We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schiele Museum

Schiele Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Gastonia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum contains a farm exhibit on the grounds.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

As noted in the AAA guide the Schiele Museum is worth a visit if you are in the Charlotte area. When we were there they had various activities for children which always helps making any type of activity more enjoyable for the parents.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    45
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Something New”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The main exhibit at the Schiele Museum changes every year, so there's always something new to see and explore. They do an outstanding job of creating hands-on experiences for younger and older children alike.

We live right around the corner, so our family has been to the Schiele several times. We've seen everything from North Carolina wildlife to fighting robots. Pirates to cowboys to dinosaurs and everything in between.

This is a medium-sized museum, so don't expect the Smithsonian. There are indoor and outdoor experiences, a planetarium show and plenty of activities scheduled year-round. Most displays are stuffed or re-created, but they do also have some live animals to watch and pet.

It's a nice, quiet place to take the kids on a rainy day, but be prepared for huge crowds during their featured events.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ho hum.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice attempt at stimulating scientific interest....but overall pretty vanilla. Expensive for what it offers. Would recommend staying home and watching some educational cable channels and/or researching your topic of interest on the internet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Schiele Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was rasied in the Gastonia, NC area, therefore I am partial to the attractions in this area. The Schiele Museum has been around for as long as I can remember. One of my first experiences there was the Planetaruim. This was one of the highlights of my childhood. It was a fantastic experience. Since then, the Schiele Museum has been offering the most up to date and spectacular exhibits in the area. It is not known as one of the largest Museums, but it has a lot to offer, to include nature trails, as well as animal exhibits. There are also special exhibits at times such as the Dinosaur exhibit, which is very cool. It is worth the trip if you are either living in the area, or passing through. make it one of your stopovers, you will be pleasantly surprised!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank btcnavydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My children (18 years old, 10 years old and 6 years old) stopped by this museum on the way back home from our road trip.

I thought it was going to be a quick visit to a small museum, but boy, was I wrong! We probably spent a few hours at this museum. All of us had a wonderful time there.

This museum is a combination of zoo, aquarium and science and natural history museum. You can experience all of those indoor (huge plus for hot or rainy day), and admission is very reasonable.

There was no planetarium show on the day of our visit so I can't write review about it. This is the only sad part about our visit. It will be on our "to-see" list for the next time when we are in the area, though.

They also have trails outside but we did not have enough time to explore. So again no review on the trails.... This will be also on our list for the next time.

I must say that this museum is as good as, if not better than, the bigger and well-known museums out there. If you are in the area, make sure to stop by!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClickMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schiele Museum also viewed

 

Been to Schiele Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing