We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross! Nasty! Ugh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Fayetteville
Reviewed October 25, 2011

If Bill Marriott could see this place, he'd throw it out of the chain of hotels with his name on it. It's totally beneath the Marriott name. Old, grubby, badly kept. For instance the carpet in the room is stained with paint and looks like it was melted with acid. The grout around the tub inclosure could have been applied by a blind three year old. The blanket is disgusting and we won't have it on the bed. The outside of the hotel is shabby. Someone is making squeaking and crunching sounds in the room above us.....right over our heads. One plus is freshly made cookies available in the reception area. It is the only plus! The hotel sits next to a grungy decrepit mall full of scary people. The whole place is depressing and should fall under a wrecking ball asap. Stay away from Fayetteville and this dump in particular. Not kidding!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Run! Run! to a different town and DO NOT STAY here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diningdiva045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am excited to let you know our hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation. This renovation will include guest’s rooms, lobby, breakfast and other public areas. I apologize for any inconveniences you encounter during your recent trip to Fayetteville.
Sincerely,
Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

Every time we come to Fayetteville we stay at the Fairfield. While this time the room we stayed in was fairly small, this hotel is still ok with us. The location is perfect for anything you need to do in Fayetteville. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear MzButterfly,

Thank you very much for posting a review. I agree with you, our location is of the best in Fayetteville. We are in fact right outside the only mall in Fayetteville and near to Fort Bragg and many restaurants. I hope you can visit us again, especially now that we are finishing up with our renovation.

Thank you for being a loyal guest.

Sincerely,

Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

While this hotel is undergoing renovation, I don't see how Marriott could have let it go so long. The old decor looks as if it's from the 1980's! I didn't think any Marriott property had exterior access rooms but this one does. Our room had been updated but the bath smelled musty & the air conditioning had been set to freezing, probably to try to kill the mustiness. I expected more from a Fairfield Inn & Marriott. If I'm in the area again, I'll pick another hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear PhotogMike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your trip. We hope the renovation takes care of any issues we had. This renovation should be completed by December 1, 2011 and I hope you can give us another try after this date.

Sincerely,

Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is located about 5 miles from Fort Bragg and it is near the highway that would take you directly to the All American or Yadkin entrance. There are many restaurants in the area and the only mall in town is across the street from the hotel. The hotel has a new fitness center and also a new laundry for its guests. Amenities include complimentary breakfast and complimentary wireless Internet. I was there for over a week and I can honestly say the customer service is excellent. Housekeeping staff, maintenance, breakfast and front desk associates were alll very friendly and caring. All the rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and flat screen TV's.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance if you are trying to get the per diem rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear John,

In the name of all the Fairfield Inn by Marriott - Cross Creek Mall staff, I would like to thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write a review.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a terrible hotel. It is not worth the Marriott name. The rooms are small, open to the outside, and falling apart. Do not stay here, even if you have to commute. I expect a higher standard from marriott.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Tim S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to inform you that our hotel has been undergoing renovations since August 2011. The renovation includes guest’s rooms, lobby, breakfast and other public areas. I apologize for any inconveniences you encounter during your recent trip to Fayetteville and I hope you can give us another opportunity in the future. Our renovation will be completed by December 1, 2011.

Sincerely,
Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

First of all, this is a MOTEL, not a hotel. The doors open to the outside, something I did not expect from a Marriott. The lobby is a joke, and about the size of two hotel rooms. The same with the "gym" and laundry room, they are modified hotel rooms. The hotel is obviously old, and the solution is to cover the crumbling construction with paint. The rooms are VERY small, and the bathrooms are even smaller. even though it is a non-smoking hotel, since the doors open outside, many patrons just step outside and smoke on the walkway, and the management does nothing about it. Of course the smoke comes in to your room through the air conditioner, if you are lucky enough to get a room that has a working one. I stayed in this hotel for several weeks, primarily because of lack of availability at other hotels, and for the duration of my stay there was a large group of foreigners who apparently live in the hotel for whatever reason. They have all become more than comfortable staying here, monopolizing the pool, outdoor tables, breakfast buffet and general hotel grounds, being very rude to all of the other guests. Again the management does nothing about it. There really isn't much the management actually does, besides overcharge their patrons for a hotel that is far below the Marriott standard I use to respect. Not only will I never stay here again, I will warn everyone I know traveling through Fayetteville to stay away from this nightmare of a place.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, stay on the 3rd flore which open to a halway and are more secure and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1975Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Denverprincessaj:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to tell you our hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation that includes exterior, guest's rooms, lobby and other public spaces. Even though this renovation will not enhance the size of our bedrooms or bathrooms it will give the hotel a fresh new look. The renovation in the rooms includes new carpet, new bedding, and new AC units. In the lobby we will have the latest decor package from Fairfield Inn's by Marriott. I am honestly surprised to read you did not like our fitness center and laundry room. These two facilities are new and we take pride in saying the fitness center is bigger than in many other hotels whith state of the art equipment and enough space to actually be able to perform most fitness rutines.
When I read your comment about the smoking in the halls outside the guest's rooms I created a form that every guest is now required to sign at check-in. This form informs our guests that the only place authorized to smoke is the gazebo area in the back of the hotel. I certainly hope that with this new policy guest like you that are non-smokers feel more comfortable around the hotel.
Lastly, I would like to address your comments regarding the "foreign guests". This is a group of people that actually serve our country. They travel to Afghanistan and Iraq to teach our solders to speak foreign languages. In many respects they are part of the select group of people that serve the country and that help us be safe.
I do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future. Please contact me directly when you are planning you next trip to the area and I would more than happy to offer you a discount in your room rate.
Sincerely,
Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a large group, over 7 rooms. Reconfirmed 2 weeks in advance. Arrival day they said they didn't have two of the rooms and were 100% booked. Desk attendant said she was only one on duty and refused to call manager. After much to do, finally gave us one more room.
We were a performing arts company and were supposed to get the whole group on the first floor where we could park in front of the rooms and bring our many trunks and costumes into the rooms. Instead we were given 3rd floor rooms, the furthest away from the elevator, a non-air-conditioned slow contraption, a horror in the over 100% weather we experienced every day we were there.

The next thing was we were told to search the halls of motel for the carts to move the bags. After walking all the corridors of the hotel and finding none, we were told they were probably in people's rooms and there was nothing they could do about it.

We had to call the performing arts center at FSU to have them come open the auditorium to put our things in there because they were too big and heavy to drag the long distances down the hallway. Meanwhile we needed many of the items for fittings early the next morning so we were still forced to carry over 20 large bags by hand into the ungodly hot elevator and and down the two long hallways to our rooms. Upon checking in the first thing you notice is there were cockroaches scurrying around the rooms when you put the light on. There's mini-fridge, and micro- save but no servi-bar.

The decor and beds were old and outmoded and there was a group of young men playing an ipod player hanging in the hallway blocking our way while we were dragging our bags, trip after trip. They stayed partying in the hallway until all hours of the night. We were told the security guard didn't show up for the night so there was nothing they could do about it because the front desk manager, the only one on duty, couldn't leave the desk. This was a constant refrain whenever we asked for something to be done.

All in all, a terrible place to go with kids, very unsavory types all over the place. A minimal unhelpful desk staff, inefficient and at times very rude.

The only pros, the maid service was good and the hotel location, excellent.. If we had gotten the rooms on the first floor where you can park in front of the room, maybe our opinion would be different. But even though they specifically promised to us and told they were reserved via email and verbally, there were a thousand and one excuses why we didn't have them when we arrived. Would never ever go there again and that is the opinion of all 12 of the people we had staying there.

Room Tip: Insist on the first floor rooms. Get the name of who takes the booking. Call two days before and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxenjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn F, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Jaxenjill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for all the inconveniences you and your group encounter during your stayed here at the Fairfield Inn Cross Creek Mall. We take pride in saying that our staff is one of the most friendly in the hospitality business and I feel terribly sorry they did not display this type of service to you and your group.
I also apologize if you were guarantee several rooms in the first floor. It is near to impossible for us to guarantee a 100% the location of the rooms as this is based on the guests that are already in house. We can guarantee a clean, fresh room, and a specific room type, such a single king size bed or two beds. However, when it comes to a specific floor, unfortunately, the most we can do is note your request in your reservation and try to do our best (based on availability) to meet your needs.
Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding our housekeeping staff and for noticing how great the location of our hotel is.
We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Faysuri Villamil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fayetteville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fayetteville Fort Bragg
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fayetteville
Candlewood Suites Fayetteville
#13 of 53 in Fayetteville
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fayetteville - Cross Creek Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fayetteville North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Fort Bragg
Comfort Inn Near Fort Bragg
#30 of 53 in Fayetteville
182 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fayetteville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall

Address: 562 Cross Creek Mall, Fayetteville, NC 28303-7246 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Fayetteville)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range: $61 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An essential stopping point for travelers of all kinds, this hotel near Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall goes above and beyond. Book with us, and have proximity to great shopping and local attractions, along with a restful stay. We’ve also got a well-appointed business center right on the premises, allowing you to take care of all your needs while away from home. Our ideally-located Fayetteville hotel is the perfect answer if you’re headed to Fort Bragg or downtown Fayetteville businesses. We’re only a short drive from these and many other points of interest in the area, including Pope Air Force Base, Cape Fear Valley Health System, Fayetteville Regional Airport, the Fayetteville Historic Marketplace District, and the Crown Coliseum & Expo Center. You can also discover several unique dining and shopping attractions during your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Marriott Cross Creek Mall Hotel Fayetteville
Fairfield Inn Fayetteville
Fairfield Fayetteville
Fayetteville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing