We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food!”

Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the Lodge at Fontana Village Resort in the Great Smoky Mountains.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is very good and has some awesome food! It can be a bit pricy, especially is you eating here with a family, but there are ways to keep costs down. One thing you can do it eat dinner early, before 5 pm, which is still their lunch menu, but has plenty of dinner items on that menu. The steaks on the menus are very good and they are very accommodating to special dietary needs like myself. Joey the food and beverage manager is excellent! He is nice and bends over backwards to help you out, again especially with special dietary needs. Will is also a great asset to this restaurant and resort. Overall considering that this is basically the main restaurant for the resort and one of the only options here, it is excellent! The view is also awesome, especially a table right by the windows facing the back of the lodge building facing the outdoor pool! Definitely worth eating here, even if you are passing by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NCTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review! We are lucky to have some of the best staff you will find. They work very hard to accommodate each and every guest, and we are so happy that you experienced this in action!

We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ten of us staying for 3 nights First night every meal was excellent, cooked correctly with good service. Wine selection is limited. Second night food was simply not good - as if cooked by different Chef. Salmon overcooked and inedible, pasta lacked seafood and sauce - just light spice and noodles. Steak overcooked and potatoes undercooked. We skipped the 3rd night and went to wine, cheese & sausage in rooms.

Breakfast also inconsistent, gravy & biscuits not edible and eggs uncooked. The ambience is excellent as is the scenic view. The rustic look works very well for breakfast. It is a shame that their is poor management oversight and a lack of quality control.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank auric22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that your experience was so inconsistent. This is not the type of service that we pride ourselves on. Please know your feedback will be shared and help us to improve ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the lodge and didn't want to drive to find a restaurant ( we had already driven 10 hours that day). 8 of us went in for dinner. Very good service and tasty food. We all had something different and no one was disappointed. We went back the following morning for their breakfast buffet. Again the service was good and we all had a choice of fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, French toast, bacon, sausage, cold cereal, grits and more. Everyone was satisfied the ready to go hiking. We plan on hiking near them again and will definitely eat here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are so happy that we could fuel your group before heading off on the trails….it’s nice to get hot meals before you go in. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the area, and look forward to being part of your next hike!

We can't wait to see you back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Decent selection, food was very good, but expensive. The view was nice, and the staff was friendly. It was the only restaurant available to us at the time that we went.

Thank gjslhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal with us. There are certain times that it is the only restaurant open due to occupancy levels, so we hope you will get a chance to check out our other restaurant the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate their two nights - once with 16 people and once with 4. Shrimp and grits were amazing - no one had a bad dish and very little was left over. Special orders were Service could have been better and got a little confused when describing some dishes.

Thank KellyC772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Mountview Restaurant! We love to hear about our guests dining experiences. It sounds like you got to try a little bit of everything! Our Shrimp and Grits are one of our most popular dishes! We hope to have you all back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort also viewed

Fontana Dam, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Fontana Dam, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing