver member the night before, It was a little disappointing not to receive the same recognition at this Marriott. But, the hotel was great, clean, and comfortable. Can never go wrong with Marriott !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your "great stay"! We appreciate your choice to stay with us and I agree, You can't go wrong with Marriott. My apologies that we didn't properly recognize you as a Marriott Rewards Silver Elite member, however, I do hope you had an opportunity to earn an additional 500 points by playing a hole in 1. We recognize your loyalty to Marriott and its the foundation of our brands success. We look forward to your return and wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very quiet property, despite staying while a baseball team was in residence. Walking distance to Waffle House and Craker Barrel. Across the highway (3 min drive) from local mall (Dillards, Sears, Belk). Next exit towards Charlotte (you can get there by highway or back roads) - about 4 min - to a bunch of restaruants (Qdoba, McCallisters, Ruby Tuesday, Chilis, Panera, Sweet Frogs, etc) and stores (Target, Dicks, Best Buy).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We appreciate your choice to stay with us and excited that you enjoyed your stay. Your willingness to share your experience means a lot to us and we look forward for your return. Next time we hope to accommodate you in our Breakfast Cafe. Ms. Geanette and Amina would love to make an omelet your way! Thanks again and travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose Marriott because of it's rating and reputation. We stayed in a King Suite, at not a bad price, but, the room although clean was seemed to be missing furniture, such as a table and chairs for morning coffee etc. The suite was an actual suite though, two separate rooms unlike some other "suites" motels. The bed was quite comfortable. We had a big problem with a/c which was a wall unit in the bedroom that went of and on all night with a big sounding " CLUNK' and then a whirring sound. The first night the people above us turned on their jet tub at 11 PM which sounded like an aircraft landing in our bedroom, that lasted 30 minutes! We could also hear the plumbing every time they flushed the toilet. Aside from all this the staff was helpful and friendly although not very efficient about getting our wake up calls on time, if at all.

Room Tip: don;t stay in 304, choose the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at our Courtyard. I'm sorry you experienced a problem with the A/C in your suite but we have since addressed that matter. It sounds like it was comfortable, clean, and you experienced the service from out team that you should expect each visit with us. We look forward for your return and hope that we can help with those reservations for next time. Thank you again and travel safe!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

What I liked best? Mirrored bi-fold closet doors opposite sink in dressing area could be opened slightly to make it possible to see the *back* of my outfit and hair! General observations: Clean, clean, clean facility! Hospitable staff. Breakfast may not be free, but in my opinion, if you like a hearty breakfast, or one with many choices, the price is right. Eggs, including omelets, made to order. Abundant restaurants in the area with a few in walking distance. The front desk has a list of recommended restaurants, but a GPS is useful in actually finding them. HUGE room, did I mention that? Wish I could have stayed longer.....<sigh>

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzzkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLTCGGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Why didn't you stay longer??? :) Thank you for the great experience that we shared with you. Our Kitchen staff makes a magnificent omelet I must say and they are currently ranked #16 of 823 Courtyards in service and speed. I'm glad the room was more than suitable and your entire stay was a pleasant one. We have to get you back here to stay longer next time! I have shared your comments with the team so thank you for helping me motivate everyone to continue to make the relationships and experiences with wonderful guests exactly like yourself. Thank you so much again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard while visitng for a graduation. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a balcony room, at no extra charge. We also received a little welcome package of bottled water and snacks because we are Marriott Reward members.

The staff at this small hotel goes above and beyond what is expected of them. From the front desk clerk to the wait staff at the restaurant, we were always treated with kindness. Everyone we encountered offered a smile & greeting. The manager Chris & the front desk clerk Johnay were knowledgeable about the surrounding areas restaurants and attractions. Be sure the visit the US National Whitewater Center in Charlotte -- it's only about 20 minutes away!

Our room was large, clean & comfortable. We requested extra pillows and towels and received them promptly. The single serve coffee pot was put to good use every morning.

There is an indoor pool, that we did not make use of, but the area was clean and the pool was a nice size for being indoors.

Cracker Barrel & Waffle House directly across the street!

We would definately stay here again if our travels brought us back to Gastonia.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony! If one is available, they will upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MetheWifeandTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLTCGGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
What a great experience you had while staying with us. I can't thank you enough for the choice of lodging you made and complimenting Chris and Jonay. Our entire operation is designed to create your comfort and I'm glad you were able to enjoy your trip with no concerns about your guestroom. Those were great photos I might add too! :) We don't claim to be the best hotel but we strive to be one of the best and with guests like you that share your experiences indicates that we"re on the right track. THANK YOU for staying and sharing, we look forward to your return trip to stay with us in Gastonia, NC. Please travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gastonia
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 15 in Gastonia
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gastonia
Best Western Gastonia
#5 of 15 in Gastonia
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Belmont at Montcross
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia

Property: Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
Address: 1856 Remount Rd, Gastonia, NC 28054-7414 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Gastonia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Gastonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gastonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gastonia Hotel Gastonia
Courtyard Gastonia
Gastonia Marriott
Gastonia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing