We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Get-away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Wintersun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Wintersun
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairview B&B and Inns
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

This is a lovely southern inn. Hope is the perfect innkeeper providing you everything you need, but allowing you plenty of privacy. Drinks and cookies are provided, as well as a very nice breakfast. We felt right at home here. There are great walking trails and the scenery is beautiful. We only had one night to stay and stayed in the Holly room which we loved, but will definately go back for a few days and stay in the suite. This is a very quiet, secluded inn, but only a few minutes away from several attractions and restaurants. Everything is exceptionally clean and beautifully maintained. I would definately recommend this to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing B&B.

  • Liked — Quiet, relaxing and romantic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeach121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

Wintersun is the only place we will return to in the Asheville area. Spacious and impeccable accomodations, yet comfortable and cozy. Friendly, knowledgeable, and accomodating innkeeper, Hope. She makes you feel right at home. Outstanding views from the porch and all the second floor rooms. Great breakfast in the morning.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrestp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisQueen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

Exquisite.... We were guests in the Wintersun Spa & Suite. From the minute that we turned off Wintersun Lane and entered through the iron gates it was just a glimpse of what would be in store for us as we drove up the 3/4 mile drive to the Inn. The grounds are just beautiful and we can imagine what this place looks like in the Spring, Summer & Fall seasons. Winter time is peaceful and just as beautiful. The waterfall is one of the main focal points as you walk the path to the front door. The owners have put alot of their heart and soul into this gorgeous Inn.

The Wintersun Spa & Suite is a MUST! This place just makes you feel at home from the moment you enter the Suite. We were fortunate enough to have the entire Inn to ourselves the last night we stayed.

Hope....you are a gem! You make the guests feel as if they are "at home". We enjoyed meeting you and had some wonderful conversation on our last morning at the Inn.

We definitely will be back!! This place is definitely God's country........ Thank you again!

MemphisQueen & NC

  • Liked — The Spa & Suite
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemphisQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

Wintersun is a joy--each room prettier and more comfortable than the last. The porch is perfect, beautiful furniture, a view of the mountains and black and white horses grazing in the nearby meadow. There are lovely places to walk on the grounds , but Wintersun is close to everything. The breakfasts are delicious and generous. The innkeepr is kind, smart and funny. It is our second time there and we wil go again--we had a delightful time.

  • Liked — The view from the porch , quiet evenings , relaxed breakfasts
  • Disliked — I really can't think of anything. Soem people might not like the long and winding road on the property which leads to the Inn--we loved it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Therre is champagne in the refrigerator-help yourself ( red and white wine too) . The cookie jar has scrumptious fresh baked coookies.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gungadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

My wife and I, who are fortunate to be able to choose relatively upscale locales and properties for vacations (though we're certainly not in any millionaires' club of exclusivity, by any stretch of the imagination), had the privilege of spending two nights recently in the Wintersun Suite at The Inn at Wintersun (in Fairview, NC, just a few minutes south of Asheville). I found the place on bbonline a couple years ago, and I knew right away I wanted to experience the Wintersun Suite, but it wasn't until just recently that the opportunity presented itself. (We were going to be in the Asheville area anyway on some other family business, and I figured we could afford the steep tab for the Suite if it was only going to be for the couple of nights we were going to be there.)

If there's one thing that needs to be said about The Inn at Wintersun, it's that their website (neither their listing on bbonline nor their own website) doesn't even *begin* to do the place justice. You have to see this place to believe it, because the text and few photos available on the web completely fail to convey the magic that's here. Words simply cannot adequately convey how exquisitely lovely -- and extraordinarily well maintained -- this property is (including both the acres and acres of grounds and the inn itself). If the owners want to increase occupancy to 100%, they simply need a better website that more convincingly demonstrates that guests absolutely will get their money's worth.

A word, too, about the interior decoration: I'm a guy and thus not ordinarily attuned to the finer points of interior decoration (as long as the structural timbers are covered with sheetrock, I'm happy), but I have to say, the interior decoration of the Inn is nothing short of magnificent. Again, words and photos fail -- you either have to see video or, far better, see it in person.

A few words, too, about the people and the food; after all, the joy of staying at a beautiful property is rapidly compromised if staff or food are lacking in any aspect. We never met the owners, who reside elsewhere on the expansive property, but housekeeper/chef/facility manager Hope is as warm and hospitable and charming and helpful and down-to-earth a hostess as you could ever hope to find (pardon the pun). And while the freshly made breakfast each morning isn't the array of fanciful recipes that would push the meal into the "gourmet" category, it's still a full, hot, cooked to order, absolutely scrumptious North Carolina country breakfast (eggs or French toast or waffles or pancakes, meats, breakfast breads, fresh fruit medleys, the usual breakfast drinks) served with ringed linen napkins and fine china in the impressive dining room around 9am, and I promise you you won't be thinking about food again until the early evening. We particularly enjoyed the "our home is your home, call me anytime about anything, and I do mean *anytime* and *anything*, and here's my cell number" atmosphere established by Hope. There's no hors d'ouerves hour, but being able to hit the snacks in the kitchen (cookies, muffins, fruit, granola bars, pop-tarts, trail mix, and drinks of all sorts including sodas, juices, wines, teas, coffees, hot chocolate, milk) 24x7 really added that extra "homey" element that's missing from so many of the higher-end B&B's we've visited. It may have been June, but cookies and milk and hot chocolate in the in-room spa at midnight with the fireplace going was nothing short of decadently relaxing and refreshing.

I don't know that there's much I can say about our Suite itself since, again, words fail. No, it's not a Presidential Suite at the Mandarin or Peninsula, but as B&B's go, it's five-star/five-diamond in my book. It's the second most expensive place we've ever stayed at (first place, by a wide margin, was a gorgeous club floor oceanfront suite at the Ritz Carlton at Kapalua, Maui this past January on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Hawaii) and certainly worth the steep (for my wallet, anyway) tab of $385/night (not including the 11% tax, plus gratuity). There's not much I can add to the text and one or two photos already available on the web -- again, it cries out for video/iPix, or at least a much larger array of photos. The Suite occupies the entire eastern end of the first floor of the two-story Inn. The door to the Suite opens into a hallway running from the south-facing bedroom to the north-facing spa. In the large bedroom there's a wonderfully plush four-poster queen bed, sitting chairs and other furniture, a gas fireplace, and French doors opening onto the porch fronting the entire Inn, overlooking a magnificently manicured huge front lawn sloping down on the hill, with the rest of the heavily wooded property beyond and a beautiful vista of North Carolina mountains in the distance. Off the hallway between the bedroom and spa is another short hallway providing access to the his and hers toilets (in which the owners (one of whom is a former psychoanalyst) have hung their college diplomas -- not that they're making a statement about the utility of their formal education, of course :-). And then there's the huge in-suite spa, with (1) a huge walk-in two-person shower with a sitting area running the length of the shower so you can enjoy the in-shower steamer, too, (2) a huge hot-tub set before the Suite's other gas fireplace, and (3) a long countertop with a sink surrounded on both sides by his and hers mirrored dressing areas. Candles are in a drawer near the hot-tub, and you also can turn on an in-tub lamp and another lamp that illuminates the large cut amethyst geode accenting the dark green-tiled platform surrounding the tub. Again, you've got to see this place to believe it; words just are utterly insufficient.

Oh, and as one who doesn't tolerate heat and humidity very well, I have to give special kudos to the Inn's air conditioning system. It was *so* nice, at the end of a long hot North Carolina June day, walking into the 67-degree Suite upon check-in. And a minor twiddle on the Suite's thermostat quickly got the Suite up to a nice thermal compromise that my wife (nickname: "I'm Freezing!") could handle.

We didn't get a chance to see any of the Inn's other rooms, but if they're as underrepresented by the website photos as the Suite is, then you can save a lot of money by staying in those rooms and I bet you'll still have a terrific room -- and all the other amenities of the property, of course.

I don't know what else to say but "Go there." The only other luxury B&B i in North Carolina that my wife and I have felt is "worth it" is Theodosia's, out on Bald Head Island (the southernmost of the Outer Banks). We greatly enjoyed our three-night stay there about 4-5 years ago in their best room (Beauty Berry, on the inn's top floor with a nice view over the marina), which I see on their website is now up to $300/night. Beauty Berry is a lot smaller than the Wintersun Suite, but Theodosia's breakfasts are gourmet and you get the ambiance of a gorgeous, automobile-free island (reachable only by ferry) and you get your own golf cart and bicycles with which to explore the island. I don't know if the ownership of Theodosia's has changed since we were last there, but at the time the owning/operating family there sure would have given Hope at Wintersun a run for her money in the Hospitality Dept.

So if you want to stay at a luxury B&B in North Carolina, all you have to do is choose mountains or the coast, which makes your destination either Wintersun or Theodosia's. The only other difference I can see is that three nights at Theodosia's is all you need to explore all of Bald Head Island, but I could easily see spending a week at Wintersun to take in all of Asheville. Have fun!

-- Larry and Jill Afrin, Mt. Pleasant, SC

P.S. Oh, and while I'm at it -- a quick plug for three local properties here in the Charleston, SC area: you *cannot* go wrong staying either at (1) Charleston Place (a five-star Orient Express facility in the heart of downtown Charleston -- I highly recommend the club floor if you can afford it), (2) the Sanctuary (a new $125M five-star facility on Kiawah Island that's shooting to become the Pebble Beach of the East Coast), or (3) half an hour inland, Woodlands (one of only three five-star/five-diamond resorts in the U.S., just rated in T&L's 2005 annual readers' poll the best resort in the U.S. and fourth best in the world). All of these places are great to stay at and offer dining to die for. Charleston's a terrific place to visit, and my wife and I consider ourselves very fortunate we actually get to live here. Enjoy!

Helpful?
10 Thank afrinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2004

We have stayed at The Inn at Wintersun two times. Both times we enjoyed ourselves. The Inn is open and safe. There are four rooms upstairs and the big, romantic suite downstairs. Its very safe...we never even locked our door. You have full run of the house....the owners do not live there so you don't feel like you are imposing on someone. You rarely see anyone else. The kitchen is giagantic and there are always cookies in the cookie jar. Wine, bottled water, and soft drinks were there for the taking. The front porch is so nice. We sat out and watched the horses running in the meadow. There are hiking trails on the property and a pretty waterfall right outside the back door. In the morning, you have "formal" breakfast in the dining room. Its a great time to meet the other guests. Both times we have stayed here, the house has not been full. We have stayed in the Boxwood room and the Leland room. Both have gas fireplaces and a cozy bed. Robes are provided in the private bathroom. There are books on the shelves in each room. The house is decorated beautifully. The down stairs "suite" for $395 a night is amazing. It has his and her toilet rooms. The hot tub style whirl pool sits in front of a gas fireplace....very romantic. The drive to the Inn is incredible. Its like going to a country mansion. I highly recommend this Inn.

Cindy

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CindynGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2002

What an absolutely wonderful place. Privacy in the accomodations, very short drive to Asheville(couple of minutes), tons of personality, welcoming staff, beautiful scenery and decor. We WILL stay again. Wentworth Mansion is our favorite retreat to the south(charleston, sc) and we have deemed The Inn at Wintersun as our Mountain retreat. Thank God for the change in the seasons.

This place is a don't miss. We stayed in the Laurel room(upstairs with King size bed).

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairview
8.4 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#32 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
8.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wintersun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wintersun

Property: Inn at Wintersun
Address: 1 Wintersun Ln, Fairview, NC 28730-8515
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fairview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Asheville. Close to Perfect. "Romantic Mountain Elegance" Welcome to The Inn at WinterSun where you will be treated as part of our family. We hope to make your experience here as comfortable as you would feel in your own home. Start your morning with a delicious homemade breakfast prepared by Nina, the Innkeeper/Owner. Breakfast is served seven days a week at 9:00am in our Formal Dining Room.Don’t worry about all those extra calories because after indulging, you can easily work it off by enjoying the beauty of the estate. We are surrounded by 117 acres of wooded hiking trails, open meadows, creeks and streams.Yes, there are trout in Cane Creek, so remember to bring a fishing pole.You are always welcome in the kitchen should you like a snack… or pack a little picnic lunch to enjoy the peace and harmony of nature! Should you want to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway, it's just 6 miles away, downtown Asheville is about 8 miles. There is so much to do and see in Asheville and the surrounding areas, you’ll always find plenty to do and explore. If you are hoping to recharge and get some peace and quiet, just stay at the Inn and enjoy the sounds of nature with a glass of wine on the Veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Wintersun Hotel Fairview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing