We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat, Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neat, Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate our dinners out by the pool. Very nice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were updated. Staff was terrific. Excellent price and would stay there again. Fridge and microwave in rooms. Always coffee in the lobby. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    54
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
73
85
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very basic roadside motel that has a lot going for it. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room was basic with a couple maintenance issues but nothing I couldn't overlook considering the reasonable price and nice location. Faint musty odor in room that I couldn't pinpoint a cause. Desk clerk thought it was from the woods out back. They have two very nice cabins out back for a larger family. Bring a blow dryer if needed, my room did not have one. Some rooms have mini refrigerators. Cabins have full kitchens. Breakfast was fairly elaborate with fruit, cereals, french toast (reheat in microwave), yogurt, etc. I'm sure I'll return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFD812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Carolina Motel for one night on our way home. It was a very quaint, clean motel and the staff were so friendly. We will definitely stay there again if in that area. The next time I will ask for a room that is not on the end by the road because of the heavy traffic. It wasn't too bad, but I would think the rooms facing the road would be quieter.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of traffic on the road in front of the motel. I would suggest asking for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is still great. The staff is great and the rooms are still great. This is why we stayed a second time. We will probably stay here next year when we go gem hunting again. This was the first time staying here for my husband and he really liked the hotel. He took the grandkids to the playground and had fun with them. He also saw the cabins in the back and spoke to the office about them. He is very interested in staying in a cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
359 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I travel a lot for work. I had been staying at a chain hotel in town, but when the hotel had issues with A/C I decided to stay here. I was even able to rent the one bedroom cabin for the same rate I was paying at the other hotel. It was a nice change of pace to come "home" after work rather than head back to a room. The cabin was a bit musty and (of course) smelled of cedar, but that's all part of the experience. I was delighted to have a living room, a full kitchen and a porch with rockers. The view is a bit lacking, but I did have a porch with rockers and it was nice to be able to cook in the kitchen. I hope to be able to stay in the cabin the next time I am in town. It was a nice change of pace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyfromILMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice affordable place to stay! If you are looking for a clean place to stay with outstanding customer service this is the place for you! We stayed in this hotel one night on our way up to lake Nantahala and it was was nicer than what I expected for the low rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a recent road trip across North Carolina, I stopped in Franklin to see if a motel I stayed at many years ago was still in business. Imagine my surprise to find it was and had been updated to an exceptional, accommodating motel. The manager, Debbie Drake, shared with me the trials and tribulations of bringing this place up to standards. The layout is a semi-circle with a pool out front, super clean large rooms and a complimentary continental breakfast that is a cut above most. When on road trips I like to park right in front of my room and at the Carolina Motel that's no problem. The in-room wi-fi is excellent. This location is close to all that the Franklin area has to offer, and Debbie will be more than happy to provide maps and directions. Or and I forgot to add that the prices are more than fair.

Room Tip: The last rooms #17 and #18 are large enough to accommodate a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondLil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.3 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing