We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent a night here in April 2012 and were pleasantly surprised. For this kind of money ($60) we usually get a basic room and basic service.

Upon arrival the general manager gave us a map of the area and some tips for spending our time in Franklin. She also upgraded us to a bigger room, since there were very few people staying there at the time.

The hotel looks nice form the outside, a bit vintage and colourful, like it could be on route 66. The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. I would defenitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s1llybunnyrabb1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    57
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
82
90
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family booked their large(six person) cabin for three days in August. The cabin was nice and roomy. It was clean, but there were mice droppings in the cupboards, on the toaster, and on some spots on the floor. There was a mouse trap behind the microwave. We didn't complain. We just figured that was the norm in the mountains. The cleaning staff did an amazing job everyday, even changing our sheets on day two. We paid $200 per night. There was a nice front porch which we sat on nightly and in the mornings. The windows didn't lock and it was obviously they were older. The window in the bathroom didn't have any trim. The two bedrooms were nice and large and comfy. The free continental breakfast located at the main hotel was not good. They offered bagels, french toast, cereal. Both toasters didn't seem to work very well. They didn't have any real butter. They offered high sugar yogurt. So, we only did the free breakfast the one day. We ate out for breakfast the other days. All in all, the place was pretty good, but for the money we spent per night, I will look to an actual cabin somewhere else in Franklin.

Room Tip: If you do choose one of two of their cabins, definately pick the larger one(6 person). The four per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollyhatchet3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiedrake, General Manager at Carolina Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much on your recent review of our hotel.

We were very fortunate to recently have you and your family as guests in our (2) bedroom log cabin. This is actually a real log cabin with 1200 sq. feet of space with central heat & ac. This cabin has real cedar logs inside & out. This may attribute to the fact that you have brought up about the bathroom window. We recently installed new bathroom shower stalls and they had to be cut out so it only left the window and the window sill. You have brought a great issue to my attention about the window locks. New brass lock were installed last year, however, the style of the window being older I can see how many people would not understand how they function. The windows can be opened from the top or the bottom, many guests love to open the windows at night for the fresh mountain air. I have compiled a simple instruction sheet for guests to refer to while staying in the cabin.
We do offer many other amenities with our cabins that you have mentioned. Continental breakfast, daily maid service and a beautiful eleven (11) foot deep pool on the hotel property.
If you do not wish to use the kitchen in your cabin we offer continental breakfast in the lobby every morning. It is difficult to meet everyone's desires and dietary needs. Most guests prefer low fat butter substituties and low fat milk. We do provide sugar free items upon request with approppriate notice. We do offer Land of Lakes butter substitute and Yoplait yogurt. Breakfast consists of 2 cereals, milk, OJ, coffee, tea, Sara Lee blueberry or banana nut muffins, French toast, bagels, Yoplait yogurt, Dole fruit cups, fresh fruit, bananas, apples & oranges. Philly cream cheese, Smuckers surup, grape or strawberry jellies. Most of our guest do find this adequate for a continental breakfast. I have purchased a new toaster, the second toaster if fairly new but I do agree with you, that it is a very poor design. I would especially like to thank you for recognizing our housekeeping staff they do a terrific job and help us to maintain our (100%) sanitation score. You are correct about the mice being an on going problem in the mountains, however, I have increased inspections of the cabins. This is something that you should not have been subjected to. Again I would like to thank you so much, these reviews help us to learn our weak points as well as our strong ones.
Sincerely,

Debbie Drake/ General Manager
Carolina Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My title says it all...Well most of it! Seriously y'all! I am NOT a prude or expect the Ritz, but this hotel to me should be JUST for truckers! The grounds are clean and the hotel LOOKS great from the road, but the rooms are SO outdated and so cheap! We did not have to stay the two night minimum so I do not know why others were made to stay. We stayed in one of the rooms to the very right hand side. The smell of must about knocked me over when we opened the door.! The bed was horrible, and yes there was bed bugs and ants in the bed and in the room. We had to sleep with the back window open due to the smell. The carpet was so nasty I never took my shoes off and husband walked around in socks!
If you read my other reviews you will see that I am not picky at all, but do expect good accommodations for the price I am paying!! If I were you, I would fine something comparable in the area or spend alittle more. I only wrote this review to warn others! I wasn't going to write one at all. Momma always told me if you can't say anything nice......Well thought in this case I should!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BenjaminWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiedrake, General Manager at Carolina Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As manager of the Carolina Motel I am shocked by your review.

I would very much like for you to contact me personally so I can verifity your stay with us. The only conclusion that I can come to, is that you did not stay at the Carolina Motel. Perhaps, you have us confused with another property in Franklin.

1) Our sanitation score is 100% which we receive from the Macon County Department of Health. To the best of my knowledge we are the only hotel in Franklin, N.C. with this score!!!!!!

2) You have stated that you stayed in a room to the very right hand side. Our hotel is L shaped and there are only rooms to one side of our all glass enclosed lobby.

3) All of the beds in our hotel are new Sealy Posterpedic beds. Dozens of guests have called to request the make and brand name so they can purchase them.

4) We do NOT have bedbugs or ants.

5) We shampoo the carpets on a regular basis and whenever needed. These records are available for review.

6) The last time I stayed at a Ritz-Carlton property I paid over $500.00 per night, it was more luxuroius but not any cleaner than our hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Debbie Drake/ General Manager
Carolina Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Amazed at how clean the room was! Contenintal breakfast was descent,included french toast, fruit, muffins, cereal, yogurt.... One thing that struck me odd was the pool does not have stairs, just a ladder in the 4 foot and one on the 11 foot side. I'd stay here again though.... in the winter when pool doesn't matter...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeazelATLien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Carolina Motel is nice enough - certainly not luxurious, and perhaps a bit shabby in regard to furnishings, but a convenient location, plus large, clean room with cross-ventilation and front-door parking made up for much. There were helpful maps of Franklin and the surrounding area available at the front desk. A nice young man met me there initially and checked me in when I stayed here for two nights while on vacation in mid-June.

However: I had assumed that my reserved room would include the pictured refrigerator and microwave I saw on the motel's own website - however, neither amenity was to be found in the room I was first given. As I was traveling, I had food with me that needed refrigeration, so I went back to registration to inquire.

I was told by Debbie, the manager, that I had been given the room I'd requested, and that if I wanted the microwave and fridge, I should have indicated as much when I made my (telephoned) reservation.

I was also asked if I'd used the bathroom in the room I first saw - evidently I would have had to spend more than a penny had I done so!

I had to ask if I could upgrade to a room which was fully supplied (no one suggested this or offered to upgrade me) - and was told yes, but that it would cost me more. I asked if there was a discount for government employees or for seniors: there was not, for either category.

I also pointed out (as politely as I could) that their website was misleading, and that had I known that the less costly room did not include what I needed, I would have originally reserved the other room (actually, I expect I would have gone elsewhere) but Debbie (again, Debbie!) clearly didn't care for my statement and became quite defensive in response. However, she did upgrade me - for a price. To the nice, large, clean but shabby and inadequately lit room, where the small microwave sat precariously atop a small pedestal table that swayed each time I used the appliance. The wall-to-wall carpet seemed clean enough, but was worn here and there and its dark color didn't make the room any lighter.

The room would have been lighter had I opened the curtains across the large picture window, but as the motel's front porch and walkway were immediately outside, that would have exposed my room - and me - to all passers-by, an unfortunate but unavoidable architectural "bonus" of the classic 1950s motel style. Thin privacy curtains which admit light but obscure the inner view would have been nice. However, there were an unexpected nice small antique tea table and a comfortable sofa with throw cushions, which added a homelike touch.

A small clothes rack was attached be a problem, surely some plastic or lightweight metal coathangers would not be a major expense, and would be a true service to guests.

But before I got to my new room, while a nice young man was rather apologetically checking me in, Debbie received a phone call from someone she obviously knew. "Oh, hi...yeah. (pause) Yeah, really obnoxious". Now, I have no idea if she was talking about me or someone or something else, but it surely didn't make me feel any more welcome.

The next morning, I decided I was probably being overly sensitive and that surely Debbie's comment couldn't have been about me. So I gave it another try and headed out to see what the free breakfast included.

Sweet rolls, juice, coffee - bananas and apples - perhaps a few other items, but that's what I recall. I don't drink coffee, but saw no tea or milk. The sweet rolls looked a bit stale and sugary. I already had juice in my hard-won refrigerator. So I took a banana back to my room, made oatmeal in the microwave, ditto hot chocolate, and wound up with a good breakfast, mostly of my own contriving.

I had a very nice time in Franklin, a lovely little town in a spectacular setting. I had no more encounters with Debbie, and the other desk personnel seemed appropriately friendly and professional. I again made breakfast in my room on the second morning, and my check-out went smoothly and quickly - I was assisted by another young man, whom I had not met previously.

So it was a very mixed bag. Next time I'm in Franklin, a very pretty small town in a stunningly beautiful mountain setting, I think I'll opt for the known quality of a good chain facility with a clear online description of their rooms and policies, or go to a B and B.

In either case, I'd expect to be welcomed by the hosts rather than encounter defensiveness and seeming resentment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chlbn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The place was spotless!....The pool, ect was great. Had very friendly staff. Was very friendly when answering our questions about the area. Check in was very easy. Would most defiently stay here again and would recommend them to our friends.

Room Tip: Although it is an older motel....the rooms had been updated. The A/C works great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This isn't a fancy place. But it's clean, and has great rates. Excellent mex restaurant across the road.

It's an older place, well kept. The staff were pleasant, and very helpful.

Liked it so much we stayed there two nights instead of the originally planned single night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drif10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
227 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 12 in Franklin
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing