We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to not LOVE”
Review of Inn at Wintersun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Wintersun
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairview B&B and Inns
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to not LOVE”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Amazing and I can't wait to return. Nina, the Innkeeper, is peaceful and kind and always available. The grounds are amazingly beautiful, magical, and spiritual. When you pass through the gate you know you have arrived some place special. Take time to hike and reflect. It's a short drive to Asheville for your dining/shopping desires.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinervasKeyHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackinaw, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I attended a writers retreat with friends and stayed in the "Suite". From the moment I arrived, I was awe inspired. The grounds were beautiful and well tended and the mountain views were incredible. WE were personally greeted by the manager, Nina, and shown to our exquisite suite, with a huge steam shower, a wonderful hot tub, two fireplaces, and a private door to the full length back deck/porch, where again, the views were spectacular. We were given a tour of the facility, which was beautifully decorated, with very comfortable lounging and dining areas. The breakfasts were delicious, and coffee and tea were always available, as well as beverages from the bar. As a group, we were offered a variety of activities to choose from, including hiking and frisbee golf. Plus it was a short drive into Ashville for tours, restaurants and shopping. What a wonderful, relaxing, renewing long weekend!!!! I will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The home and the grounds are absolutely stunning. The views take full advantage of the beauty of western North Carolina. It's pretty amazing to wake up to the view of the Blue Ridge Mountains from your bedroom windows without having to take your head off the pillow! The rooms are stylishly decorated and very comfortable and cozy, each with a gas fireplace. The breakfast is hearty and delicious. In short, if you want to pamper yourself, this is the place for you! It would also be a wonderful venue for a family reunion.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Passed an unassuming green gate, we can immediately feel that a truly inspired mind has knitted the most elegant turns of this long wooded lane bordered by immaculate lawns up and up a hill to a recess in the forest among towering trees and a grandiose view from the house opening up to the faraway blue hills dancing in the south in the subdued light of the afternoon winter sun.
And the house is exactly where it should be and how it should be. So much grace.. like if the past was surging out of a hundred years of a long and serene history. A complete sense of "foreverness" is deeply resounding in the majestic silence of this 180 acres of absolute privacy. Ah! let me live here...

We had to drive to Asheville straight down from New York (11 hours almost non stop) and could not afford anything but exactly what we needed.
We went soul searching over and over the internet for a nest of tranquility around Asheville for a 3 days and double visit to Blitmore, and the local section of the Blue Ridge Parkway.
And there it was, our long search had been rewarded by one of the most perfect stay we have had in so many travels around and around the world.
Only five bedrooms, all with this particular view bumping from prairie to forest all the way to the far south.
Each spacious room with a generous bathroom is well appointed, and in the comfort of plush draperies and profound sofas,and in the flickering light of a gas fire almost real, do enjoy a glass of the wine compliments of the house.
A large sitting room for guests allows for a quiet rest after a long day; and a mile or more of walking the exquisite trails will open up your appetite in the early morning for the substantial breakfast generously prepared by Nina, the warm and welcoming hostess of this precious place.
Nina, we wish you all the success that you deserve in the start of this new life and new year. We will return for another time, another season in this heaven of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 4th visit to the beautiful, calming, and yes, even magical Inn at Wintersun. I have often wondered when that special attachment I have to Wintersun will diminish; now I think it just has that effect on it's guests. The rooms are wonderful, the common areas are so inviting, and the gracious Innkeeper, Nina, and her staff are totally fabulous (the food is simply delicious). We are already planning a couples weekend with some of our most favorite friends; and, since all 4 of our trips have been in the winter, this time we're trying for springtime. If you are looking for a retreat you'll never forget and want to repeat time and time again, look no further than Wintersun! We LOVE it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raye_Cruize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I spent four glorious days thoroughly enjoying the Inn at Wintersun. We stayed in the Wintersun Suite. It was without compare, a fantastic experience. The Inn is a showplace of interior design, and yet sooooo comfortable, cozy, and a friendly environment. Nina, the Inn keeper was a very charming hostess. She was eager to make our stay a memorable holiday. The views off the porch are “picture postcard perfect”. The numerous hiking trails on the property offer an opportunity to walk off the splendid breakfast which was served each morning. Of course, tired legs were comforted in the large whirlpool spa while enjoying 1 of 2 in-suite fireplaces!!

Room Tip: Enjoy the Wintersun Suite. Unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We agree with the other writers about the Inn at Wintersun. We were in North Carolina to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed at the Inn 3 nights. Although the photos looked pretty, the actual Inn and setting was just unbelievable. My husband keeps saying that we should go back to North Carolina just to stay at the Inn again...and he is not a big traveler or spender. We stayed in the Laurel Room. The full length front porch was just so nice in the evening that we went down the road and came back with crackers and cheese, took a bottle of complimentary chilled champagne from the frig, and had a party all by ourselves sitting in the wicker overlooking the front "40". The 2 large dogs that freely roam the property came by to visit every so often on their rounds. We hiked around the property, saw the horses, walked the maze. There are plenty of restaurants nearby for dinner. Breakfast was wonderful, cooked up by Hope and served in the formal dining room. The guests were an eclectic bunch-just like us. We don't often spend as much for a room, but the Inn is an experience, not just a room. We liked the snacks and coffee/hot chocolate/etc station on the bedroom level for nightime refreshment.

  • Liked — Everything decorated top notch, gracious hospitality, run of the Inn
  • Disliked — Gate passnumber to punch in wasn't the current one, but immediately corrected with a phone call
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairview
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
7.0 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#35 of 65 in Asheville
859 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
9.8 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
10.4 mi away
Village Hotel on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wintersun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wintersun

Property: Inn at Wintersun
Address: 1 Wintersun Ln, Fairview, NC 28730-8515
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fairview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Asheville. Close to Perfect. "Romantic Mountain Elegance" Welcome to The Inn at WinterSun where you will be treated as part of our family. We hope to make your experience here as comfortable as you would feel in your own home. Start your morning with a delicious homemade breakfast prepared by Nina, the Innkeeper/Owner. Breakfast is served seven days a week at 9:00am in our Formal Dining Room.Don’t worry about all those extra calories because after indulging, you can easily work it off by enjoying the beauty of the estate. We are surrounded by 117 acres of wooded hiking trails, open meadows, creeks and streams.Yes, there are trout in Cane Creek, so remember to bring a fishing pole.You are always welcome in the kitchen should you like a snack… or pack a little picnic lunch to enjoy the peace and harmony of nature! Should you want to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway, it's just 6 miles away, downtown Asheville is about 8 miles. There is so much to do and see in Asheville and the surrounding areas, you’ll always find plenty to do and explore. If you are hoping to recharge and get some peace and quiet, just stay at the Inn and enjoy the sounds of nature with a glass of wine on the Veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Wintersun Hotel Fairview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing