We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
ten mile, tn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While there is no danger of getting a Michelin star this resort is never the less a very good location for a family vacation. We rented a Willow one bedroom cabin which started life as a modular (i.e. mobile home) unit with a faux log cabin skin. The cabin was located in a park like setting with reasonable spacing between units. The area was beautiful and peacefully save for the occasional passing mechanized army brigade (it might have been a pack of motorcycles, it’s hard to tell the difference).

The resort has several playgrounds and two pools (one general, one at the lodge). The kitchen was adequately equipped for cooking in the cabin but we also ate out at the grill (lunch and dinner, hamburgers and such) and the restaurant in the lodge. Our food in the restaurant was very good (and priced accordingly but not overpriced) with excellent service at both places.
While we did not stay in the lodge a tip for parents with children that will spend most of their time in the pool- You can get rooms that open up on the pool courtyard where it is very easy to keep an eye on your kids but have easy access to the room.

Free review of the marina- We were staying the area to go boating on beautiful Fontana Lake. The nearby marina was a modern, clean facility (in stark contrast to some of the other marinas on the lake). We were able to dock our boat there which made it very easy to take the boat out for the day without having to launch and retrieve. If you plan to dock your boat you may want to call ahead and reserve a space as they don’t have that many transient slips. If you did not think to bring your boat you can still get out on the lake on “Miss Hazel” (a large pontoon boat). You can go out for a tour or have them take you up Hazel creek where you can get out and hike for the day in the GSMNP.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiefneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a nice detailed review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your nice comments about the Marina! The lake is great this time of year!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    162
    90
    39
    25
See reviews for
156
164
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for the 4th and while the weather did not cooperate with all the outside activities that the Resort had planned, they were able to improvise and move the fireworks display from Thursday to Saturday and Saturday ended up being a perfect night for it! From Katidy in the Wildwoods Grill to my favorite bartender, Zelerie, the people at Fontana Village are so friendly and work hard to make your stay as relaxing as can be!! Another awesome aspect is the opportunity to meet people from all over which we did! We have nothing but high praises for this destination and are trying to plan to go again next year and stay longer. Looking forward to it already! Maria and John Harvey

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday weekend in spite of the weather! We hope you can make time to stay with us longer next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the same Willow cabin on the same dates twice in the past two years, and enjoyed both stays. The accomodations aren't plush, but are comfortable and have a great old timey resort feel. The village has an interesting history as a camp during the building of nearby Fontana Dam, and some of that history is still evident in the large restaurant/recreation building particularly. We enjoy the resort for its proximity to world-class hiking, as it's near one of the most remote areas of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park as well as other national forests.

The Willow cabins are small modular homes/trailers, with comfy front porches with rockers to sit in and absorb the view. We make good use of the cabin's kitchen and fridge while we're there. There's not much in the way of TV reception or internet, but that's not what we go for. The resort offers sufficient amenities (restaurants, groceries, pool, putt putt golf, boating) to provide all you need for an enjoyable time in this beautiful area. The food in the restaurants is really quite good, and there's a bar where the guests can mingle. Meeting the Appalachian Trail through-hikers who are taking trail breaks is always interesting.

One word of warning, though -- if you stay in the cabins, you need to bring your own shampoo. They provide soap, but not shampoo for some reason. Given the room rate, this was an annoying disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knoxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are very happy that you were able to relax and unplug while visiting with us!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were rained out of a nearby campsite and came to the Resort for dinner. Despite it being July 4th we got a great table and were served promptly by friendly staff who checked back often to see we were satisfied. The buffet was excellent with main dishes ranging from Ribs, Chicken, Pulled pork and rainbow trout and just as many sides to choose from. I wished I could have taken a portion of the cherry cobbler away with me. The wine list was simple but with good value options and my Malbec choice was very nice. After dinner we sat in the lobby by a huge fire and enjoyed free coffee from the lobby machine and wished we could just sleep the night right there instead of returning to our damp campsite! Excellent value and I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the Resort while here and take a break from the damp campsite!

We look forward to seeing you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice place. Stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin. WOW what a shock. Driveway was washed out and needed to be repaired. Poor TV repection and old TV sets. Dripping water faucet and the lighting was poor very dark and the cabin was covered in centipedes. For 300 dollars a night is a lot to spend for a weekend in the boondocks. Oh did I mention that there was no cell phone service within a 30 mile radius of this place. The place was beautiful and best time was spent on the lake with the boat that we rented. Did not try any of the restaurants on location. But the sodas and snacks etc were reasonibly priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please know that it has been passed along to the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We shared a two bedroom cabin with our daughter & son-in-law. It was located near the grill just as we had requested. Very close to everything so walking was not a problem for a person with a bad knee. Our cabin had everything we needed & was very comfortable. A lovely wrap around porch with a table & chairs for outdoor eating which we did a lot. Great views in all directions. Enjoyed all that we did & we did most of it. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Our one surprise.....after paying about $1,500. for the week which was certainly not unreasonable, we were charged an additional $15.00 for three to play Hillbilly Golf. It really seems reasonable that it should have been available at no additional charge just as the pool was. Locations for computer connection were close by & not an issue. We enjoyed our week & will probably do it again just thought the golf charge chould not have been.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that chose to stay with us! It's very nice that you were able to get a centralized cabin and be close to everything. The cabins are very comfortable, yet still give you the rustic feel!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place was just fabulous,it was just what our family needed. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa close to the field and general store. It was perfect, we did all the local attractions, Wildwater zip lining, white water rafting, horse back riding etc. as well as renting a pontoon boat and kayaks at the marina. So much to do. We also played bingo at the resort which my kids really enjoyed, however we had a blast square dancing. I know some people don't like that the internet connection is weak but if you go to any of the main buildings it works fine. Also cell phone service is iffy, but I went to enjoy the outdoors with my family NOT to talk on my phone. Well worth the drive up the mountain,staff was very helpful and friendly. I have told all my friends they should really go here for a wonderful family trip. however there were many groups here as well with out children. I almost forgot the view of the mountains is breath taking,and the dam was great, as well as the lake just so much it is to much to mention.

Room Tip: I liked the villa because it was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It really is such a great place to enjoy nature and all of it's beauty. I'm glad you were able to enjoy so many of the area activities. Family time is the most important time you can get!

We hope to see you all back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing