We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frisco Native American Museum
Open today: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Impressive collection, if short on written explanations

We've been ignoring this place for a couple of years - as others have noted, it doesn't look very... read more

Reviewed May 10, 2019
HappyWVRetiree
,
West Virginia
Was More Fun Than Expected

Four of us stopped here on our return from Hatteras and I did not expect much by the exterior of... read more

Reviewed June 18, 2018
Neptune1976
,
Neptune Beach, Florida
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
33
16
22
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
33
16
22
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale learn something collection artifacts admission trail fee hurricane pottery hatteras
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful displays representing Nations from all over the country. It also has a nice gift shop. There is a walking trail behind the building as well.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Dancingbluewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraM7750, Public Relations Manager at Frisco Native American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2019

We are glad you could visit and hope to see you again! Neewe! (thank you)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

The artifacts and trail are worth the visit - the building and displays could use an update. Description cards are sometimes lacking for displays, but the cards they do have are informative. Front desk crew could keep in mind that there are visitors in the building that might not want to hear the talk they're sharing (gossip). That being said, pay the 5 dollars and go take a look - it's about an hour's visit and you might learn something.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank WFNCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraM7750, Public Relations Manager at Frisco Native American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2019

Neewe (thank you) for your comments. We have a large number of signs waiting to be made, running without government funding means finances are always an issue. Sorry for the chatting up front, we do spend time answering questions and trying to be friendly (and informative) but conversations can take a left turn every now and again.
Hope to see you next year, we use January - March for upgrading exhibits so keep an eye out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

We've been ignoring this place for a couple of years - as others have noted, it doesn't look very impressive - and finally stopped on a rainy Friday in early May. There was only one staff member visible, collecting admission ($5 adult - just $3 seniiors - a real bargain compared to other stops we've made). She seemed knowledgeable and was happy to answer questions.

They have a LOT of artifacts on display - and apparently have finished much of the hurricane remediation, since there was no musty smell left at all, though there was one display case still bearing a sign saying they were working on restoration.

My only complaint is that labeling and written explanations were minimal, usually just a single word identifying an artifact or the tribe from which it came. It requires some familiarity with Native American tribes and history to make anything at all of the displays, I suspect.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank HappyWVRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraM7750, Public Relations Manager at Frisco Native American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2019

Neewe (thank you) for your visit! We work on a non-government funded budget of entry fees and gift shop sales - sometimes delays our signage, and exhibit upgrades. That exhibit near the Code Talkers is finished now. Check us out yearly, we add or change over the winter when visitation is low. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Smelly, old building housing Native American artifacts. It's just sad that this was the best NC could do for any type of museum in the area and this was the best they could do in a tribute to the Native American people.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank LABaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Don't miss the opportunity to visit this museum while in the Cape Hatteras area. Yes, it is old and as one reviewer said maybe a little "musty" but the exhibits are a collection of some of the oldest and finest Native American artifacts I have seen. The paintings are amazing - wish they were on my walls in my Arizona home. There is an extremely valuable piece of pottery that I'm told the collector paid twenty five cents for. We live in Arizona and while we enjoy visiting our beautiful Heard Museum we were fortunate to find this place and have an up close experience with history. Just go and enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank BarbaraC31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraM7750, Public Relations Manager at Frisco Native American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank You! We love to share our collection and our knowledge. Mr. Bornfriend is a retired teacher and he taught among the Leni Lenape (Delaware or Lenape) and on the Hopi village of Oraibi. Mrs. Bornfriend is a retired principal and teacher and has helped guide the museum towards a broader mission. My name is Barbara Miller, I'm the Director of Education & Public Relations for FNAM. I am a member of the Miami Tribe of Oklahoma, descend out of the Wea and Brotherton tribes.
We hope you will come visit again, we add to and update exhibits frequently.

mihši neewe
(Very big thanks)
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews