We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel & Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Hotel & Location.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This Clarion used to be a Holiday Inn originally. Appears they did some property upgrades & it is a good place to stay. Literally right across the Interstate from the Asheville Airport & one of the few in the area that run a complimentary airport shuttle. One side of the mattress in my room was fairly worn out, but the other side was comfortable. They have a lounge that we stopped by for a few drinks after dinner. Nothing to brag about, but convenient. Didn't stay long as they were going to have a DJ, apparently that was going to play rap & they were charging a cover for this??!! Not my idea of entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Clarion Inn Asheville Airport. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. I apologize that you experienced some discomfort with the mattress in your room. I have adressed this concern with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments and will be updating our mattresses as we go through our seasonal rennovations. I do hope you enjoyed your time in The Hangar, the lounge on property, and while I do apologize that the music at the time was not to your taste, we do have constantly changing music entertainment in the lounge and hope you will stop by next time your in the Asheville Area to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    45
    29
    36
See reviews for
91
73
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Room was clean and front staff was friendly, breakfast bar sucked eggs burned and most food was cold. Don't waste your time on the free breakfast just go to Hooper creek Cafe and eat breakfast. It is very easy to get too and the location is close to a lot of shopping and only bout 20 min to Biltmore House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Clarion Inn Asheville Airport. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and try to use the feedback to further improve our guests' experience. I apologize for the poor experience you had during our complimentary breakfast. I have brought this up with our Breakfast Staff as well as our Kitchen Staff and have since updated our entire breakfast menu. I am pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable, and do hope you visit us again when your in the Asheville Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed two nights and used a Groupon voucher, so our stay was inexpensive. Staff were friendly and our room was comfortable. We were on the second floor and our window looked out on the courtyard. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The layout of the hotel is unusual; it is a big square building with a courtyard in the center. Hallways are long and very plain, with no decorative light fixtures or any other touches to show any kind of flair in the design. There are several restaurants within walking distance, but there are no sidewalks along the road. It is about a twenty minute drive into Asheville and not far to Hendersonville. The continental breakfast is about average - instant eggs, bread, bagels, yogurt, etc. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because they have an indoor pool, but the water was so cold it was basically unusable. I would be willing to stay here again, but only if the room was as cheap as this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Becky Darnell and her staff took great care of us, we always stay at this Inn on our trips to and from Hilton Head Island. Great room for the right price and they welcome dogs. As always everything was outstanding. Thanks Becky!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice folks here. Showed up in the morning and they agreed to check us in 6 hours early provided we'd be willing to take rooms on the non elevator second floor. Also were accommodating when the first room I was assigned smelled of smoke. The second was just fine.

But the hotel just is not up to snuff. Old, but functioning television, unmodernized bath (the first in a long time not to have the curved shower curtain bars that keep the curtain inside the tub.) Sort a hotel that time forgot (or, perhaps, that no one just took time to modernize).

The worst was that during the night an awful mechanical roar erupted in the room, making sleep impossible for even the soundest sleeper. The best I could determine at 2:00 AM was that it was the pipes from the shower next door (at least as I investigated I also noticed a light also shining into my bath through the vent, apparently from the bath in the room next door.)

Bottom line. There are other hotel chains across the street. I'd strongly advise checking them out first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel overall met my expectations. It is located on a very busy road, which made it difficult to access at the time of day we arrived (around 5PM). The staff was friendly and helpful. Lobby and hallways were clean and nice. The hotel is pet friendly, so there was a little barking here and there. But it was not an issue, and couldn't be heard from inside the room. The room was very clean and spacious. Very comfortable king size bed. Sitting area (sofa and coffee table) was a nice surprise. The room did smell very strongly like smoke, and the hotel is supposed to be 100% smoke free. The TV was also quite outdated. If the smoke smell and TV were fixed this hotel would have exceeded my expectations. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clary88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff was very good and younger than expected. They were responsive and handled our reservation very well. The hotel was booked full but very quiet and the continental breakfast was standard fair.
The hotel was very clean but could use some updating to make the rooms appear lighter/cleaner. A fresh coat of paint and new hall carpet would go a long way.
The location was very convenient to the WNC grounds where we attending SAFF.
The only negative was that there was no elevator to the second floor (or we just didn't find it) but I didn't specify a ground floor room so that's not the hotel's fault.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Asheville Airport
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Asheville Airport
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#7 of 7 in Fletcher
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Airport

Property: Clarion Inn Airport
Address: 550 Airport Rd, Fletcher, NC 28732-8618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Airport welcomes you to Western North Carolina! Centrally located between Asheville, Hendersonville and Brevard, NC, we offer a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. The Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) is a quarter mile from the Clarion Inn Airport and we offer complimentary airport shuttle. Corporate travelers will enjoy our close proximity to several major corporations. 150 Guest Rooms. Indoor/Outdoor Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Airport Hotel Fletcher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing