We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherefe

Sherefe
Ranked #6 of 516 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sherefe (pronounced "shedefay") means "Cheers!" In Turkish. Owning a restaurant was a dream for owner/chef, Mustafa Somar, for many years. In 2003, the dream became a reality, when he opened Sherefe Mediterranean Grill on Ramsey Street. After 10 years, we relocated to a much larger and more beautiful location in historic downtown Fayetteville, North Carolina where we now boast a two story building, four dining rooms, and a full bar! Along with the location, the vision has also evolved...Mediterranean Grill was all about authenticity and while we remain authentic, our focus has become fresh, healthy, local and sustainable. While we don't cater to any particular dietary plan, the Mediterranean diet is a natural fit for gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan and even paleo as demonstrated at our cooking classes.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We used to ear at this place when it was McDuff s. We loved it then but love it even more now. A great selection of succulent entrees. I had the seafood rissotto. It melted in my mouth and all the sauces blended together and I would not share because it was that good. The portions were just right. The tuna also was very good. An excellent place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamn405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    63
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant, Americanized Flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great restaurant, once it decides to represent itself as an ethnic restaurant, or fusion cuisine restaurant. Flavors were good, but all over the place. Biggest complaint-Lamb was OVER cooked, but that too may be geared for an American palate and taste experience? Go ahead and try it. I was just expecting more, based on the hype.
With that said, I will go back and order thoughtfully, requesting a truly Middle Eastern spice bouquet and rare/med lamb. Attentive wait staff, nice bar, reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank MPwife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Everyone in our party had wonderful meals. The tuna steak was the best I have ever eaten. The staff were helpful and very nice. Will definitely go there again and again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustusIndiana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, delaware
Level Contributor
245 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tasty choice in Fayetteville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dined here on a Thursday night with our adult daughter. Restaurant is very nicely decorated and romantic; it was not crowded. The menu is very eclectic with something for every taste. Stuffed grape leaves and falafel were very good; I don't usually like these two dishes but I enjoyed these. Doner kabobs were not served the way I've had them served at Turkish restaurants--but they were ok. Lamb kebobs were good as were the breads, hummus and other appetizer dishes we tried. The outstanding dish was a very teensy piece of seared tuna that came on the "light" meal I'd ordered...it was extraordinary. We would definitely go back here and would try one of their fish dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newarkdelawaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Found this on on TripAdvisor - it was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived at Sherefe after 9:00 p.m. so we avoided any crowds! We thought there would be only limited items left to order at this late hour, however, the restaurant is family owned and operated and they assured us we could order anything from the menu as all items were freshly prepared. The food was absolutely great, and the personal service was top-notch also. The quality of the food, the atmosphere of the restaurant, and the attitude of the staff is commendable. If you are searching for an excellent Greek or Mediterranean experience, Sherefe is the place to go. I'm sure reservations are necessary for earlier dining times, and the variety of foods as well as coffees and after dinner drinks is superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjackiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherefe also viewed

 

Been to Sherefe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing