We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Sheffield Mine

Sheffield Mine
Ranked #8 of 34 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sift through the dirt to find rubies or other minerals.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is the best place to find rubies and sapphires! The fellows working the line are awesome! Still looking for a "Honker"!!!
You can bring your lunch and even use their microwave. Kitchen gloves are helpful to bring with you!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    12
    10
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem Mining for Genuine Native Rubies and Sapphires”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The mine is under new ownership, and has made lots of improvements to make the mining expirence better. Yes there is no guarantee, that you will find a huge stone, if that is what you want there are plenty of "salted" mines around. The staff is very helpfull for the beginners. Expect to get wet and dirty and have fun. I have had lots of stones cut and made into jewelry. Once you have had your finds cut and polished you will be hooked.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rocks4me2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh its fun to be a kid again”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This mine has both salted and unsalted. It was like a scavenger hunt looking for that big "honker". My husband did find a 21.5 karat. We did get help
because the stones all did look the same. Fun time would recommend
this mine.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank emschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Awesome"”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Kids loved it......and so did we!
Great place to learn mining, stones, and all the work involued to make beautiful gem jewerly. We will be back!

Bev & Owen Hyla & Nehemiah

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patches1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, NC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff is rude....”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rainbow buckets are the way to go with kids. Years ago this mine had some big rubies...but now, you basically pay for a bigger bucket, which is probably stocked with rubies. The native buckets do not have much. The staff is on hand to help you identify the rocks. Two of the men that are out to help you are extremely verbally rude. I would not go back for that reason alone. There are plenty of other mines in Western North Carolina to choose from. Although this one may have some of the best native buckets, it is not worth dealing with the rude staff. I am from this area and will certainly highly NOT recommend this mine to anyone visiting. Keep searching....avoid the rude attitudes toward those of us who are just trying to have fun....while paying them our money.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank amypmail75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Mine also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sheffield Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing