We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Pizza!”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #14 of 527 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers was founded in 1974 in Atlanta, Georgia. This franchise, operated under Home-Grown Industries of Georgia, Inc., is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. For 41 years, Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers has been serving up fresh, stone-baked pizzas to order in an eclectic, art-filled, and family-friendly environment. Each Mellow is locally owned and operated and provides a unique feel focused around great customer service and high-quality food. Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available.
Restaurant details
Description: Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers was founded in 1974 in Atlanta, Georgia. This franchise, operated under Home-Grown Industries of Georgia, Inc., is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. For 41 years, Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers has been serving up fresh, stone-baked pizzas to order in an eclectic, art-filled, and family-friendly environment. Each Mellow is locally owned and operated and provides a unique feel focused around great customer service and high-quality food. Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available.
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Pizza!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Calzone was huge and delish, the House Special GF pizza was good (minus the bacon). Interesting pizza menu with lots of choices of sauce and toppings allows for a huge variety of tastes. Big comfortable dining room with large bench seats so you could squeeze in a big crowd at one table for added fun! Clean and bright. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    52
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Went this evening with the family, and it was surprisingly uncrowded for a Saturday. Our waitress was Renee, and she was so friendly and nice, and also very competent. We got our usual, which consists of a pesto pizza and a cheese pizza. They came out fairly quickly (pizza takes time to cook-to-order). They use lots of olive oil, especially for pesto, so they do come out with lots of oil. We always ask for extra napkins to soak up the grease, but I don't think the pizza would taste so good if they didn't cook them this way. The pizza dough is SO good. There is only one other pizza place in town that rivals Mellow, and that is Brooklyn Pizza. We have been eating at Mellow Mushroom since we lived in Georgia, and while the restaurant itself is designed in a more urban decor than the adorable restaurants in Georgia and Asheville, NC, the food is just as good. It is usually fairly cold in there, so bring a light jacket if you freeze in the A/C like I do!

The only disappointment I had was that they stopped carrying wine from my favorite North Carolina Winery, Duplin. I had a sangria, but compared to Duplin wines it was a bit of a letdown. I don't know why they made the decision to stop carrying Duplin, but I hope they will reconsider!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ercokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Calzones”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My first time to a Mellow Mushroom and it was a good experience. We sat at the bar and everyone was very courteous and helpful. Apart from continually giving everyone the wrong order (all the orders were correct, just given to the wrong person), it was an enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fr3quent-Fly3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Celebrated a friend's going away. It was our first (and last) time going. It was good food but very expensive for pizza. I understand that it is gourmet pizza, but it was VERY expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Pizza”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is hard to find a place that my grandchildren can eat without having to take their food. The Mellow Mushroom understands the importance of a gluten free environment and provides it for their gluten intolerant clients. I'm impressed they are so up on the problem.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gailhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 
Fayetteville, NC
Fayetteville, NC
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing