We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”

Airborne and Special Operations Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The doors opened on 16 August 2000, the 60th anniversary of the original Test Platoon’s first parachute jump. The museum offers free admission, a main exhibit gallery, temporary gallery, four-story tall theater, a gift shop, and a motion simulator ride that features two experiences. Admission is free, and we do accept donations in the gift shop and in donation boxes in the lobby. The main gallery is designed as a self-guided tour, in chronological order, through the history of airborne and special operations soldiers from 1940 to the present. The temporary gallery changes periodically and displays a myriad of exhibits pertaining to the United States Army airborne and special operations units through their history and conflicts from World War II to the present.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have been here several times over the years. the last time to lay a rose on my father's stepping stone which we gave him for his 80th birthday 11 years ago. Reading the stones dedicated to various troops and groups would make the visit worthwhile much less the extraordinary exhibits. If you have any appreciation for what our military means to the USA, you will thoroughly enjoy this museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmac0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    100
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit the Airborne and Special Forces Museum.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are traveling I-95 this should be a scheduled stop. It is a great memorial for the soldiers that served in the 82nd Airborne Division and Special Forces. It is also home to the North Carolina Veteran Park. What better way to honor those soldier than visiting and learning from the great displays that the museum offers. It will take you thru all the wars and campaigns that the 82nd and SPF were involved in, from WW2 to the present. On special occasions there are displays and even parachutes jumps into the museum parking lot( Veteran Day, Memorial Day and others). This is a First Class Museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WCALERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free museum, priceless history lesson”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location in the constantly revitalizing downtown area. Shows an extensive history of SpecOps, in one of the largest concentration areas for current SpecOps troops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An important part of our nation's military history”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bring your children so the next generation gains some understanding of the bravery and sacrifice of the airborne and/or special operations soldier. Learn something yourself about their traditions and history. You may want to visit the giftshop and take home some mementos of your visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“interesting memorobilia”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love strolling the the exhibits and always find something new, or learn a new tidbit each time I am there. Took family members there, as a must- see and they were good sports about going. Once there and we bagan exploring they all agreed it was unfortunate we didint have more time to spend before the museum closed. I also have sentimental attachment to the museum - my FOL has a brick on their courtyard, and a engraved stone out front with his military regimine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATW2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airborne and Special Operations Museum also viewed

 

Been to Airborne and Special Operations Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing