We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding visited twice while staying in Franklin”
Review of Jer's Kitchen - CLOSED

Jer's Kitchen
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding visited twice while staying in Franklin”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A great find while visiting the Whistle Stop. In fact went back twice for lunch. Soups great and vary with day. Cheese and pimento sandwich like my mom used to make. Will definitely return. Be prepared to spend some time browsing the Whistle Stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, N.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Franklin's Little Treasure”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tucked in the corner of Whistle Stop is one of my favorite places to eat. Jer comes up with THE MOST DELICIOUS meals. Last week I stopped in for lunch and her special was onion encrusted Salmon. I loved it so much, I ordered another one for my husband and my dinner that night. The portions are large, prices are very reasonable and every one who works there is so nice. And, she makes the best bread budding in the world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelfool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generous portions, great bread pudding”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The restaurant's portions were very generous which warranted myself to take half of my lamb burger home, so my friends and I could split bread pudding which was exceptional. I'll return for either the lamb or any other sandwich with the torta bread.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll will return”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had the cold plate and chose chicken salad, potato salad and citrus coleslaw. Next time I go I'll try the egg salad, pasta salad and the citrus coleslaw because the coleslaw is AWESOME!!! Best I have ever had anywhere! Husband had sandwich with roast beef, ham, swiss cheese, romaine (held the tomatoes as he doesn't like them) on nice whole wheat bread. The food was good. The only thing I didn't like was the taste of my glass of water. I thought it tasted like chlorine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaBay
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh and wonderful!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've been here twice and each time was exceptional. This hidden gem is found inside the Whistle Stop Mall across from the fairgrounds on 441 south of town. We passed it by time and again until we found out the chef, Jerri Fifer, is well known in the area for fine cuisine even though her current enterprise is a simple lunch and take out spot. If you go don't order something you think is safe. There is a half sandwich and cup of soup special on most days. But I discovered the fresh, light taste of tabouli, the richness of cornbread salad, really good potato salad, homemade hummus, to die for bread pudding with rum sauce and homemade soups. I've not met Jerri yet and I am just a summer person who lucked into something good. Try it and see what you think.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pittipats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jer's Kitchen also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing