We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of West Africa

Taste of West Africa
Ranked #5 of 516 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taste Of West Africa (TOWA) is a full service casual restaurant that serves healthy authentic West African cuisines prepared in a homemade style using fresh and local ingredients where possible. TOWA serves lunch and dinner and currently offers catering services for events of every size and budget. Are you vegan? Does your diet consist of gluten free dishes? Need dishes prepared free of dairy products? We can serve all dietary needs.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The flavors are amazing. Not overly spicy unless you ask for pepper sauce on the side. It is a must stop and eat place in Fayetteville. Authentic and nothing like it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maven111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    40
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the jaunt off of I-95!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food with great flavor. Delightful staff. Even my finicky 8 year old enjoyed the chicken and rice. I enjoyed the peanut butter soup with chicken and my husband enjoyed the Ebusi (sp). Worth the stop off of 1-95!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

met by owners who were so very friendly and helped us with a menu not familiar to us. had oxtail and goat combo plate. the portion was too much to eat. was there on business and hopefully will get the chance to return. two of us had appetizers, drinks and huge entrees for under $40.00

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scottyb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ox tail is by far one of my favorite dishes to choose from. Tender and cook to near perfection. Discovered this place by passing and have made it a monthly restaurant to just sit down relax and enjoy a different taste in ethnic cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXDB512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very small, simple, yet welcoming restaurant in downtown Fayetteville! Sat at the counter so I could better talk with the staff, and was so glad I did. They explained items on the menu to me, and were super friendly. I know little about west African food, and must admit I'm not crazy about it as I am with Italian or seafood. But for something different, it was very tasty. Be sure to taste the mango juice, which was one of the best beverages I've ever drank.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of West Africa also viewed

 

Been to Taste of West Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing