We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We booked this hotel as we were traveling and only planning to stay several nights. It is one of the few hotels in Emerald Isle. Read the reviews before booking and it seemed like the best option. Expected a lot more than what we got. The room was a huge disappointment. The floors were damp and very dirty (socks were brown after only a couple of hours.) Found a cockroach in the bathroom in the middle of the night. Found it odd that the bathroom had no sink of it's own and we had to use the same sink in the kitchenette for everything. The beds were very uncomfortable. The pool was nice, but very small. We will definitely not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpharm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    78
    37
    27
    31
See reviews for
117
73
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This hotel looked great on the surface. The room was spacious and clean and the close proximity to the beach was very nice. The rooms were also fairly quiet except for being able to hear people walking by and those that decided to congregate by pulling chairs from the room onto the walkway. We stayed in a second floor standard size room. It was odd to have a kitchen sized sink that served for both bathroom and kitchen functions. There was not enough storage space or places to hang items. We had no clothes hangers in the closet and had to request them from the management. Supplies seemed to be short changed. We had a half a roll of toilet paper in the room and had to ask for coffee and sugar packets several times. On more than one occassion we found the room had not been cleaned by 4pm and had to request that it be done. The key to our room was timed out a day before our departure and we had trek back the office to remedy the situation. These things were very frustrating for the amount that we paid for the room. Some of the staff seemed friendly and helpful, others seemed complelely removed. I thought is was very telling when we checked out..no one asked if we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in July and really had a great time. This is by far the nicest hotel in the area. We loved the pool and the beach access and the arcade for the kids. We found the staff to be very pleasent during checkin & check out.. The room was very clean and the wifi worked great from the room. We will be doing this again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinakite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This place was decent, we had a good experience in general and I would recommend to someone but with full disclosure. The rate is apparently based only on the oceanside location and maybe size of the room, nothing else that would persuade us to pay that amount again. It about killed us to do so for what we got, but we were with a family staying at a nearby location and needed to be close by.

The room was large and ours was very clean. There is a cabinet/mirror area at the far end with a decent sized microfridge, microwave, small coffeemaker. There is a sign that says no cooking? There is a single deep sink in the counter and only a toilet and shower/tub in the bath - too small, tiny bath and plus there was no exhaust fan so it got humid and hot in there quickly after the first shower, and almost unbearable after each successive one. It was a bit annoying to have just that one sink for that size of room - not sure why they have this little counter space and cupboards but then this tiny bath and one sink by the fridge where we brushed our teeth, washed dishes, everything else? It was a constant battle to keep things in order as we all had to cluster around this sink.

No hair dryer, ironing board/iron, no place to hang clothes except some hooks along the wall. There are dressers with drawers, and we liked the slideout basket drawers to contain things. The king bed was okay, one nightstand, and beware, the lamp has a coral base and I cut my hand on it one evening. There is a small round table and two chairs. More seating would be nice for that size of room.

Our room had a connecting door and there is a large space underneath so we could see the light from the room next door. We shoved a beach towel against it. The two flat screen tvs are nice but they are practically beside each other so it was hard to watch both at the same time with all of us and try to hear the one you were watching. Not that we watched much, but it did rain one day, and to catch up on the news in the eve.

Pool was nice, good size and not horribly busy except when a very large family group arrived, and the cabanas and umbrellas were great for the blasting sun except that people tended to hog them and never give them up all day so everyone who comes later gets shut out. Porches with chairs at the end of the walkways on the second floor were nice except that people congregated there to smoke. We had to go back in the room often as there was nowhere else to sit on the property if you don't smoke and it bothers you but don't want to sit on the beach. Also, they would stay there for hours on the few chairs so no one else could sit and enjoy the view.

Had little interaction with the staff. the older man at check-in in the evening was very unpleasant, but the younger guy working the other times we were at the desk was pleasant. The one maid we spoke with was very nice. Laundry room available, but beware on second floor, the little outside corridor leading to it has water leaking from somewhere and one of our party actually fell on it and twisted her leg backwards.

So, while we didn't have an unpleasant stay at all, liked the size of the room and the view, we all agreed that we wouldn't return as we get one- two- bedroom condo with full kitchen, private porch, other amenities, beachfront accomodations at other nice beaches for the same or usually less money. It was nice to experience another location but we wouldn't go back unless the price was lowered a fair amount (or they improved amenities or the bathroom to make it worth it).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friedpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I am a native of Emerald Isle and stayed at the Islander for a family reunion. My 3 day stay was nothing like I thought it would be. They have updated the rooms but definately not the hotel staff. Rooms were spacious and being on the beach was great. The pool was very nice at night. The noise level in a downstairs room is unbelievable and every movement from above was heard. I ended up checking out at 11 pm and the hotel staff could have cared less and didn't even ask me what was wrong. very unfriendly staff and much more maintenance needs to be done on this hotel. I can't imagine staying there for a week on a vacation. My 2 day stay was more than enough not to ever recommend anyone to say here and definately not to purchase.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyncgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Bath tub didn't drain - so requested maintenance - which was corrected but smelled so bad had to leave the room. Stained sofa so dirty looking - requested an extra sheet to put over it so we could sit without feeling yucky. Broken lamp! Only one night table - other side of bed nothing!!! No outside phone service or internet for two days. No closet - not even one - to hang up clothes!! Only one sink - in the kitchenette area - so had to brush teeth in the kitchen sink - ugh!!! This place charges enough that you'd think you could get a clean room!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbunny27892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Check in was easy and front desk pleasant. The outdoor porches were shady and pleasant with nice seating and great views of the ocean. Great access to the beach. Ice was plentiful and accessible. Didn't use the laundry facilities, but they were close and available. Pool was small ( but great for both kids and adults) . It had nice cabanas and plenty of chairs and loungers with large tables. Bathroom in our room was way too small, with no toilet lids - it was too easy to accidentally dropped items in - which I did. The kitchenette sink is also the bathroom sink - lots of sharing even for two persons. Cabinetry was not of a good quality - already falling apart. Towels were small and sheets were rough - but clean, as was the room, housekeeping did a great job, though they didn't come till late in the afternoon. No mirror in the dressing area - it was in the kitchenette also - a bit awkward for makeup and hair. TV was a nice size, but difficult to see from far bed (no swivel mount). Room needs more shelves and storage. It would have been difficult staying a week there - we were only there two nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crom13388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
15.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
18.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn & Suites

Property: Islander Inn & Suites
Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. Issues with television and phone services have also been reported as a result of the construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Islander Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing