We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhygienic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Fayetteville
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“unhygienic”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I will begin by saying the staff is very friendly. I was treated nicely in each experience with a staff member. I do not mistake kindness for competency though.

As a platinum member, I received an upgrade. So this awful experience was in one of their 'nicer' rooms.

When I got into my room, there was a coffee stain on the seat of one of the lounge chairs. This is notable because it could be wiped off easily, which I did myself. There were other tears and stains on the carpets and wallpaper. Indicative of an older unrenovated hotel.

When I went to use the bathroom, there were hairs around the edge of the tub. This is unhygienic and just gross. When I ran the tub for hot water for a shower, the hot water ran out in under two minutes, leaving tepid water coming from the faucet. This was extremely disappointing when I wanted a hot shower before a work dinner. When I called about the water, the front desk people sent someone up right away who told me that I would have to wait 15-20 minutes for the water to reset. That did not leave enough time for me to shower before my dinner meeting.

When I called the front desk to complain they offered me a discount on my rate. I told the person I appreciate that, but I was there for work so I wasn't paying. Please keep in mind that I did not decline the discounted rate. When I asked what could be done for me, the answer I got was "the manager will get back to you." No manager ever got back to me. To add insult to injury, I was charged the original rate that I booked, no discount.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank driby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHRMC_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. While we are glad to hear our friendly staff tried their hardest to make your stay a great one we are deeply disappointed to see it was not. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Member we know a clean comfortable stay is key as IHG brand hotels are your home away from home. We do apologize for the inconveniences and the possible miscommunication. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    91
    84
    85
See reviews for
140
63
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Will NEVER stay there again! They had several mistakes at my Wedding Reception and offered us a "free" weekend. My husband and I stayed there last weekend. When we checked in the lady told us we will get entree breakfast sent to our rooms. I called the front desk the next morning, was literally transferred 4 times to different people. The first lady said, “who told you, you can get food to your room?” Next lady’ “I’m going to transfer you to the café, order what you want and they will deliver to your room.” Café lady’ “You need to come down here to order” explained to her that it was suppose to be delivered. “Hold on”… Last lady, “What do you want to order?” I don’t know I don’t have a menu!!! She started to read it to me… I said forget it and we went down to eat. The wait staff was very nice. The lady told us to order what we want. Next morning, just got up went down there (didn’t want to go through the hassle)! Got to the café and the lady tried to charge me for juice. I told her that we got it yesterday and there was no problem. She told me, “Well that lady that was here yesterday is not here today!” Really???? The waitress was nice though, she just brought me the juice anyway, no charge. Not to mention that they never brought over the entrée menu, so we just ate at the buffet. Got home today and checked my account… Guess what they charged me $296.34 for our FREE weekend… SMH! Called over there and they handled it quickly, so good job Brittney! That was just this weekend, didn’t tell you about the weekend of my wedding… But if you look hard enough, my dad already wrote about that!!!

Room Tip: Beds are hard!!! but pillows are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do apologize that you experienced issues during your stay. We are pleased to see that you found our staff friendly and that they helped with the issues you did experience. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My three year old great grandson (E) and I spent three night at this hotel in October because my granddaughter was in the Cape Fear Medical Center. The best part of the room was the heavy chairs that I was able to use to keep E from falling out of bed. E wanted a bath the moment he saw the tub. It was a large oval he eventually got to enjoy. (Was slow draining, but I told the staff so hopefully it works properly now.) We always returned to the hotel after dark which was a bit scary. The room, #263, was right next to the second floor entrance door which allowed us to go fairly quickly from car to room and visa verse. (As quickly as you can with a toddler.) Be aware that the building is in a U shape and you must go outside to get to the breakfast area from one side (the one we were in). Even though I asked for senior discount I was charged full price for the first night. When I questioned it, I was given a special "hospital" rate. Also be aware that while it may appear that the hotel has plenty of unoccupied rooms, that was not the case for the weekend due to sporting events. So if you don't know how long you will be needing the room, book a few extra days or you may find yourself without one. I would recommend this hotel/room for anyone who might be in the same situation as mine. It worked for me.

Room Tip: This room was next to the elevator, but I never heard it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Dottie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear E enjoyed our garden tubs that are in all of our guest rooms. I am sorry that nobody showed you the way to cross from building to building without going outside (there is a connecting hallway on the 3rd floor of the East building and delivers you into the back of the lobby). Thank you again and we hope the next time you are in the area is for a more pleasent reason and that we have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, large hotel Very large rooms!! I stayed in a king room! Has a fridge microwave and round soaker tub! Room had a great view of outside pool area. The breakfast is great! About 10 minutes from bowling lanes. Restaurants and fast food close by.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to see that an experienced traveler such as yourself found your stay with us to be a good one. Thank you again and we are looking foward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and clean. Hotel itself is older but updated. The hallway on my floor (2w) smells like it was cleaned with curry scented shampoo. They have a coffee maker in the room but no creamer. Front desk had none nor the onsite cafe! The market across the street sells Individual creamers by the box. Someone please tell the staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rdavisohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear rdavisohio,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We want to also thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback, without which we would not be able to improve. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The lobby area of this hotel made me think it would be a great place, despite the negatives I had heard. But the reality is that there were quite a few negatives about this hotel. First, the positives...the staff were quite friendly, the rooms were a nice size also, and I loved the over-sized tub. And while I did not use my balcony my friend did and it was very nice. But unfortunately, the negatives are there. I arrived at the hotel exactly at 3pm (check in time) and walked into a lobby filled with people waiting to get into their rooms. The hotel was the host hotel for a professional sporting event and many of the athletes and fans had arrived early. And NONE of the rooms were ready for them. Granted, they did arrive early but I would have thought the hotel would have considered the fact of a large group arriving and had the rooms available earlier. The hall area's were hot and smelled "old" (for lack of a better word), the carpet in my room, while I could tell it had been vacuumed it was definitely stained. The bathroom was clean, but lacking despite having two obvious spaces for it any tissues (and from talking to friends they also were missing tissues and shampoo). And the tub did not drain properly. I was standing in all but ankle deep water by the end of my shower. A big problem was the elevators! At first I thought they were just extremely slow but it was more than that. The first day they were SLOW but after that I took the stairs because they simply stopped working! The hotel, as a whole, looked dated and in need of some repair. All in all, it was not a terrible hotel. I would stay there again if I was in the area. But it definitely has some needs for updates and improvements. I did NOT see any bugs as others mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Amy E,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I checked into this hotel on 9/23/13 for my job; which I travel to various parts of eastern NC. While I was taking a shower on 9/24/13 in the early morning hours, I noticed that I was not alone. After stepping out of the shower and putting on my glasses, I saw a roach on the side of the tub area. I was able to place the roach in a cup (to show to the desk clerk when I checked out). After getting dressed, I went downstairs to report this issue. The desk clerk at first only wanted to give me $30.00 dollars off my bill. I told her that was NOT acceptable. She then said that she would take my entire bill off my credit card. I then asked for the managers' name. She gave me the operations managers' name. I wanted a day to call and did so on 9/25/13 and left a message. I am STILL waiting for a return call... As I stated I travel for business and passed this info on to my co-workers. As I write this, there will be NO more reservations from myself or my co-workers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear gina b,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fayetteville.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fayetteville hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Fayetteville - Fort Bragg
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fayetteville I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ambassador Inn
Ambassador Inn
#27 of 51 in Fayetteville
61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fayetteville - Cross Creek Mall
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Fayetteville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area

Property: Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area
Address: 1707A Owen Dr, Fayetteville, NC 28304-3418 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fayetteville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Ramada Plaza Hotel and Convention Center is centrally located near historic downtown Fayetteville, Fort Bragg and Pope Air Field, Crown Coliseum, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville Motor Speedway, Methodist College and the Cape Fear Botanical Gardens. This hotel offers guests an outdoor pool, free airport shuttle, restaurant, lounge, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, business center, fax/copy service, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and 34,000 square feet of meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fayetteville Fort Bragg Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bordeaux Fayetteville
Holiday Inn Fayetteville Bordeaux
Fayetteville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing