We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian Food”
Review of Shalimar Tandoor Grill & Bar - CLOSED

Shalimar Tandoor Grill & Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Shalimar Tandoor Grill & Bar is located directly off of the all American Freeway, on Raeford Road in the Dail Center. Shalimar, Fayetteville’s newest Indian restaurant, opened in early July 2010 with an aim to provide the Fayetteville/Ft. Bragg area diners with a completely unique option on the local dining scene. When you spend your hard earned money on dining out your mood should be transported to a different place and the flavors and atmosphere should make you forget about all of your worries (at least for the moment). With very limited options in the area, local diners have not had the chance to enjoy authentic Indian cuisine as its known to be enjoyed in larger metropolitan areas. The owners and staff at Shalimar would like to warmly invite all of the Fayetteville area residents to give Indian cuisine a try. If you have already tried Indian cuisine, then we humbly invite you to Shalimar and we hope our cuisine compares well with your other favorites. Shalimar offers buffet lunch, elegant a la carte dining, a full bar, carry out, & delivery 7 days a week for you to enjoy.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

So, I didn't think Fayetteville had much to offer and then I found Shalimar Tandoor Grill & Bar. I had been looking for an Indian restaurant that was closer than Raleigh and I found it here. When I walked in a colleague of mine and his family were there and I asked if they liked it and they said yes, so I got a table. I had the Chicken Korma ($14.99), Poori ($3.99), and a Sweet Lassi ($3.50). When my chicken was brought out, I just sat there a moment inhaling this wonderful perfume that emanated from my dish. I was in heaven. It smelled just like the Chicken Korma I had eaten before elsewhere. The chicken itself was moist and the whole dish was wonderful. I am so glad I remembered to order the Poori to sop up the sauce. My Lassi was made to perfection and I could have drunk more, but I had to get home. The setting was unremarkable, but I was not there for the ambiance - I was there for the food and it was great. I also placed a to go order of Lamb Korma for my husband and he devoured it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monicap65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but feel cheated”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I went to Shalimar Tandoor Grill with my husband and two children during spring break. We ordered out usual Samosas, Garlic Naan and Chicken Tikka Masala. Everything about the food was good except they were out of the Tamarind sauce for the samosas. I even had a nice conversation with the waiter/owner. While walking back to our hotel I began to add up our bill in my head and realized something did not seem right. I took a look at the bill and found that I was automatically charged a tip which would have been fine if the waiter had mentioned this because I tipped close to 20% on top of that. I wrote it off as partially my mistake for not being more observant but then in looking at my credit card bill I find out he added 77 cents more on top of the two tips!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EL_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am not a big fan of Indian food but decided to give this place a shot since there was a Groupon available for it. I went with my husband and we found this small restaurant to be very clean and had great service especially for a Friday evening. We ordered their special, Mango Prawns for $22. We decided to share it since the waitress said it was a big platter that came with their naan, rice, veggies and prawns. It was plenty of food and everything on the plate DELICIOUS! My husband and I were both very pleased and impressed. We would absolutely come back here to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacerr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The better of the two Indian restaurants in Fayetteville”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'm not a big fan of Indian buffets and prefer to just order off the menu, but Shalimar does a good job of rotating its buffet offerings and is pretty tasty. Shalimar does a great job of scaling its spices for people; I prefer to order medium and it has a great kick while not being over-powering.

I highly recommend the goat byriani and chicken tikka masala here!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Indian buffet”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I really like this place. The buffet is very good and not too expensive. I have been there in several occasions and the food always is different except for a few dishes. The naan is fresh and you can get it hot out of the oven. During dinnertime the prices are slightly higher but the portions are large. Even my Indian colleagues like it and think it is like the real deal! Skip this place (or any good Indian restaurant) if you do not like spices or unusual flavors...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar Tandoor Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing