We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too weird. Stay away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rivendell Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivendell Cabins
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Too weird. Stay away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed in the apartment downstairs from the owner's house. It was smelly from mold and mildew, spidery and dirty with dog hair all over the bedroom. We lit a fire the first night off the front porch, but we had to sit too far away from it to feel any heat. Also, the yard is bizarre with picket fences around tree saplings, various gnome and fairy ornaments and random objects such as an old football half-buried in the yard. Two agressive mutts in the vicinity bark all night to neighboring dogs. In short, the place gave me the creeps. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place. It is fully worth springing for something in town or a newly-constructed cabin.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stp0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivendell9a2, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
My apologies for your problem staying at the duplex. I regret you didn't feel comfortable addressing the issues with me at the time; there might have been an explanation or a refund.
The white fencing is our design to prevent the yard man from destroying our new tender plants and the 2 gnomes are an invitation to the wee folk who live in the forest.
Sometimes us mountain folk are weird!
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Rivendell has 3 cabins perched on a mountain just outside of town. I stayed in the Cedars which is a 2 bedroom cabin. This cabin was extremely clean. The front porch gives you a beautiful relaxing view of the sunset over the mountains. Has a kitchen with fridge, stove, toaster, microwave, coffeepot plus silverware, towels, papertowels, pots, soap and windex. Bathroom has a stall shower and washer and drier. There are extra towels and soap in cabinets. Cabin very well stocked from mustard to hand cream. The TV does get some premium stations. Living room is spacious and comfortable. The road to the cabins is not for the faint of heart. It is a one lane dirt and gravel bumpy curvy road. Once you get to your cabin you have to turn around to get out and believe me it is a tight turn space. It took me a couple of back and forths in a Tracker, a larger car will find it really tight. I was most comfortable being in 4 wheel drive going up and down. Was it worth it. YES. Would I go back? In a heartbeat. There are some semi wild cats that hang out of the porch please feed them if you go. >^..^<

Helpful?
4 Thank catwoman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Carolina Motel
Carolina Motel
#2 of 12 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Cabins

Property: Rivendell Cabins
Address: 536 Henderson Road, Franklin, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell Cabins are located in Franklin, North Carolina, in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. These vacation rentals are located only 4 miles from the Town of Franklin offering secluded, private cabins, not located in a cluster of other cabins. Each of the Rivendell Vacation Cabins is fully furnished with everything to make you feel at home in the North Carolina Mountains. Each vacation rental includes: full kitchen and laundry, paper and soap products, bedding and towels, hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite TV with all channels, central heat and a/c, private phone lines, VCR/DVD and movies, stereo, and so much more. You only need bring your clothes, personal items and foods. We have made every effort to provide an allergy free, convenient and relaxing environment for your vacation. The Rivendell Cabin is handicap accessible. We welcome children and pets. Whenever you visit there is a natural show of wonder that inspires your heart to lift. From the cabins there are views of mountain ranges and beyond, in season, a show of wildflowers, blackberries, elderberries, ginseng, persimmon and the like in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Rivendell Cabins now accept credit cards for your convenience. Contact us today and schedule your vacation in the mountains of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing