We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The surrounding area is so beautiful and almost untouched! The resort is not brand new, but maintained extremely well!! It is so clean - but that does not only include the room, but also the patio/balcony outside the room. While I was relaxing in the pool, I could see the ladies sweeping and cleaning the balconies/patio areas. Not only during the day while cleaning the room, but early in the morning, I noticed someone else sweeping these areas. Many places I have stayed lately maintain the rooms nicely, but forget about cleaning the outside areas, and the customer has to clean it off. I must say I was impressed by the beauty, the cleanliness, and the friendliness of the staff. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room near the pool, and it was wonderful. Not far to walk to the pool, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniechanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your very nice, and accurate, review of our Housekeeping team. I'll be sure to share this with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    164
    91
    40
    25
See reviews for
156
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I expected to hear "Nobody puts Baby in a corner!:" at any moment. That didn't happen, but some awesome smores did. At night there was a great fire pit where we met other people from around the country staying at the resort.

The road getting into the resort is very curvy and if you suffer from car sickness I recommend taking something before your journey. And watch out for the people who think this road is their personal roller coaster.

The other thing about Fontana I liked was the lack of cell reception. This way my husband couldn't receive any work emails or calls. It was great!

My bed was comfy and the cabin we stayed in fit us perfectly. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teast0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your experience at Fontana Village Resort, but without the drama. Our unplugged "off the grid" environment provides the perfect atmosphere for interacting with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

at first we were really unsure if we should book this place based on some of the reviews, but i will say it was great! rooms were a bit outdated but clean! the pools were so clean and nice and the service was really good. the prices at the restaurants were very reasonable and the food was really good! i would for sure book there again!!!

Room Tip: 261 was a great room, big and clean! and the shower fit two!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So glad you found us and hope that Fontana Village Resort becomes an annual favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had some reservations about going there as I read some trip advisor comments prior to booking and it had me concerned. Reviews were mixed from excellent to horrible... My wife found a groupon and we decided to try it before going out East to the Mountsins of NC....
I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by everything about it... the grounds are huge, well maintained and the people are friendly. A far difference from what we are accustomed to in South Florida. Reviews seemed to indicate food was pricey, and there is no place close to go "off campus". That being said, we did bring many of our familys rations to be safe... It is true, the nearest place is at least 20 minutes away, but don't be concerned... the restraunts there on the property are very reasonable and the food was better then expected. Even for me, a picky vegeterian, I had no problems with their fake burgers... the taste, quanity and price exceeded expectations. The rooms are average, we (family of 4) were fine with the 2 queen sized beds. There is lots of activities every day which is nice... We did the ghost tour one night which was sadly, a mild disappointment. It really turned into a history of the dam, which was interesting, but no ghost stories really. The guide was knowledgable and friendly. We spent 3 days, 2 nights here and it was great... Being a motorcyclist it was torture being there without my bike, but was still a fun family time. The pool was nice, the lazy river was sort of a let down as well, but overall it was good. Would we go back again? absolutely, but I need my bike if we do. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to ride the dragon, or spend a nice few days in the smokies.

Room Tip: we stayed in the lodge, and the rooms were a little dated, but clean annd the beds were comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for using the Groupon to give us try. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome motorcycle groups, so let us know if you'd like to bring a group of friends back to ride the Dragon with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family (husband & kids) stayed at the lodge. Other family stayed in a cabin and the campground. The campground is about a mile down the main road. We enjoyed our pool cabana room. The family in the one bedroom cabin said there unit was fine. The campground is at the dam which is a sight to see. The largest in eastern US I think. The Apliachian trail is accessible at the marina which is about a mile down the road. We rented a boat with a tube and the kids loved it. Fontana lake is beautiful - hardly anyone else on the lake it seemed. Mountain on both sides. Back to the village - good food and service at the restaurants. The kids enjoyed ice cream at the store. You can rent a golf gart to get around the village. We made our own fire outside at the cabin, but the village has a campfire at night too. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our disabled father. We will be back for a long weekend again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaof3lovesDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Fontana Village Resort. We're so glad you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Renting a pontoon boat with a tube from Fontana Marina makes for a great family day on Fontana Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pros - beautiful location, marina/kayaking, clean, self contained community with dining and grocery, plenty of activities, friendly staff, reasonable rates

Cons - uncomfortable beds (very worn), older amenities in the lodge rooms, a very lengthy distance to travel to the national park

Overall, we look forward to returning in the future. Fontana is a great place to stay if you plan on spending most of your time in the village. Because of its distance to the park, it makes visiting places like Clingman's Dome, Laurel Falls, and Cades Cove a bit of a challenge, especially if you don't enjoy driving on winding mountainous roads! Plan on driving over an hour to see these sites.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed there for the car rally and had a wonderful time. Our cabin was fantastic. The food there is really, really good(don't know where these other people ate), and the views from the main lodge were beautiful! we felt that they went out of their way to make our trip one to remember. We look forward to staying there again, and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay during Miatas At The Gap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing