We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest gem in Franklin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Rel

Caffe Rel
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The biggest gem in Franklin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Franklin, NC, known for it's ruby and sapphire mines, is home to one of the best restaurants that I have had the pleasure to visit. Having eaten in New York, Chicago, Las Vegas, San Francisco, Charleston, I cannot remember a meal that I have enjoyed more regardless of price. For about $15.00 per entree you will be treated to some of the best food in the mountains. Reservations are not taken but its' worth the wait. Leave the plastic at home, they only take cash. In a gas station? Yes, but that represents the whole approach here, no pretensions, only great food at great prices. My wife agrees and says her shrimp pasta meal was one of the best meals she has ever had. This was our first visit but not our last. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    102
    27
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
foothills of N.C.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tiramisu is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

By far the BEST Tiramisu I've had & made from scratch not shipped in. I heard about this place from a co-worker who told me it was hooked on a gas station & then read reviews from tripadvisor, I see why the reviews are so great. Stopped for lunch & had the roast beef sandwich, two thumbs up! I just wish I had time to sample the dinner menu. If I pass through Franklin again, this place will be top priority, Thank you Caffe Rel!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank strangebird09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We always make a point of eating at Caffe Rel when we are in Franklin. The food is consistently fabulous. Be sure you check out the specials. During our latest visit, my husband and his sister couldn't decide on which sandwich to order for lunch so he got the special (Roast Beef and Cheddar) while his sister ordered the fish sandwich, then they shared. The portion was so large, that she took half home for another meal. I got the Asian Chicken Salad, another generous portion, but I finished it all with the excellent dressing. Our only complaint is that the Asian Pork Sandwich has been retired from the menu. I've recommended Caffe Rel to others and they are never disappointed. Leave room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique, especially for Franklin, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is one of our regular stops when we are in Franklin. As a drive by,you certainly will not stop at this place as it is in the back of a gas station. No problem as it is known far and wide. New Orleans style cooking in the sticks! And boy is it good! Very unique and quite a treat. We have been there several times and it is consistently great. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Restaurant with an attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well, it was great food with good prices for lunch.
The owner has a bad attitude and many of our friends have had run ins with him. We over heard how he can be. Owners need to treat their customers with respect and be friendly

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rel also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Caffe Rel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing