We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gastonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for business travelers”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Close to some fantastic restaurants, and The Texas Roadhouse is right next door within walking distance. Hotel is in great shape, the lobby is a great place to enjoy some hot coffee and the breakfasts were standard fare but very good.
The rooms are clean and comfy, if back in the area I would stay there again.

Room Tip: no bad views in this very nice area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    134
    70
    28
    21
See reviews for
170
87
43
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

this was my first stay at this particular property and it was very clean, the staff was professional and helpful. i don't have anything bad to say! i would definitely stay here again. i travel quite frequently on business and usually choose hilton properties. thanks for not disappointing me!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barbette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had to stay here for a few days for business, staff was excellent, worked with Nicole Bolt and she was just wonderful. The room was nice and clean, staff was very friendly and the overall experience was terrific! I will visit here again the next time I am in the Gastonia area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was travelling through Gastonia and stopped at the Hampton Inn since I am a Hilton Honors member and frequently stay at a Hampton Inn or other Hilton hotels. The Gastonia Hampton Inn had a "take it or leave it attitute" when asked about the high price for the room for a Senior Citizen. The price was much higher than usual and was higher than was quoted on internet and by phone. I asked for some shaving cream, since I had left mine, and was told it would be delivered to my romm. This never occured. Also, when I attempted to watch TV there was no remote in the room. I had to call two times to the front desk to get a remote. I had waited an extended time after the first call before I called again. I was told that housekeeping was trying to find a remote and some shaving lather. Finally, a remote was delivered and it had no back cover and didn't work. I removed and replaced the batteries and it began working. The front desk was not very courteous or helpful at all. Also, there was not a microwave or a refridgerator in the room. The breakfast the next morning left a lot to be desired and was not the quality that is typically received at other Hampton Inns. Upon checkout, no one even asked how was my stay, I assume since they knew I was not satisfied. Very disappointed. NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Gastonia Hampton Inn!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 511stevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know of your experience with us. As a member of management, I would never know of these occurences without input such as yours. I truly apologize for the lackluster attitude you recieved during your stay. Your problems were minor incidents that are easily rectifiable, and I beleive that the attitude behind it would have made a world of difference to you. Please contact the General Manager, Kristen Billerman at (704) 866-9090, and she will gladly discuss a way to appease the negative impression you received during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Please do not stay there. General Manager is rude and the housekeepers steal from you. Please don't be fooled. When I checked in the hotel they had my daughter and I booked in a room that had one double bed. I went back down stairs and asked for a different room. The front desk clerk told me that since I used points, this is the room that they had for me. I asked her to please change room. The next morning, I left the hotel. I mistakenly left $50.00 worth of candy in the room. When I realized I left something in the room, I called the hotel. The clerk told me that no items in room. This was the first untruth. Then she said that anything left in the room was discarded. This was the second untruth. The next day, the clerk called me and told me that the items were perishable and discarded. Then in the same breath, she told me that the candy was not found. I asked her to let me speak with the General Manager. The General Manager told me that the candy was found and distributed between all the housekeepers. The housekeepers in turn took it to their families. I asked why wasn't my message relayed to the head housekeeper that I left something in the room. She replied, "I don't know, but we do not keep perishable." I told her that I will not stay at this facility anymore. She replied, "Sorry, that you feel that way." She did not try to rectify the situation. She just made it worst. I am not upset about the candy, but how they handled the situation. IF THEY WILL TAKE CANDY, THEY WILL TAKE VALUABLE ITEMS AS WELL. BEWARE! I might have to change my Hilton Honors Membership to a Marriot Rewards. Disappointed Customer

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank WPrincess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi there, first I would like to apologize for your experience. However, I would like to clarify some of our standard procedures and rebute the claims that our long tenure employees are thieves.

Since guests leave many items with us all the time, we do have a lost and found department to store items for up to 90 days if the item is left uncliamed by the guest. One exception to this rule is for perishables. Any food or drink items that are left behind are not retained due to the abundance of perishables that guests leave with no intention to reclaim, these items expire, and perishables will attract insects. The reason why you were told that we didn't have your candy is because it was not saved and logged into into our lost and found department for these reasons. The particular housekeeper that attended your room on the day of departure was not working at the time of your call, so we were able to clarify, not "change the story" of what happened to your candy. The clerk was not lying to you, she was stating that nothing had been reported from your room and stating the policy that perishable items are to be discarded. I am not sure about the elaborate picture that was painted about what was done with your candy, but I can be sure in stating that no ill intentions were in place and our housekeepers are very honest and have all been employed for years with us.

I am sorry that you weren't pleased with your room type assignment, however that was a choice made by you at the time of your reservation. You were given the room type that you had reserved, and when you requested a different room type we did accomodate you by changing your room. I am a little confused about your unhappiness with the room change that was given since this was not addressed on the phone call with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well, actually a little below the average Hampton Inn, but still a good place to stay.

First the good stuff: Clean room, friendly staff, comfortable beds, good towels, good shower and good breakfast. All standard for a Hampton Inn - reliable, consistent, and predictable.

But there are a few "howevers" for this location. The room and the bathroom were small and a bit cramped. Felt like one of the smallest Hampton rooms I've seen. Then the breakfast area was far too small and didn't flow well. Just one person not paying attention could block about half the food counter. And once you had some food, there was not nearly enough seating. It seems like it was set up to be "cozy" rather than functional, but the end result is not quite functional enough.

Then there were the dogs. Dozens of guests were there with dogs - seemed like a Jack Russel convention. We listened to dogs barking outside our window all night long, and saw dogs coming and going in the lobby each time we passed through. Apparently unlike most Hamptons, this is not a "no pets" hotel, which is a bit of a problem for my family due to allergies.

Don't get me wrong - the hotel is doing a good job of working within it's structural limitations. After all, there is only so much you can do with a too-small room. We would stay there again if we need to stay in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel is clean and well taken care of. The breakfast has gone downhill a bit, but still ok. Good place to stay for the money. The internet service is very slow. Don't expect to surf for porn here. They don't charge any extra for it though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bozher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gastonia
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 15 in Gastonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gastonia
Best Western Gastonia
#4 of 15 in Gastonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Belmont at Montcross
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia

Property: Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia
Address: 1859 Remount Rd, Gastonia, NC 28054-7413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Gastonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gastonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gastonia Hotel Gastonia
Gastonia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing