We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Find”

Scottish Tartans Musuem
Ranked #9 of 34 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ranger, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were not planning on stopping here, but went in on a lark. We learned a lot about our family heritage from Scotland. Now we need to plan a trip to Scotland. The museum was ok. The help we received in the store was what made the experience special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    14
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For The True Scotsman”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great resource for anyone with Scottish ancestors with lots of fun memorabilia of your family crest and tartan.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Not real friendly”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Not real friendly. Spent about five minutes in the shop. Was never greeted, or asked if we had any questions. Felt very out of place, too bad was hoping to learn a little about Scottish heritage in America.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you are of Scottish decent, a must see!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very clean neat museum and they are very knowledgeable. The Tartans are something to see. Best thing is the Taste of Scotland the weekend of Father's Day each year downtown Franklin

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scottish Herritage”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Scottish Tartans Museum is an interesting small museum, with lots of information about Scotland and the Scots in America. There is an exhibit of the different tartans (plaids), If you have any Scottish ancestry,you must visit this museum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenofspaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Tartans Musuem also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Scottish Tartans Musuem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing