We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Yummy”

Taste of West Africa
Ranked #5 of 521 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taste Of West Africa (TOWA) is a full service casual restaurant that serves healthy authentic West African cuisines prepared in a homemade style using fresh and local ingredients where possible. TOWA serves lunch and dinner and currently offers catering services for events of every size and budget. Are you vegan? Does your diet consist of gluten free dishes? Need dishes prepared free of dairy products? We can serve all dietary needs.
Willow City, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This restaurant was a jet in because my husband and I were just hungry. Never having African food, the owner brought us a sample plate so we could try a little of everything. After that I settled on the chicken stew which was mouth watering good. Hearty, filling and homemade food! A must if your in Fayetteville!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    43
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caeur D Alene
Level Contributor
519 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Full of taste”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

It is different. Laid back.
Server was friendly and helpful
Tried the Mikaka platter which Es great.
Don't order a soda and be bold. Try the typical palm extract drink. It smells like the coast of Africa. The taste is so different but refreshing. It's originally from Ghana.


Parking is 2 hrs outside and convenient

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Finally Something Different”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ate a late lunch around 1:00 pm. The place is nicely decorated, music played in the back ground but low so you could hear your conversation at your table. The staff was pleasant and soft spoken, and when we left they all said good bye. The food was excellent and not overly spicy. The beef and chicken were so tender, no knife was needed. All three dishes at our tables were so satisfying: Mikata Platter-Rice & Beans, stew chicken & beef, sweet fried plantains; Vegetarian-Rice&Beans, Spinach Stew, sweet fried plantains; Lunch Special-Rice&Beans, Ox-Tail Stew, sweet fried plantains. They give you a lot and all three of us took “To Go Boxes”. The food all came out hot and was cooked fresh. This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and I will be going back to eat again with other friends or family. It was nice to have something different than the standard food platters you find in most places. Another good thing is I am allergic to fish & nuts and they made sure that my food was safe from those products. The place is not that big, they have booths, stools around the counter, and a couple of tables. Like a quaint little cafe. Check it out on tasteofwestafrica@gmail.com. They are on facebook.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msworldadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Refreshing meal in boring Fayetteville”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fayetteville has a lack of diverse restaurants which are locally owned, produce great food, and provide value beyond low cost junk. Taste of West Africa was great to find downtown and I only hope the city can attract more restaurants like this. The food was delicious and the people cooking and serving were very personable. The lady came from the kitchen to make suggestions to our table. We tried to sample as many things as we could and they were all great. They make their own drinks in-house that are very tasty, such as tea and tamarind. I will definitely be back to try their fish and some of the other authentic dishes. Really enjoyable and I will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arachulax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of West Africa also viewed

 

Been to Taste of West Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing