We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River
Ranked #1 of 2 Fletcher B&B and Inns
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast recently and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Before I booked, I had looked through the reviews on Trip Advisor, and everyone had given them such good reviews, so we had to try it out, and we were not disappointed. We stayed for the weekend, and ended up extending our stay for one additional day with no issues. We stayed down stairs in the Garden Room. Although I was a little apprehensive about sharing a bathroom with the Dogwood Room, there were no other guests down stairs, and we had the entire area to ourselves. It was perfect for our needs. The down stairs area included a full kitchen, dining room table, desk, treadmill & stationary bike, and living room with a large flat panel TV. The room had a king size bed, and was well appointed with robes, towels, slippers, and extra pillows & blankets. It was perfect for us, since we had been traveling to Hendersonville several times over the past few months looking for houses to purchase. This gave us the opportunity to be able to “eat in” and save some money, or keep our left overs in the fridge to have the next day. They kept the fridge stocked with various sodas and water, and a single serve Keurig coffee maker was available for your use with many choices of coffee or tea. Every evening there was a different nigh time snack for your to enjoy (brownies and cookies, delicious!). Not to mention the special little touches they did to make our stay more personal, as they put our names on our bedroom door (See Photo) and our names were also on the sign out front of the home, saying "Welcome Joe & Courtney".

Breakfast just continued to enhance our experience as every morning Gene made something else that simply “wowed” our taste buds. We also enjoyed sitting and chatting with Gene and Bob about the area and getting a lot of information on places to visit while we were in town. We honestly cannot say enough good things about the inn keepers and our stay.

We have visited many bed & breakfast inns around the South Asheville area over the past few months while house hunting, but this one would probably top the list. For the value, experience, food, and impeccable service, the Acorn Bed & Breakfast is a “must stay”. The only regret we have is that we didn't stay here earlier. We will be back and recommend to our friends and family.

Thank you Gene and Bob for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Staying down stairs has its benifits of the full kitchen and living room area, but you may have to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephlaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The two gentlemen who run the b & b do a fantastic job. The place is well-kept, clean and everything is comfortable. They are very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area.
I would suggest that if you are a light sleeper to request an upstairs room, as some movement could be heard in the downstairs rooms.
Gene can cook some great dishes, but I am spoiled by other b & b's having at least 2 choices for breakfast. Some of the things presented to me were not things I really care to eat...
But, I would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay if in the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter, downstairs is roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntheWind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

By far, the best experience at any hotel!!
The atmosphere, food and owners were so wonderful!!

Thanks so much!!!

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

From our greeting on the driveway, to the pillow chocolates and cookies and the details in the room - we knew that this was somewhere special. The breakfasts are superb - so much is home-made by Gene, a professional chef. It was also a great pleasure to relax and chat with Gene over that extra cup of coffee at breakfast. Acorn BnB is well situated for the Blue Ridge Parkway, which we were driving up, and Biltmore Estate so it's handy for the visitor to the Asheville area. Also, there is a good restaurant about a mile down the road, which is very convenient. Stay here for a really special experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Gene is a phenomenal chef. The house is quiet and secluded, with an eclectic and endlessly fascinating decor. The rooms are comfortable, and well appointed in all of the details. The little things: the towels, the soaps, the homemade cookies as bedtime treats, the bedside chocolates, the pictures and names on the chalkboard as a welcome and goodbye... all wonderful little touches that made the stay even better. The decor is unique and interesting. The Disney collection was a work of devotion, the kaleidescopes works of childhood wonder, and the broadway show memorabilia a reflection of the overall sophistication that Gene and Bob bring to their hospitality.

The breakfast was hands-down one of the best I've had at a B&B. Pull up a chair and get to know the proprietors, as they alone are worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastwickFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Fort Worth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a very nice patio off the room, which added to the relaxing atmosphere. Gene made us feel so welcome, helped us with the luggage when we arrived, and even went out of his way to find some gluten-free snacks and breakfast food for me.
The Dogwood room has a shared bath, but we were the only guests on the lower floor. The shower was dark (so be aware if you wish to shave), but incredibly clean bathroom and we enjoyed the luxurious Turkish towels.
We stayed one night, which was unfortunate since we couldn't keep experiencing the breakfasts! Gene's quality and presentation of the food were excellent. After the fruit salad, breads and Italian omelet, we drove one hour south to our next stop in North Carolina, and found out upon arrival that we left one of my husband's t shirts at the Acorn B&B. Gene drove to our location to deliver the shirt. He really goes the extra mile to deliver genuine service.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms share a bath and living areas. Great for a small group traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

From the moment we arrived to be greeted by Gene as we got out of the car to the chat about so many things over breakfast on our last day our whole stay at Acorn BNB was a delight. Our room - Magnolia - was wonderful especially the cookies ( homemade) and chocolates! Everything was of a very high quality and showed an attention to detail and the desire to please guests which we have not come across anywhere else we have stayed in the world! Breakfasts were truly amazing and delicious. The whole experience of staying here is something that will be one of the outstanding memories of our trip from the UK. A delightful place with delightful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnhamLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
4.1 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Airport
Clarion Inn Airport
#3 of 7 in Fletcher
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River

Property: Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River
Address: 5136 Old Haywood Road, Fletcher, NC 28732
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing