We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
The Property\'s Lower Driveway View from the Side of the Mountain towards the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
The Property\'s Lower Driveway
View from the Side of the Mountain towards the House
Living Room - Three Leather Burgundy Couches surround the 20Ft. High Rock Wood Burning Fireplace
Living Room View towards Loft Upstairs & Dining Room
Views from the Main Level Terrace
One of the Neighbors Dropping In to have a Snack
Typical Sunrise
Views from the Main Level Terrace
Hot Tub view from Main Level Terrace
Dining Room
Gourmet Kitchen, Granite Countertops, Solid Wood Cabinets, 2 Dishwashers, Stainless Steel Appliances
Kitchen Looking towards Living Room
Main Level - One of the Guest Bedrooms - Queen Size Bed
Main Level - Full Bathroom
Main Level - Second Guest Bedroom
Loft - Full Bath, Three Single Beds, Entertainment Center w/ HDTV, DVD, & Ccomponent Stereo System
View from the Loft down towards the Living Room
Master Bedroom w/ Gas Fireplace. Hot Tub Outside on this Terrace
Full Size Hot Tub on Master Bedroom Terrace
Views from the Master Bedroom Terrace
Hot Tub Looks out to Mountain Views
Master Bathroom - Full Size Tub & Shower
Lower Suite - Wood Burning Stove
Lower Suite - Bedroom
Lower Suite - Full Bathroom
Lazy Morning Sunrise; Smoky Mountain Style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Franklin, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily O
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed December 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Could not ask for a better stay. Quiet, clean and beautiful. Large well equipped house. Fireplaces, hot tub made our stay so cozy and relaxing. Will definitely be back! Already miss the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie B
1 review
“Wonderful location, spectacular view!”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This property was perfect for our family vacation! Clean, well kept, close to town, and the view from the balcony is just amazing. The owners and caretakers were very responsive and made sure our stay was enjoyable and we had everything we needed. We had a lovely stay and look forward to visiting again in the future!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrieber...
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a perfect getaway spot. Close to so many things to do, beautiful scenery, plenty of room, comfortable, great views, and kids loved the loft! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything-Location-size of house-privacy
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2wheelsor...
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Week Above the Clouds”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a group of 4 couples in the right age(grown children and grandchildren). Our group arrived 2 ways the guys rode their motorcycles and the women in a car.
This worked out well for us. We have not done this in the past but there was going to be a day or two where our group was going to split. The car came in handy as we stopped at Ingles on the way to the house to stock our food for the week. We also drove the car down on ride days and left it at the bottom of the hill so the guys didn't have to go up and down with passengers.
Our first impression of the house was amazing even though when we arrived there were some clouds and fog you could still see some of the mountains that was the case only the first night, after that the weather was good and views clear.
The deck views are amazing and we spent most of our time at the house outdoors we had most of our meals outside also.
Several nights we spent star gazing as where we live there is so much light pollution you don't realize how many stars are out there. Several of our group loaded a star gazing app on their phones which helped in identifying the constellations.
The kitchen was fully stocked with all you need to prepare your meals.
On our trip we visited the Biltmore Estate NOC for rafting and took several scenic rides to the Highlands, Cherokee, Bryson City and others.
Our last night we went to Willys barbecue great food and so friendly with great service.
The house does have many stairs because of the many levels but the upper driveway brings you to the main level of the house on this level is the kitchen living room 2 bedrooms and a bathroom and access to the main deck with dining table and the grill. This helps if you have issues with mobility or stairs. The washer and dryer and garage are one floor down but accessible from the lower driveway through the garage, This is the level where the Master bedroom is located.
Lucy was our contact while at the house and she was amazing and very helpful.
We had rented from Nestor in the Keys last year. he is always professional and helpful. We would highly recommend this house and Nestor if you find yourself in the Smokey Mountains area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical. A perfect family retreat. ”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You'd be hard pressed to find a more appealing place in the Smokies, no matter what your budget. The view is incredible; you're not just gazing at a distant vista, the Treehouse is pretty much in the middle of it. The property feels very secluded and wooded, yet with a very open view from the decks. The huge living room windows offer amazing views while you're on the couches. Great space for multiple families; two master suites each on their own floors were perfect for our two family vacation. The kids lived in the loft, even though there were bedrooms for them as well. Lucy and Allan (who maintain the property) are darling, and just a phone call away. We especially enjoyed watching the many hummingbirds who frequent the feeder on the main deck. Great amenities, awesome parking, fantastically easy to use gas grill and great kitchen. Easy drive on a paved road up the mountain. Nestor (the owner) is incredibly professional and responsive. It breaks our hearts a little to leave this place, but it was an amazing adventure for our family. We loved finding the secret waterfalls just a short hike from the house. Highly recommend the Treehouse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
steff931
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil and rejuvenating”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Above the Clouds! Although our stay was fairly short, we found the house extremely relaxing, spacious and comfortable. The views are beautiful and the hot tub was a nice addition to the cool evenings. We were very content relaxing on the balcony with the sound of rushing water in the distance. We were also surprised at how close several waterfalls were to the property, not to mention the scenic byway.

Jeff was very accommodating and has much knowledge of the area. I would highly recommend Above the Clouds for a peaceful vacation within close proximity to hiking, shopping, and scenic drives.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing