We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay Near AT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay Near AT!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We met our son at the Fontana Village Resort for 24 hours 2 weeks into his AT Hike. What an awesome visit with our son and a great stay at the Lodge. Great property. Very clean and comfortable. Now that my wife and I have discovered this property, we will likely return. Enjoyed dinner at the lodge restaurant - thought it was very good and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We love our AT Hikers that come and stay with us! It’s nice that you were able to visit with your son while he was on this section of his journey. The hikers are always so thankful for a hot meal, shower and warm place to sleep! We are delighted that you enjoyed the property as well!

We get a lot of hikers this time of year and we love to hear stories such as this one. We hope you will come back and visit with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    164
    91
    40
    25
See reviews for
156
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have stayed at Fontana Village 4 times and have had every type of accommodation. I like that they have different levels of accommodations for different budgets.

The property is expansive with many streams crossing the property that the kids LOVE to play in. There is a "bass" pond, that we have never caught anything in, and waterfall up a trail 20 minutes.

The main hotel has a beautiful lobby and several hundred rooms for rent. BUT! That is NOT where you want to stay. My best stay consisted of a 2bd/2ba cottage that was nicely outfitted. The kitchen and living room were beautiful and there was two porches. There is a dishwater too!

There are also smaller trailers and larger cabins available.

The only problems I have with Fontana Village is how remote it is. There is usually no cell service, but a few areas now have wifi. The closest town is 30-45 minutes away which is a bit of a hike. The food in the main restaurant is good, but expensive. In the grill you are stuck with pizza/chicken tenders/ sandwiches/etc... Definitely hit the grocery store before coming up. Bars on property are excellent.

I love visiting here each summer and would recommend it to anyone wanting to unplug for a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you are part of our “family” who visits us year after year. It’s so nice to have such loyal guests!

It sounds like you have spent the time and utilized many of our amenities and services! The onsite trails are a wonderful way to bond with the children while enjoying nature at its best and the trout pond is a lot fun. You should try the Marina out the next trip up – children are almost sure to catch a fish! (Especially if you let our staff down there know how excited they are to hook one)…

Wi-Fi and cell service are two issues that we have made progress on, but still have some more to go. But like you said – it’s also nice to get away and “unplug” for a while!

We can’t wait to see you back soon”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another visit in Fontana for Thanksgiving. Everyone here is great, from Tim in reservations to Joey and his staff in the restaurant to PJ in the social/activities! Lodge rooms are great, rustic but very clean, nice, and comfortable. So relaxing in this remote location of the resort. I just wish there were more options to eat, especially for dinner and quite bites to eat that does not require to eat a full sitdown formal/fancy dinner each and every night in the off season. This visit we had some snow, which was very nice and very pretty scenery. Would be nice to have some snow activities in the winter time, a tubing/sledding hill would be tons of fun and would definitely have my family and I returning during the winter months! Anyway, anyone of the fence about visiting, do not hesitate! Ignore any negative reviews. This is a very remote resort with virtually no cell service, but who cares, an excellent resort for families and couples!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! The remoteness of our area is not for everyone, but for folks like you and your family it sure is! We love that we can offer families that quality time together that you can’t get just anywhere. Your opinion of us is much valued!

We appreciate our guest’s feedback and use it in our meetings to see what we are doing right and wrong. So thank you for sharing your visit and experience with us!

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here for Thanksgiving week. Was looking forward to a room with a fireplace, but come to find out that none of the rooms with a fireplace have a small fridge and microwave. The latter was very surprising since this resort is so located in such a remote area, with limited dining facilities available (especially in winter). We ended up getting a one bedroom single-wide trailer, which had a full kitchen, but no fireplace. We did look at a 2-bedroom cabin, but the layout was crappy, and the price was much higher ($40-50 night), and the fireplace was out in a small living room; we wanted it to be in the bedroom.

As many others have noted, the only place you can get internet and/or phone service is in the lodge lobby...and the internet service there is SLOW too. The TV reception in our trailer was so poor, I got maintenance to come out and look at it because I thought something was wrong. Turns out that's just the way it is, as the maintenance guy told me that the farther you are from the main lodge, the worse your TV reception will be! What year is it!? LOL I was brought back to my days in the early 70s when we lived in western NY, and we used to try and adjust our roof-top TV antenna to pull in stations from Canada (Hamilton & Toronto)....they came in barely visible & blurry, just like in our trailer!

One of the main reasons we went here for Thanksgiving was that they had a bunch of activities scheduled for Wed. - Sat. One that we were really looking forward to was a marshmallow roast in a huge fire pit on Wed. night, but they cancelled it because it was too cold!!! In my mind, the only thing that should have cancelled that fire was rain, a blizzard, or very high winds....there was neither present that night, just coldness (about 25-30 degrees). In other words, IT WAS A PERFECT NIGHT FOR A PIT FIRE!

OK, so another reason for going here was the Thanksgiving buffet. It was good, but with two major flaws. The main courses were turkey, roast beef, ham, and trout cakes. The turkey and ham were awesome, while the roast beef was horrible (tough and dry), and the trout cakes were just average. That was one flaw, the other was the desserts. I think they made them all on Wed., then put them in the fridge until they were served on Thurs. The small mini-pies were crusty and NOT fresh, not at all. The cakes were OK, but also seemed about a day old. The salad & rolls were very good, as were all the side dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We apologize that your experience was less than you had hoped for. The remoteness of our area and the weather sometimes limits internet and TV services. While a lot of folks enjoy the down time, not everyone does. These are issues that we are currently working to improve on.

We definitely appreciate your observations of what you experienced and please know they will be used in our planning meetings. Our goal is to better ourselves as we continue to grow, your feedback will be a very vital part of that.

We hope you will come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I visited as a last minute thought. The decision was great. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the off-season. The lake tour should be a definite. We had a great tiem and plan on coming back in the Spring to enjoy more of the amenities and places to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and had such an amazing time. Our off-season is a great time to get away and unwind. There aren’t as many distractions this time of year, which makes it the perfect “quality time”.
The lake tour is a great way to see and enjoy the area.

We sure hope to see you back in the spring so you can see all that we have to offer. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently stayed in a lodge fire place room on this property. The area is beautiful and perhaps during the "season" there is much more to this place, but I was not impressed with the room or dining facility at all. We asked for a fire place room, then had to ask for fire wood. The first bundle is on them, then you pay $3.00 for each additional bundle. They will deliver or you can buy it at the general store. There is no fridge or coffee maker, yet there was plenty of room for both. There was ONE hanger! The bathroom was EXTREMELY small. The shower and toilet are in the closet together. You have to step in to the shower to shut the door to the small room. The sink is outside of the bathroom. The bed was not very comfortable, but the pillows were nice and plenty of them. There was a blanket on the shelf where the hanger was located. I was afraid to use it. It felt like rubber. The rooms have very thin walls. You could hear your neighbors upstairs and next door.

We may try to stay here in a cabin next time. As mentioned before the area is beautiful, but the Fontana Village needs some TLC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. While we are happy you enjoyed the area, we are sorry that your stay with us wasn't as you hoped. Your observations and suggestions are very important to us as we grow. Your comments are much appreciated and will help us to improve. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in the Fontana area at Fontana Village Resort. We rented a cabin, to arrive and find it was nothing more than a little half single wide trailer. We immediately returned to check in and was given a spacious, beautiful room in the lodge. Even though the room was clean and beautiful, the resort is going to have to update their look or it is in danger of becoming second rate.
Wifi access is nearly non-existent. Cell phone access IS non-existent, so be prepared to have a quiet, relaxing time when you visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliecothren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize if your visit was anything less than what you expected it to be. Please know that we take your feedback very serious and use it to better our property.

WiFi and Cell service are two very important issues for us, and they are both projects we are working on. We hope to have you back again to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing