We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big surprise in little Forest City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Forest City
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I periodically visit Forest City with my partner in order to spend time with his family. In the past we had stayed at the Comfort Inn (fair) and the Jameson Inn (good but not exceptional). Last week when I tried to make a reservation at the Jameson, it was fully booked (when did Forest City become such a tourist destination??!!), and a search on TripAdvisor.com revealed the Holiday Inn Express. I cannot tell you how surprised we were to find such a nice hotel--and such a nice Holiday Inn Express--in Forest City of all places. The hotel is only about a year old, and rooms are huge with very high ceilings. Furnishings are very attractive, there was a nice large-screen TV, and our room had a microwave, small refrigerator, and coffeemaker. For $82, this is an extraordinary value, and this will be our hotel of choice when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Novotna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2007

Best place to stay in area. New and clean. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Have stayed there twice and will stay there again. Good price also. Very close to many fast food and other good rest. Can not say anything bad about the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank damrph2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

You are in Forest City - don't expect much. There is a Jameson Inn there (not great) and a Best Western (really yucky) - these are what you might expect to find in the middle of nowhere. However, this Holiday Inn is actually quite nice. It's clean, bright and new. I assure you I've spent far too much time in that town and there is no better hotel for 50 miles.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Not many people will venture to Forest City or Spindale, NC, but this is by far the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever been to so I had to write about it. The hotel is less than a year old and everything works well. The rooms were unusually large and surprised me with 9 foot ceilings and two very comfortable beds with German-style fedder-betten comforters. Rooms included a small fridge and a micro-wave. The bathrooms were fairly large, very clean and decked out in faux-marble. The breakfast (which was included) was exceptional with many choices of muffins, bagels, cereals, oatmeal, etc. plus orange juice, coffee, tea, milk, etc. This is not a full service hotel but it certainly had some full service amenities, including a computer room and conference room. The staff was very courteous and helpful. My rate of $70 was not budget priced, but my stay was very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable so definitely worth it. I would not have expected this level of comfort and luxury from a Holiday Inn Express. Very nice, indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clan4irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

This hotel was the only place in town that I would ever consider staying. All of the other hotels in town are very old and they all have the doors on the outside which doesn't make me feel safe. In fact, this holiday inn express is brand new and very nice. surprisingly the room was only a few bucks more here than other places in town and that was well worth it. Clean rooms, friendly staff, very nice beds...I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yeahright30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest City
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
18.5 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
235 reviews
19.8 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
582 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Forest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Forest City

Address: 200 Holiday Inn Dr, Forest City, NC 28043-9100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Forest City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Forest City
Price Range: $110 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Forest City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Forest City hotel features 63 guest rooms and suites. Other amenities include high-speed Internet access, a business center, a fitness room, free local phone calls and Express Start hot breakfast bar complimentary for all guests. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of hot items, including: sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, and omelets. Visit Forest City, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are located 6 miles from Tanner Company and 25 miles from Lake Lure. Supplementary Directions: From 74 Bypass take exit 181 (US 74 Alt), hotel is 2 miles on left, behind Sonic Drive-In. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Forest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Forest City Hotel Forest City
Holiday Inn Forest City
Forest City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing