We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, great service”
Review of The Sunset

The Sunset
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Franklin
Price range: $2 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great service”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband usually says, "If you want to eat good food, go where the locals go". It appears to be true in this case. The restaurant is a local favorite; place was full and hopping. It has a folksy atmosphere; folksy in the good sense of the word, where it's informal, a good place to meet up with your friends, and you get great home cooked meals.

Please note that this is not the place to go if you want to watch your calories. I had the Flavor Crisp chicken and it lived up to its name. It was flavorful and tasty and I recommend it. The homemade pies (we had strawberry and peach) were fantastic! We also received great service from the efficient servers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorylou5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is a very pleasant experience to eat here. This is where all the locals go to eat and you can see why, good home cooked food at a very reasonable price. The desserts are some of the best pies I have ever tasted and if you are in a rush they have car service. If you are in Franklin you really need to stop and eat here to experience yourself. Stay away from the highway places and enjoy real southern cooking (not greasy either).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmmillburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw,OK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a joy to eat here”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Many (over 40) years of eating here, always a good portion of home cooking, daily specials, pies to die for, may have to wait but worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank onebzemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Eating at The Sunset is like eating in Mayberry. Friendly service, lots of locals, good southern food, and low prices. We have eaten both lunch and supper there and every time it has been full. There are daily specials such as meatloaf, mountain trout, soup and salad, etc. My husband always gets the cheeseburger and claims they are the best! I have tried the peach icebox pie which is delicious served with whipped cream. My husband loves their coconut cream pie. They are also open for breakfast, but we have not tried that meal. My favorite special is their turkey and cornbread dressing which tastes just like the dressing my grandma used to make. Be sure to visit on Tuesday or Friday if you would like that special. Also, be sure to bring cash since credit or debit cards are not accepted. If you visit The Sunset once, you will surely return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLLovestoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home cooked goodness!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed eating the lunch special so much that we came back for more. The fresh veggies were yummy, the meat loaf was excellent , and the turkey was good. We shared desserts and voted the strawberry pie the best, although the coconut cream wasn't too bad! Take your kids and enjoy a home cooked meal :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajollytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunset also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing