We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad We Found This Gem of a Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Loved this place and will come again. Customer service was the best, especially Dan. Rooms were clean, big & loved the big plasma TV. Also the free computer in the reception area was a life saver! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGirl818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islanderei, General Manager at Islander Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in the hotel and enjoy reading the reviews. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 300 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

I went with a large faimly group for a wedding. Have been to Emerald Island many times, but have never stayed at this particular place. It has a great location, but that is all. We tried several times to call before coming to find out the amenties of the room(s), but it was push one of 5 choices, then one of 6 choices, etc. Never could get a live person on the phone. Since the suites are advertised has having a mini refrig and a microwave we didn't bring anything with us except some basic food supples -drinks, snacks. The kitchen area has no plates, cups or silverware. Neither does the suites have a iron, iron board or a hair dryer.

The room service brought clean towels but did not empty the trash. The suite we were in had tile floors, but no broom to sweep sand . Being right on the beach there is of course sand tracked in. The pool was nice, but no hot tub area which would have been nice.

The bathroom was adequate. The ice machine was located in the middle of the complex.

The one other thing. The Islander is located next to the Western Regional Beach Access area- so by mid morning and later there are hundreds of people on the beach . So the area in front becomes very crowded. The people come to the access area and then walk down to the beach and go to the right or left. So the area becomes very congested. More so than places that are in the center of the Island.

For the money paid I would expect better amenties. It it conviently located on the Island.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is truly a hidden gem. We arrived for a couple of days at the beach and were able to book a room without a reservation on a Sunday night. We were given a second floor corner room that had great views of the ocean and pool. The room was very charming - decorated in a cottage style with two flat screen TVs and very spacious and very clean. There is also a microwave, coffee maker, and small refrigerator in the room. This was perfect for me and my two adult daughters who just wanted to relax and enjoy the beach. The only negative thing I can say is about the security lights outside the rooms. They were on all night and beamed through our blinds. One of my daughters got up and hung a beach towel on the door and a couch cushion so the room would be a little darker to sleep. The desk clerk was very cordial and accomodating. We definately will be back!

Although there is not a place to provide a review for the restaurant we ate at, I would like to do it here. After going through the visitor guide, we decided to go for the buffet at Captain's Cove in Atlantic Beach. We called first to inquire about the price, which we were told was $17.99. After driving 20 mins to get there, we were disappointed by the food. Very low quality. When our bill came, we were charged $19.99 each for this terrible buffet. My girls called again (from the bathroom) and was told by the owner that the buffet was $17.99! What a scam. They tell callers one price and charge them another just to get them in there! When I confronted the owner, he literally yelled at me at the top of his lungs and swore at me in Arabic. It wasn't the money, it was the principle.

I just can't say enough about the Islander Inn. A very enjoyable stay, beautiful, clean room, and a great pool and ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The Inn itself was nice but it was next to a trailer community. We had a “Deluxe King” room. The room was beautiful, everything was new and clean. BUT the air-conditioning did not cool down the back of the room, so the front was super cold and the back super warm. The room that we had did not have a standard size bathroom sink so it was very hard for my daughter to use. The beach and pool made up for the other issues. It’s a nice place but is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbwfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islanderei, General Manager at Islander Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! I apologize about the circulation issues with the air conditioning. This is something that we are currently working on in the king rooms, as the living room divider in these rooms create abit of a barrier.Hopefully the next time you stay with us, we will have this resolved. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We took an impromptu trip over a weekend in April with no destination or hotel in mind. We stumbled across this hotel through our GPS system's "POI" locator or we would not have known it was there. It is one block off the main road. We were pleasantly surprised. Arriving on a Friday afternoon, we were able to book a Deluxe suite. We had a king size bed and a large living room and full size table. Everything was clean and neat and looked recently updated. The front building where the office is could use some updating and it would be nice if there were a lounge/restaurant on premises, but I have no complaints. Would love to go back and book one of the oceanfront suites!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiddioMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islanderei, General Manager at Islander Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

We're glad you were able to find us! We are abit tucked away back by the ocean. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit with us again. Look for big changes in the Lobby/office building in the next year or two. We hope to have the old building torn down and new one in place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed for a week last summer and we loved every second of it. We walked to the pier every day at least once. There is a lot to do in this area... enough that we are going back again this year. Oh, and make sure you visit Fort Macon...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed at the Islander twice in the last month. We really enjoyed staying there. I loved the 2 Flat screen tv's. One in the bedroom and one in the living room. The rooms were very clean and had a clean smell. The sheets also had a clean fresh smell. My husband and I fell in love with this place. The staff were very helpful. We are looking forward to going back .

Jerry and Teresa Utt

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tntutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islanderei, Manager at Islander Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2009

Thank you for your review. We are happy to here that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Islander Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
15.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
765 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
18.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn & Suites

Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. Issues with television and phone services have also been reported as a result of the construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Islander Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing