We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Courtyard - Adequate & hard to find better in this town.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Fayetteville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Fayetteville
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Older Courtyard - Adequate & hard to find better in this town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

An older variety of Courtyard, which I'd guess at 25 y.o., and it shows in many ways. It has received the new Courtyard redecor, but there's just so much you can do with an older style. Lobby is up to standards after refurb. Rooms got the refurb too, but the age shows & changing the wallpaper, carpet, beds, etc. doesn't change the room layout (somewhat smaller & more basic than newer hotels), size, age of sliding doors, HVAC unit, etc.
Nevertheless, it is a Courtyard & is about the best you're going to find here. It's a military town & rooms get a lot of use & abuse. The Hilton Garden Inn is a cut better (newer, more elegant, & traditional - with indoor pool & hot tub), but the new HGI beds are horrible - based on an air baffle design w/o the air pump. Courtyard beds are exceptionally comfortable. The pool is seasonal/outside. Room lighting is very bad. New flu lights which are blindingly bright - all or nothing - get blinded or live in the dark. There are NO soft lighting options - a huge flaw. Water pressure it pretty bad & hot water is just warm. Rooms are OK size-wise, but you couldn't fit a chair/end table in addition to the 2 queen beds. Towels at this property are well worn.
Staff treats lobby like their own personal social room & guests seem to be a bother on THEIR turf.
Those who know Courtyards know there's no free breakfast & choices here are quite limited & very pricey. Internet is a breeze. Bath amenities VERY basic - one small shampoo & conditioner - period.
My biggest problem here was the old HVAC units. You had to turn it to the extreem left for heat to turn on & it wouldn't go off until you turned it back (manually) to the extreme right. So, I turned it on until it got boiling then off & woke up freezing.
Since I'm obliged to come to Fayetteville often enough, let me recommend 2 others. The Hilton G. Inn, if you can tolerate the beds, is far nicer. Also, the Holiday Inn Express (Ft. Bragg - near mall) here is top rated & far better than most HI Expresses.
I do understand they've done about as good as you can do with this older property - well, they could upgrade the heat/ac units - and I write not to complain, rather to let folks know what to expect.
Oh, I might mention they are often full & (to be frank) the type of clientel they get is not typical of a Courtyard. We had very noisey neighbors each night. This is to be expected in a military town. They DO have a security night guard ...and I suspect it's a wise idea here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Courtyard Fayetteville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for the feedback! It appears as though you travel frequently cruisedoc1, and know just what you're looking for when travelling; nothing wrong with that! I so appreciate your candid feedback, and will look into the issues you mentioned. While our hotel is about a 21 year old facility we work very hard to keep it well maintained and appear as a brand new hotel. We perform regular maintenance to our HVAC units, and purchase new ones when necessary; in fact we're within the top 100 hotels (out of almost 1000) for things in working order...so we do work hard to maintain that.
We encourage our staff to interact with our guests in the lobby space; as it is a social space, however it should always be out our guests!
I understand there are several choices to choose from when staying in the Fayetteville area, and I so thank you for choosing to stay with us. I do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    60
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
42
18
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Walking into the hotel lobby I was greeted by smiles and offered fast, professional service. Other positives were the Cobb salad was prepared fresh and was tasty, internet access free and reliable, atmosphere...quiet and professional but the room itself was disappointing. The arrangement of the bed and TV was odd as they were side by side. The king bed was hard...I felt like sleeping "on the bed" and "not in the bed". In addition the pillows were questionably small for such a large bed. I guess it was sufficient for a one night business trip at the $106/night price point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Courtyard in Fayetteville N.C. It was as good as the first. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out always observed staff members in positive and will to assist any customer as needed. The best news we heard was that Ms. Gwendolyn would be fixing our breakfast as she had done in December. The breakfasts were hot and always delivered promptly to our table and others with a gracious smile. Kellie and Ms. Gwen were most accommodating to their customers. In spite of a fairly full house, the Housekeeping staff seemed to keep up without a doubt and managed to ensure rooms and public areas were always in a state of readiness. Can not say enough about the staff. Wonder why the hot top is closed???

Room Tip: The ground floor room end room was ready for an early check in and in spite of the fact we had reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Courtyard Fayetteville, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff!!! Kellie and Ms. Gwen ARE great and they always serve our guests with a smile! And our housekeepers have things down to a science! I'm so glad that you had wonderful experiences both in December and again this month! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Just to answer your question about our hot tub; in January of 2013 Federal Regulations required the availability of a handicap accessible lift for those guests that may need one to get in and out of our pool and our spas. As our spa is located indoors, we could not safely meet the requirements of having a lift available to use indoors with our Spa. We want all of our guests to be comfortable and safe, and if we have to make changes to ensure that those two things occur, we will! I hope you find this information helpful!

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our daughter's volleyball team came to Fayetteville for a tourney and the whole team stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott. We were very happy with the hotel and the staff. I would like to bring special attention to the manager, Mr. Marasco, and the young lady behind the front desk Kailee. They ARE everything right with Courtyard's managment. They bent over backward to help us with anything in their power, including Mr. Marasco and Kailee getting two of the girl's volleyballs off the roof. VERY IMPRESSED!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackH696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here several weeks on business in February 2013. The hotel is modern and the rooms are very nice. I though the staff was just ok. No problems but not as friendly as some others. The breakfast is fine but not special. This internet access is great. This was a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandCWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights and it was a pretty comfortable stay. We had a king suite and the sofa bed seemed to sleep pretty comfortably. Unfortunately the first morning our toilet overflowed but the staff was efficient and the problem was rectified almost immediately. We didn't spend a lot of time actually inside the hotel other than spending the night, but each interaction we had with members of the staff was pleasant. We actually ended up staying at this hotel due to a fluke in our original reservations somewhere else, but I was pleased. The location was awesome. The hotel was in the midst of a dozen restaurants and right down the street from the mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taki08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Courtyard Fayetteville, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for the great comments! So sorry you had a problem with your toilet, but I am so glad we were able to get it fixed for you right away. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here while my daughters softball team played at Methodist University. Very nice hotel. Lots of restaurants, shopping and grocery stores nearby. Room was clean and lobby area was very nice. Only negative, there is only one elevator at the rear of the hotel. I booked the hotel through the Methodist University web site. Only paid $102.00 per night. I would suggest asking for the Methodist discount even if calling in for reservations.

Room Tip: Try to stay on first floor if you have a lot of luggage. Only one elevator in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Courtyard Fayetteville, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback! We love having guests stay with us while visiting other areas within our community, like Methodist University! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fayetteville hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Fayetteville/Fort Bragg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fayetteville/Fort Bragg
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Fayetteville
Fairfield Inn Fayetteville
#29 of 50 in Fayetteville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fayetteville Cross Creek
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fayetteville Fort Bragg
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fayetteville - Cross Creek Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fayetteville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fayetteville

Property: Courtyard Fayetteville
Address: 4192 Sycamore Dairy Rd, Fayetteville, NC 28303-3459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fayetteville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Fayetteville features our new lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The Bistro provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning & evening dinner service with cocktails. Our hotel is within minutes of the Cross Creek Mall and the unique dining and shopping attractions of downtown Fayetteville, as well as the Bragg Military Reservation, Pope Air Force Base and Fayetteville Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Fayetteville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fayetteville Hotel Fayetteville
Fayetteville Courtyard
Fayetteville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing