We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't feel safe”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My sister, her dog and I recently drove back from Cape San Blas, Florida to New York and originally intended to sleep the night away at a Holiday Inn in Fayetville. We have made the assumption rooms would be available and didn't think of making reservations earlier. Upon arrival, we found out there was a motorcycle convention in town and all the rooms have been booked except for one which wasn't pet friendly. Due to the fact that it was already approaching midnight we opted for a hotel down the street: Econo Lodge. We knew it was going to be a crappy hotel considering the fee for the night was $50 but we were so exhausted from driving that all we cared about at that moment was getting a couple of hours of sleep. The staff was friendly, however; as soon as we found our room which was around the corner, away from the lobby and far in the back of the parking lot While walking to our room, we knew this wasn't a good idea when we noticed men underwear drying on portable barbecue outside of one of the rooms, the smell of pot was another clue combined with an arrival of a state trooper who was parking his car. In short, we didn't even get to see the room, the men who stayed there got so excited upon seeing two women that we knew right there and then this wouldn't be a peaceful night if we had attempted to lodge there. In short we left and drove another 3 hours to a Holiday Inn in Maryland which we will always stay in from now on. Personal experience, you get what you pay for but it is grimy, dark and unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently drove round trip from Florida to New Jersey. One the way up I stayed overnight at a hotel and paid $125. It was very clean, had a pool and great breakfast included. However on the way back I stayed at the Econo Lodge in Fayetteville, NC for $50. and had the same experience at less than half the price. I did use a coupon which you can find at the I95 rest areas or the states welcome center.. Look for the hotel discount books.

Room Tip: Look for the hotel discounts books and don't check in too late as those discounted rooms are lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here while driving solo down I-95. Regular room with a single king bed. Room was very large and pretty clean. Not very modern, but more than sufficient. TV with plenty of channels, fridge. Everything worked fine. Great value for the price. Would stay here again if stopping over in Fayetteville.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joamiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

OK for a route 95 layover, but that's about it. Clean, but spartan. It was pouring when I checked in, but the cleaning staff blocked the entire covered walkway. Even though they could have left room for customers to stay dry, they ignored us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here last night. The room was clean and comfortable. I appreciated the mini-fridge and dog walk area, especially at such a great price. This wouldn't be where I would stay if I was looking for someplace other than to just sleep; but it was a clean cheap place to spend the night. The cons were that there were a lot of people in the parking lot until almost 5 am. This not only made the area feel kinda shady but the noice they made drove my dogs crazy. They never settled down which meant that I didn't get the great night's sleep that I needed between two long days of driving. I used to live in Fayetteville and know the area plus I was traveling with two German Shepherds so I wasn't too worried about the area. However, if I was traveling by myself and was only judging the area by what I saw last night I would have been a little scared.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girl93stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For a 1 or 2 night stay, this is a good hotel. The rates are very good and the staff is friendly and accommodating. However, the rooms are a bit run-down and the area leaves a little to be desired.

Pros: 2 Queen beds, free continental breakfast was not great but was sufficient, right off I-95, and close to several restaurants such as McDonalds, Ruby Tuesdays, etc.

Cons: Run-down rooms that could definitely use an update, didn't always feel secure in this area

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nessz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Econo Lodge was convenient to transportation nodes, musuems, downtown, Ft. Bragg and hospital if needed. The staff was courteous, to include late night, and the rooms were clean with daily service. Rooms are available for pets and I plan to use this hotel on my return to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrdixon4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fayetteville hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Fayetteville-South/I-95 Exit 49
0.6 mi away
Deluxe Inn
Deluxe Inn
#10 of 53 in Fayetteville
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fayetteville I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Fayetteville
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Fayetteville - Fort Bragg
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fayetteville I-95
Red Roof Inn Fayetteville I-95
#25 of 53 in Fayetteville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1952 Cedar Creek Rd, Fayetteville, NC 28312-9542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very large property with 150 rooms. All of our rooms have outside corridors. We have smoking and non smoking rooms available. We do lots of tour bus business and have room for tractor trailors to park. We offer a free deluxe continental breakfast each morning from 6 to 9:30.We have free wireless internet in all rooms, microwaves and refrigerators, and in the lobby,free fax, free local calls, a business center, and Cable TV. We have available 24 fresh popcorn and coffee.We also have a seasonal outside pool. We have a 24 hour dedicated staff eager to serve you . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Fayetteville
Econo Lodge Fayetteville
Fayetteville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing