We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome surprise!”
Review of Caffe Rel

Caffe Rel
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an awesome surprise!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a friend tell us about this wonderful spot in Franklin, attached to the back side of a service station! Usually you think of a Subway or some other "fast food" counter, but not here.

Caffe Rel is a intimate gourmet restaurant that is loaded with charm. The food is awesome and the people are very friendly. I would recommend you make a point of visiting them on your next trip to or thru Franklin. We had lunch with them. I'd love to go back for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gottahavit2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    130
    41
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Franklin NC Great best chefs cuisine in a town”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Awww location is bit strange inside of a gas station. You never know where you are going to find great cuisine these days. Nice surprise for this town. The food was just awesome I had the NC rainbow trout with fresh vegetables that was awesome. Cooked to perfection and seasoned just perfect. My husband had the shrimp with grits and swore he was going to lick the plate if no one was around. If you in the area or passing through must stop for a meal at this place. Nice atmosphere and service was great. Great place to enjoy some unique food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a hidden gem! Tucked into a filling station is one of the best restaurants EVER! Crowded even on a Wednesday night. The food is superb, and the service was great too. Can't wait to return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisscookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Just Do It!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was excellent, not much to add to other reviews. DH was worried when we had to wait outside for lunch with several couples in front of us. We waited about 5 minutes. They (the owner and staff) have such great team work--and they do not rush people. We shared 3 appetizers and had to take some home. They start you with French bread and bruschetta olive oil. We had the Snails and Tails, the Brandied Chicken Livers, and the French Blue Batard (crab). Everything was superb and the prices are so reasonable. They only serve wine by the glass ($6) and it was fine. The owner seemed like a very nice character. Chef REL opened his restaurant in 2003, does not advertise, and does not plan to expand. How refreshing! He certainly has his act together.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely find”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Listen to the other reviews. Come for the food, not the location. Most importantly, don't let the gas station keep you away. The food is really a lovely change from other local fare -- prepared and presented with care. What a great place to have in Franklin! I've been twice, both times at off hours to avoid the crowds. The service was pleasant and competent and the food was terrific.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prof_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rel also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Caffe Rel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing