We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely time”
other travelers have booked this property
view coming up to the cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view coming up to the cabin
side view of cabin - driveway view from the front door/porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
view coming up to the cabin
side view of cabin - driveway
view from the front door/porch
second view from the front door/porch
third view from the front door/porch
early morning porch view
early dawn view from the porch
covered porch wide range view
covered porch side view
cabin living room
cabin kitchen
cabin dining/living room area
master bedroom with full bath
guest bedroom with hall bath
hall bath to guest bedroom
living room looking out to the exterior views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Franklin, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
papillonl...
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lovely time”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Overall my friend and I had a great time. The owners were most cooperative and helpful, my little dog was welcome, and everything we needed was right there, including lots of chopped firewood for our nightly cozy fire. The porch and the view were all we could ask for. I have just three small concerns. 1. The hot water heater is tiny, so showers need to be brief and spaced for it to recover. 2. The drive is fairly steep as it joins a narrow, paved, uphill road. There is a "drop off" on the driveway side of that juncture that probably isn't at all dangerous, but scared the bejiggers out of me every time I drove over it. I'm not sure how it could be fixed, but it did provide daily excitement. 3. The mattresses could use upgrading. By the third night we were each feeling the effects of improper support. As I said, these are minor points. We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy, beautiful views, great excape
Liked least: see above
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol210
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Comfortable Mountain Cabin”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We wanted a mountain cabin that had a view and if this is your choice, than this ‘Slice of Heaven’ won’t disappoint. The cabin is comfortable and fully equipped as described and probably want to remember to bring a hair dryer if you need one. The communications with the Millers were very good and got great directions and map to the cabin when we told them we were coming from Knoxville airport. If you are not familiar with the mountain area, remember you are driving over mountain conditions and what looks like short distances on a flat map will actually be must longer which took us over 3 hours to get to the cabin from Knoxville. The cabin is also located about 15-20 minutes from Franklin the nearest town and should plan your activities accordingly as going up-down the mountain will not be convenient especially for any grocery shopping, but everything else you will find provided in the cabin. We did most of our shopping at the Walmart located on the south side of Franklin and a Dollar store is also located in the same plaza. Our Sprint cell and internet carrier ‘hot spot’ did not work on the mountain, but used the free Wi-Fi we found at the Public Library near Walmart.

A mid-size car will be adequate for climbing the mountain roads if you are touring the area and be prepared for a steep incline up the last leg up the mountain up the cabin with only one other house that is higher. But once you reach the cabin, you will feel like you’re half way to heaven relaxing in the rockers or swing on the porch when gazing at the fantastic view of the valley below and the Smokey mountains in the distance or watching the cows or small planes taking off from the small aircraft airport. Each morning we wake up in the clouds which didn’t burn off til around 9:00 AM. After each day’s outing we would relax and eat our dinner on the porch watching the sunset over the valley and the fireflies in the yard. Listening closely you will hear church chimes echo from the valley or the occasional rooster in the distance. The two very small tables would not be able to accommodate more than two people wanting to eat on the porch. I had brought two personal Off repellant fans and used them when we were on the porch which worked great in keeping the insects at bay.

Returning to the cabin after visiting the many beautiful waterfalls in the Franklin area makes a perfect end to the day. For a relaxing stay with a wonderful view, this is ‘Heaven.’

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Porch view with rockers and swing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEW2013
Hialeah, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain Heaven is Exactly What it is”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

For anyone that just needs a few days of peace and tranquility this is a perfect spot. The cabin is fully equipped with anything you can think of and a bunch of things you didn't think of but will be delighted to find. You can just sit on the porch and enjoy the spectacular view,or be within a short distance to many tourist attractions if you want to venture out into the area. The owners are a pleasure to deal with, you are instant friends. I hope we are able to go back soon in the fall to enjoy the change of seasons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the relative ease to access the cabin
Liked least: no issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparr FL
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canton NY
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 12, 2013
THANKS - JIM AND LOIS
WE TRULY APPRECIATE YOUR GRACIOUS COMMENTS. HOPE YOU
AND YOUR FAMILY WILL BE ABLE TO COME BACK TO OUR BEAUTIFUL SMOKEY MTNS.. ROBIN AND MICHAEL
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeLand FL
Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$85
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing