We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose this place due to a Groupon that was offered. I had been wanting to visit the area, so this was a good deal. I will start with the positives: we stayed in a King Room, and the rooms are very large, both In length and width. We had a nice balcony, and it was clean; the lobby is beautiful, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Now the negatives: the room smelled musty, and I could have sworn that the carpet felt damp ( we figured that this was due to the elevation/clouds); the hallway in the lodge was not very well lit; we used the stairwell a couple of times coming in from the outdoors, and it made me think of a parking garage stairwell; the only restaurant available on the property was the one in the lodge, which was also the most expensive one ( the only other thing available within a 45 minute drive was the Deals Gap Grill about 10 minutes away, which is basically a biker joint, but clean and friendly, and the food was a good value and good); activities cost extra, and the equipment was very old and in bad shape; the railing on the balconies in the lodge rooms will NOT keep a small child from falling out ( we did not have one with us, but I wanted to point that out. It really should be addressed, and I'm really surprised that it meets code). If you have a family with kids that are under the age of about 15, and you want a place that you can just go to and not leave for a week, then this could be the place for you. Rent one of the cabins. Just make sure you stop at a grocery store on the way in, because it is a LONG way to town on VERY curvy roads. And bring your own sporting equipment. There is NO cell phone or internet connection there except in the lobby. You are definitely out there in the boonies! But you do have everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjslhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable time while visiting us and we apologize if you felt things were not what you expected them to be. Thank you again for visiting us, and please know we will address these issues internally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    162
    91
    39
    25
See reviews for
156
164
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This campground is uniquely located at the base of a dam. The lights at the top of the dam are beautiful at night. The sites are fairly level. Each site has a fire ring and picnic table. There is a bath house with 1 shower in each men's and women's restroom. Good hot water. Unfortunately, they are not overly clean! Make sure to wear shower shoes/flip flops. BEWARE, the only routes into the campground and resort are VERY twisty!!! Not for the faint of heart! the easiest way to get to it would be Hwy 19 to Hwy 28. Still several tight twisty turns. Try not to take Hwy 129 (aka The Dragon's Tail). They resort itself is quite large and nice and has a fairly well stocked General Store. It is about 2 miles from the campground! NOTICE: The store closes by 8pm. The closest gas station closes by 6pm. The closes grocery store is about 25 twisty miles away. The campground was very relaxing with lots of stars at night, very dark, no lights except for the bathhouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Campground! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the lights at the Dam! All of the lights were turned back on this year for the first time in about 20 years! It’s so beautiful down there and it sounds like you had a relaxing time. Thank you for your observation of the restrooms and nearby facilities. The feedback will be shared with our team!

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gradens
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our second trip up there for a family reunion( 24 members) and I can’t say enough good things about the place. we all rented cabins which were furnished pretty well, the staff tried to keep us close. The reason we were up there was to be with our family so things like cell service and internet( which was at the hotel) wasn’t important to us. Great location, plenty to do and see close by, great marina. We saw an unbelievable fireworks show and live music on Saturday night. Game room for kids, two pools , general store, gas station, spots bar. Nothing like it anywhere in NC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD2PalmBeachGradens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We love hearing that you are so fond of the Resort and the amenities we offer! It’s our loyal guests like you that make this place what it is! We do have certain technology limits due to our location, but like you said, that’s not the reason you were here! So happy to have had you back again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed five days and it was wonderful. There were ten of us. Some stayed at the lodge and we stayed at a cabin. The scenery is breathtaking everywhere you go in the area. The activities are fun and swimming pools are great. Both restaurants were good, one a little expensive, but food was heaven. The other was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pittsburghharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave our Resort a nice review! The scenery here is most definitely breathtaking! There are some of the best views you will find anywhere! It’s nice to hear that you had fun with our recreation activities! We hope to have you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family stayed here for 3 nights before the kids went back to middle school. This was our first visit to Fontana Village. We had a room in the lodge overlooking the pool. The check-in process was efficient and friendly; and our room was close enough to lobby so that we could use the common-area wifi. The mountain views from our room, the restaurant, and the lobby were wonderful. The restaurant staff were very friendly and professional. The resort was conveniently located near the Nantahala River, and whitewater rafting. The amenities (General Store, Lazy River pool, game room, corner gas station and ice cream parlor) were convenient. Overall, our visit went well. However, there were a few things that could stand improvement. The miniature golf course was in poor condition, and cost $5.00/person to play in addition to the room rate. The tennis courts were also in bad shape. The outside amenities all showed a lot of deferred maintenance. The room was small with an old, noisy air conditioner. The bathroom and sink were small and dated. Our room was not cleaned one day of our stay. The walls are apparently thin between the rooms as we could easily hear our neighbor's 11PM conversations. Limited, pricey dinner menu at the lodge restaurant, and the wine list was short and they ran out of several of the selections. My husband's filet of beef was ordered medium rare, and came out well done. If you're looking for a family resort on a budget, and don't mind a place that perhaps has seen better days, you will enjoy your stay at Fontana Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaDuck2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are always looking to our guests for ways we can grow. We are happy that you enjoyed the wonderful scenery in our area. We apologize if your experience onsite was anything less than amazing.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. We value all guest feedback both positive and constructive so we can continually strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,SC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family stayed here for a weekend. Our room was in the lobby. It was fine. While the tile in the bathroom could be updated and was pretty small, it was clean. We had to go to the lobby to get coffee but that was ok. The lobby was very nice and I am sure it gets very crowded during a cold winter day. We ate the grill for lunch. It was very good. I had the salad bar which was very fresh. You could only have 1 trip though, I did not agree with this. The restuarant in the lobby was a little pricey but very good. I had the salmon and risotto which was delish. They also had a few items on the kids menu. We just dressed casual as did everyone else. The sunset cruise was very nice on Lake Fontana. This place is in the middle of nowhere so plan to stay or bring everything you need ahead of time. They did have an ice cream shop which was good and a general store with some items you may have forgotten. The campus is beautiful and secluded. they do have cabins you can rent. The disc golf and putt was fun. BTY..we saw a mama black bear and her 3 cubs. It was really cool to see them right outside our car. But beware if you are walking around and do not feed them! LOL

Room Tip: The rooms right outside the pool area looked very inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmTreesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It sounds like you experienced most of our amenities! Putt Putt is always a must for the entire family and The Sunset Cruise is the perfect way to end the long summer days. We are excited that you got to see our Mama Bear and her Babies….she has been hanging around lately and makes for some great photos (distantly of course)!

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son and I checked into this resort hotel for 3 nights as one of 9 other Corvette club "couples" from Ft. Worth TX on Sunday, August 11th. I was VERY impressed. The mountain roads used to get there were absolutely stunning. This is one of the 2 nicest resorts that I've been to. The grounds and facilities are top notch. My room was excellent, with a door leading out to a 1st floor balcony. The ONLY thing missing was a small refrigerator in the room. The ice machine broke after our arrival, but the onsite restaurant kept a large ice chest full nearby. The weather was rainy and in the 60's and 70's, which I really enjoyed, since Texas is very hot and dry that time of the year. The food was above average and the prices were not too high. The bartender broke the blender trying to keep up with my frozen Pina Colada orders! This was a very enjoyable visit. I can't wait to go back with my wife and enjoy the many activities available. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge are on the 1st floor. There are also cabins and poolside rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wet weather…we sure have had enough to spare this year! The views here are among the best you will ever see….It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having your wife visit us the next time!

We can't wait to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing