We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A great place to get away”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my family went to stay at Fontana for the week. We had a great time the cabin we stayed in was very nice. It had plenty of room for our family of four. We ate at the grill and the Mountview Restaurant. The food was delicious and the waitress, Bethany, was excellent. We went to the pool one day and it was refreshing and the kids loved it. I had a good time talking to Cody at the pool bar. One of the main reasons we came to the village was to visit the Marina. It exceeded expectations. We rented a pontoon for a couple of days and had the best time taking the kids tubing. The lake was so beautiful and the boat was the best thing about the trip. The crew at the Marina were so nice and helpful, Ronnie, Danny, Colton, and Robert were really knowledgeable and helped immensely. One other thing I recommend is taking the sunset cruise with Captain Ken. He is an excellent tour guide and know alot about the area and the history of area. It was great trip and I would definitely recommend visiting and I will be coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nctraveller792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We love to hear about our guests experiences while they are visiting with us. We do have a great staff on board and are glad to hear they made your trip memorable! The lake is the PERFECT spot to relax and unwind, and it's wonderful that it exceeded your expectations.... The history of the area is so fascinating, and we are delighted that you enjoyed hearing about it!

We can't wait to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    170
    93
    41
    26
See reviews for
160
174
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed a night here and was pleasantly surprised. Overall it was a nice place. The room showed some wear & tear but no complaints. A few stains on the carpet. I wouldn't say it was spotless but it was clean and the bed was comfy. Bathroom is pretty small. No fridge or coffee maker in the room. Free wi-fi in the lobby area and at the restaurants worked well but didn't work in my room (252). Verizon cell coverage is pretty bad in the area. Lots of stuff to do at the resort. Lodge pool was busy but I still found some chairs. Bring a towel as there isn't any at the pool that I saw. The resort's website has tons of info about the place if the other reviews here didn't cover something. My room only had one open outlet in addition to the one at the bathroom sink and none near the bed. Suggest bringing an extension cord and power strip if you're a techie like me for charging your stuff. The history and location make it a neat place. I'd stay again if I'm in the area. Check in & out was quick and the desk staff were friendly. Neat lobby too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluehuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and suggestions. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself while visiting with us! The history in this area is really exciting, so we enjoy hearing our guest’s response to it.

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom cabin and were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort. Only negative thing was that the cable tv was not working while we were there. It was repaired the day we left. We just found other things to do--lazy river, putt-putt, game room, cooking out, eating ice cream at the village store. There is plenty to do. Our family of 7 had a really good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyDaisy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the different activities that we have available on the property. We apologize about the tv not working, but are happy that you found other things to keep you busy!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent 2 days at Fontana Village Resort. Ugh..... Cabin was overall clean, but it was a prefab mobile home. Bed was awful and old. Air conditioning- ever time it turned on it sounded like a freight train was coming through the cabin. The cabin had a coffee pot, however no filters or coffee to make. The lodge had complimentary coffee, so every morning took our coffee pot and filled it up at the lodge. There was no cell phone service in the area and the cabin had no phone. Good thing we did not have an emergency. We had rain while we were there and in front of the step was a mud puddle. Could not get into the cabin without going trough the mud. No Wi-Fi except in the lodge. Now onto a positive note: The Grill restaurant was very good. Wait staff was very pleasant and food was fast and good. Never went to the pool, but we looked at them and they seemed nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please know that it has been passed along to the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for a family reunion in July 2013. We stayed in a three bedroom "cabin." This worked well with two kids, my husband and I and my parents. The place was mostly clean, but the cabin is more like a prefab trailer. The walls are thin and doors are cheap. The beds were awful and small. The sheets had stains on them, but were freshly laundered. The walls were damaged and in need of a fresh coat of paint. There is little to no decor and the couches were disgustingly filthy. The lighting in the bathrooms and the bedrooms, was awful. I had to put my makeup on and hope for the best.... hope I did not scare anyone....The towels were stained as well and sometimes very frayed or shredded on the edges. The kitchen was pretty clean and the stove and fridge worked fine. Not alot of pans and pots though... We did have a serious ant problem and there were mouse traps under the sink. Why? Well our resident mouse made an appearance on the bedroom floor on the first night. I could handle that, because we are after all, in the woods and critters will come and go. What I did not like, was although the inside of the cabin was newly cleaned, the outside was trashy. When we checked in, a beer bottle and some empty cigarette packs were littered all over the grass. There they stayed for the duration. We were going to pick them up, but decided to wait to see how long it would take the staff to realize that they needed to clean it up... it never happened.
Also, the website said that there were stables on site. Not true. They had closed the stables possibly more than a year ago. So when we wanted to go horseback riding, the front desk gave us contact numbers for two places. One place was highly recommend however it was over an hour away. So we picked the place that was half hour away. Well, we pulled in and let me tell you, it was like Deliverance country. It was literally some family's backyard with backyard horses and the place was in major disrepair. Now, I have horses, and I know that if the outside of a place looks this bad, you probably don't want to be using their saddles and bridles. If they took as good care of their equipment as their land, house, barn and fences, then it is not safe to get on a strange horse here. The horses may have been well behaved, (and I will never know because we thanked them politely and ran away as fast as we could....) but if your tack breaks while you are riding a strange horse in a strange place, injury is a very real possibilty. This place also did not look like they had insurance to cover any kind of incident.
Anyways, on to the positives.... The staff at the lodge were very friendly and helpful. The two restaurants were delightful. The Mountainview restaurant in the lodge was out of this world. Expensive, but worth every penny. The lodge itself is pretty neat, and we spent alot of time there, because it is the only place you can get cell service on the property. Some cell phones did not even work there but mine did so I lucked out. Also there are no phones in the cabins, so we could not communicate with other members of our reunion (there were 50 of us in all) and it made it hard to set up joint outings. Also for emergencies, this is not good practice. We had an emergency early one morning, and could not call an ambulance, so we ended up transporting by private vehicle to the ER.
Anyways, more positives: the scenery is breathtaking, the dam was really neat and the history surrounding the construction and the history of the village itself is really cool. The hiking trails were amazing. The fishing was good and the lake was beautiful. The swimming pools were nice, if a bit small. The lazy river part of the pool was quite small, but the kids really enjoyed it.
There is a neat little general store with an old fashioned ice cream/ soda fountain type store inside. The porch area was really nice to eat ice cream on.
The best part of the trip for me, besides hanging out with family and hiking, was that I had a massage from the resident massage therapist, Phillip Karr. If you visit and you like massages, you need to get one from him!!! He was amazing and VERY VERY reasonably priced. I was so impressed. The only issue was that I called and tried to set up an appointment, but since there is no phone in the cabin, and no cell service, I wasn't sure how he would be able to return my call! We worked it out though, we just kept stopping at the front desk to use the general phone till we could reach him.
Overall, I would say our vacation here was positive, but it is such a shame that they don't put more effort into the cleaning and decorating and maintenance of the accomodations. I probably would stay here again, but I would bring my own sheets and towels, hangers, cooking utensils and pots and pans. I'm not sure what to do about the bed situation though... they were not comfortable at all....

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cabins....maybe the lodge is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. Please know that it has been passed along to the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Fontana four times in the last fifteen years for my husband's family reunion. The new owners have made many improvements in the last ten years. The staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. We did have to change rooms after check in due to the tub not draining well, but had no problems with our new room. The Lodge is an older property (1975-ish) . The rooms are very clean and ours had new beds, linens, and bathroom fixtures. Due to the mountain location, the TV reception is not always great, but you don't come to Fontana to sit in your room. There is no cell service in Fontana, so make sure you leave the Lodge number with a neighbor back home in case of emergency. The lodge rooms are very economical for a short trip, but if you are staying longer the cabins would be a better option so you would have a refrigerator for food. No matter where you stay, you will enjoy the beautiful scenery!

The facilities at Fontana are very nice. There are two pools, one of which has a small lazy river. There is a nice disc golf course, fire pits, and other outdoor activities. The lake is amazing! Renting a pontoon boat is worth the money for a day on the lake. There are great hiking trails, including the AT. We have two kids, six and eight, and they enjoyed some short hikes, canoeing on the river, and taking the pontoon boat for the day. Tim at the front desk was very helpful in directing us to some places in the area that our kids would enjoy. This was our best trip to Fontana so far and we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are a long way from the pools, etc. They rent golf carts, but if you have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are happy that you have been visiting us for so long, and that you have noticed the improvements that have been made.

We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Fun fun fun! We had the opportunity to stay here for one night recently and enjoyed it. Nice get away location tucked away in the mountains. Enjoyed the pools and ice cream shop! A peaceful place with many kind people providing good service. The lodge has a nice restaurant with a view that is simply refreshing. Only down side was we went there to do some biking and the trail we rode was not fully maintained. Not sure if they are maintained by the hotel or someone else but some work was definitely needed in some areas out there. Room was spacious although bath could be a little bigger. Other than that, it was a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Unfortunately all the rain has really done some damage to the trails in our area. Hopefully they will get cleaned back up fairly soon if the weather cooperates!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
655 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
90 reviews
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#5 of 22 in Bryson City
209 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing