We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled of strong mold and mildew. Bathroom ceiling water damage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room smelled of strong mold and mildew. Bathroom ceiling water damage”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The resort itself is very quaint and relaxing tucked in the mountains of nc. The room we stayed in was unacceptable for the rate they charged, The carpet was filthy The bathroom ceiling had very dark water stains. The room reeked of a pungent mold and mildew smell which was absorbed in the bedding and towels. We called down on Friday night at check in 10 12 2012 to report it and was told the smell was common after being unused for periods of time and should go away after the heat/ac were turned on. That was not the case. The following day it was worse. We called down again sat evening 10 13 2012 reported it again asked for another room. The lady was nice said she would report it and that if no rooms available to move us we would get some money off our bill. Neither happened. I ended up getting sick from the smell. I would hesitate staying there again because of the failure to address this health concern. Mold is very serious. Thankfully we left early Sunday sick and smelling like mold for 6hr drive back home. Sad thing is we go to every mini cooper event held there each may and were considering staying there rather than our usual place a town over, but after this ordeal no way will we stay there. Christi BINTLIFF

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillageResort, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for bringing the accommodation issue to our attention. Our engineering department has corrected the issue with the room. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to show our appreciation for your business when visiting during the 2013 Minis On The Dragon event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    171
    93
    41
    26
See reviews for
160
175
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selma, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just finished a 4 night vacation and was not impressed at all. The cabins are not cabins, they are trailers with viynl siding to look similiar to wood. The inside was no better. First the TV was a joke, a small tv vcr combo with a screen less than 19 inches. The cabin had a very sparsely furnished kitchen. The interior materials were the cheapest walls and ceilings they put in a trailer and they looked like cardboard finished walls. The bathroom had no towel hangers of any kind. The towel bar was broken and there were broken plastic hook stick ups on the walls. We called ahead to ask about fishing and were told by the marina operator that it would be good in October when we booked in mid August. When we went to the marina, the lake was way low due to winter drawoff and the attendant told us the fishing was very bad, and would not be better until November. We decided against paying 125 dollars for 4 hrs to not catch anything. They advertised a 15 foot bass boat, but told us it was "offline" and only had an 18 foot boat available for rent at the higher price. Fontana Lake was the main reason we chose this place. The only good thing is that the area is a beautiful area, and we went to Gatlinburg and Cherokee, traveling through the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. The only place to eat anywhere close by was the restaurant at the check in area and, although the food was good, the service was very poor. The closest places to eat, or shop for groceries, were 25 to 35 miles away. We chose to eat at those places (in Bryson City) and they were very good. We also stopped at a grocery store in Bryson City to pick up some necessities. We will find another place to stay on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAS0649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillageResort, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for bringing the accommodation concerns to our attention. We are addressing the issues in the unit. The resort offers a wide range of cabin styles ranging from 1-4 bedrooms with different amenities. We will always strive to meet or exceed your expectations when visiting us.

Please try our marina again on your next visit to the resort. Fontana Marina offers a large selection of watercraft including pontoons, bass boats, kayaks, canoes and jet skis for any water fun you might want to enjoy. On occasion, there are shortages within the different lines of boats due to scheduled service or an abundance of rental requests. The Tennessee Valley authority (TVA) does initiate a draw down of the 30 mile long reservoir each fall to accommodate the snow accumulation throughout the winter. As the water temperatures begin to drop, the fall fishing season is one of the best angling periods of the year. Anglers come to experience the championship bass and walleye fishing along the 238 miles of shoreline on Fontana Lake. Many anglers also take advantage of the extraordinary fly fishing opportunities in the beautiful waterways spilling out of the Smokies on the way into Fontana Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is in a beautiful location and has potential, but is in desperate need of renovation and attention. The cabins have too many flaws to mention; sagging ceilings, furniture from the 70's, dirt in every corner, outside of property in need of trimming and cleaning (trash and cans under porch), etc. The upside is that the pool, disc golf and putt-putt is very nice for families. I hear the main lodge has received some renovation, but understand that the cabins are lacking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbtosafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, SC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the facility. The room was clean and comfortable. The Resort is located near Fontana Dam in the Smokie Mountains. We would suggest stocking up on a few snacks since the closest town is about 25 miles one way. We did experience power outage from 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM during our stay. Staff did the best they could and we racked it up to the traveling experience. Meals are limited to a restraurant and a grill located on site. Restaturant selections are limite4d and we actually enjoyed the grill better. Sunset cruise on the lake was my favorite experience during the stay. Make reservations early as they do fill quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your patience during our unexpected power outage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

When we arrived this past Monday after a 6 hour drive, we greeted a rather unfriendly staff member at the front desk. She didn't smile or greet us. We asked her a few questions about the restaurant and asked about a menu. She said she didn't have one and did not offer any further information. She gave us our room key and while going down the hall to our room the power went out. Other customers immediately started complaining and a staff member explained that power outages "were just a way of life for us". We were told we would be given a candle because they weren't sure when the power would be back on. We were told there would be no hot meals served bc of the outage and the staff explained there was no back up generator. They offered sandwiches. We went to the nearest diner, which was about 20 miles away. We ate, tried to charge our phones at the restaurant and returned to the Fontana. We felt better because the power was back on. Ten minutes after we got to our room the power went out again. We attempted to get settled and take showers with the light of one candle and the water was not very hot. We barely slept due to the damp temperature in the room, the uncomfortable mattress, the blanket that felt like moist rubber and the stale smell. The next morning when we got up, granola bars were served as there was no power still. We were told that the power may be on by noon but there was no guarantee.
We left the resort looking for a hot meal, and some activities since most amenities were not available due to the outage. The closest town to do something was Bryson City. We were unable to groom ourselves to our liking, iron our clothes, or charge our phones and cameras. We went to Bryson City and ate at Bojangles and spoke to the manager about permitting us to use their electricity. He was very helpful and said other people staying at fontana over the week complained about the same issue. We ate our food and,met another couple we recognized from the resort and discussed our common frustrations. We remained out in other towns that day charging our phones and cameras hear and there at random public places.
My concern is that we drove to a resort to enjoy much needed time away. We wanted to relax. Although fontana could not control the power situation, they did not try to make up for any inconveniences. Staff members were rude and short with us during our stay and we observed the same with other guests... The resort did not offer us a refund, a discount or an apology for the inconveniences. All we got was a lousy candle.
To be fair, we did encounter a friendly waitress in the restaurant our second night there and a lovely woman in the gift shop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We certainly apologize for the great inconvenience caused by the unexpected power outage. These situations are frustrating and do not reflect our best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights here using a Groupon deal.Our room was a nice size with a balcony we enjoyed each night. Attractive lobby, very good restaurant ( only the main restaurant was open during our Mon-Wed visit) VERY comfortable beds,
Now some cons-the very small toilet area (think Harry Potter's closet)no room on vanity for anything. Lamps in room about 40 watts no table to sit at or write at.We were told that the pools would be open until the end of Sept., but they are unheated and no one used them.
This is a large property with many choices for cabins or rooms.It's alovely site and we never saw a bug even when sitting out to watch the stars.All the food was well prepared and the staff is wonderful

Room Tip: We were told we'd have a lodge room but it really was an building separate from the lodge.It mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for using Groupon to give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stumbled upon this place purely by accident at the end of a long day of riding. Nestled in the woods in the middle of nowhere, it initially comes across as an upscale establishment. A closer look later on reveals it isn't...but it's still very good nonetheless. It's a different experience from the usual motel - beautiful scenery, with the rooms located in separate 8-unit mini-buildings that resemble cabins. Rooms were comfy, with a chalet type of feel. I loved it. There were some maintenance type issues (mostly burnt out lights outside...it's in the woods and very dark). There's only one place to eat and that's the on-site restaurant. It closes at 9, but they kept it going just to accommodate the late-comers..myself included. Overall, this place was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoxgdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Fontana Village Resort is in a very remote location, and a haven for the road weary as well as those who are planning a get away vacation. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
656 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
90 reviews
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
209 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing