We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican in the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa mexican restaurant

Mi Casa mexican restaurant
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mexican in the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having moved here from Texas, I am particular about what I expect. There are several choices for Mexican food in Franklin, but this one leads the pack. The lighting is a little too bright and the decor could use a little work, but the service is excellent and the food is very good. One personal favorite is the Pollo Con Crema, a chicken dish with a multi-pepper cream sauce. The Chicken Enchilada Rojas is the best in town with all white meat, (unlike one of the local competitors). My main complaint is they only have the standard re-fried beans and do not offer a choice of black beans. They also do have a spicier salsa to go with the chips if use ask for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank cullasaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    53
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is without a doubt my favorite Mexican restaurant! The food is wonderful and the help is very friendly. Plenty of food, you won't leave hungry!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Muy bueno Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our favorite Mexican restaurant in Western North Carolina. The food is consistent, flavorful and service is spot on. Price is fair and the food plentiful. The chips and salsa will keep you asking for more. We buy a pint of salsa and take it home with us, it is that good. Standard Mexican fare and a full bar. Grande Dos Equis gets you a 32 ounce frosty mug of beer with lime. Yummy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped here several times during our trip. Once for some beers and then again for dinner.

The food & prices were great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank sdotdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were hungry, in Franklin after 5:00, and on a Sunday: a recipe for disaster. Pretty much every non-fast food restaurant was closed, so we shuffled into Mi Casa. The food was really great, service was fast and friendly, though the restaurant itself seemed a bit thrown together. The decor is awful and the whole place could greatly benefit from some incandescent light. The fluorescents overhead made the place feel supremely uninviting and uncomfortable. Nonetheless, the food was unexpectedly good, with ample portions... just what we needed on a lonely Sunday night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa mexican restaurant also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mi Casa mexican restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing